Princess

Eisa Jocson (PH)
Performance
© Jörg Baum 
Eisa
Jocson

investigates the labour and representations of the dancing body in the service industry, and exposes identity and gender formation, seduction politics, and Filipino social mobility from pole to macho dancing to hostess work. Trained as a visual artist, with a background in ballet, Eisa Jocson won the title of 2010 Pole Art Champion in Manila and presents her performances at acclaimed theaters and international festivals in Asia and Europe, e. g. Tanz im August, Theater der Welt, Mannheim, TPAM Yokohama, Asia Triennial of Performing Arts, Melbourne, Beursschouwburg Brüssel, Zürcher Theater Spektakel.

Princess, her first duo, is part one of the series HAPPYLAND, a performance trilogy that examines the labour and performance of happiness in the overall production of fantasy within the context of a globalized entertainment industry. Jocson is already known to the Viennese audience from earlier performance projects at TQW and ImPulsTanz.

eisajocson.wordpress.com

 
Fri02. 
Nov
20.30/
TQW Halle G
Free admission
Educational

Eisa Jocson &
Russ Ligtas

Artist Talk

Educational

Following Princess, choreographer Eisa Jocson and performer Russ Litgas offer insight into their artistic approaches in conversation with Carolina Nöbauer.  ...

Eisa Jocson (PH)
Thu01./
Fri02. 
Nov
19.30/
TQW Halle G
 
     
  • Thu 01. Nov
  • Fri 02. Nov
€ 20/15/10

The Disney imperium made Snow White the epitome of the happy girl in films and leisure parks. Audiences from Los Angeles to Hong Kong are enchanted by their waving and smiling princess actresses. Choreographer Eisa Jocson observes this apparently universal performance of happiness from a particular perspective: Disneyland Hong Kong is one of the most important employers of Philippine dancers in the region but, because of their skin colour, they are only cast in nameless supporting roles. Together with performance artist Russ Ligtas, Eisa Jocson hijaks Snow White’s physicality and speech and creates a playing field of identities. By means of mimicry and reproduction they overwrite the entertainment system’s pre-programed narratives and corrupt a closed world with their foreign bodies. In keeping with her previous solo works, Jocson continues in Princess to examine the interrelations of emotional labour, embodiment and the construction of racial and gender identities.

Credits

Artistic direction
Eisa Jocson
Created and performed by
Eisa Jocson, Russ Ligtas
Music
Marc Appart
Creative Presence
Arco Renz, Tang Fu Kuen
Dramaturgical support
Anna Wagner
Lighting design
Florian Bach
Coaching
Rasa Alksnyte
Production management
Anne Kleiner
Assistance
Marcus P. Tesch
Technical management
Yap Seok Hui (Artfactory)
Sound engineer
Fernando Castro
Production
Eisa Jocson, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm, Frankfurt/Main
Co-production
Frankfurter Positionen, Münchner Kammerspiele, tanzhaus nrw, Düsseldorf
Funding
The Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media within the framework of the Alliance of International Production Houses
Support
Pianofabriek (Brussels), Para Site (Hong Kong) Commissioned within the framework of Frankfurter Positionen 2017, an initiative of the BHF-BANK Foundation
Eisa
Jocson

investigates the labour and representations of the dancing body in the service industry, and exposes identity and gender formation, seduction politics, and Filipino social mobility from pole to macho dancing to hostess work. Trained as a visual artist, with a background in ballet, Eisa Jocson won the title of 2010 Pole Art Champion in Manila and presents her performances at acclaimed theaters and international festivals in Asia and Europe, e. g. Tanz im August, Theater der Welt, Mannheim, TPAM Yokohama, Asia Triennial of Performing Arts, Melbourne, Beursschouwburg Brüssel, Zürcher Theater Spektakel.

Princess, her first duo, is part one of the series HAPPYLAND, a performance trilogy that examines the labour and performance of happiness in the overall production of fantasy within the context of a globalized entertainment industry. Jocson is already known to the Viennese audience from earlier performance projects at TQW and ImPulsTanz.

eisajocson.wordpress.com

 
Fri02. 
Nov
20.30/
TQW Halle G
Free admission
Educational

Eisa Jocson &
Russ Ligtas

Artist Talk

Educational

Following Princess, choreographer Eisa Jocson and performer Russ Litgas offer insight into their artistic approaches in conversation with Carolina Nöbauer.  ...

 
Loading

Princess

Eisa Jocson (PH)
Performance
© Jörg Baum 
Eisa
Jocson

beschäftigt sich in ihren Stücken mit den Verschränkungen von Geschlecht, affektiver Arbeit, Migration und Körperlichkeit. Dabei hat sie sich mit Poledance, Macho Dancing – eine Tanzform, die in den Schwulenbars Manilas gängig ist – oder auch Hostessenarbeit auseinandergesetzt. Sie kommt aus der bildenden Kunst, hat aber auch einen Balletthintergrund und gewann 2010 in Manila den Titel „Pole Art Champion“. Eisa Jocson war mit ihren Arbeiten regelmäßig an renommierten Theatern und auf internationalen Festivals in Asien und Europa zu sehen, z. B. Tanz im August, Theater der Welt, Mannheim, TPAM Yokohama, Beursschouwburg Brüssel.

Dem Wiener Publikum ist sie bereits durch Gastspiele im TQW oder bei ImPulsTanz bekannt.

Princess ist der erste Teil der HAPPYLAND-Serie, einer Trilogie, in der sie das Verhältnis zwischen Arbeit und der Performance des Glücks in der globalisierten Unterhaltungsindustrie erforscht.

eisajocson.wordpress.com

 
Fr02. 
Nov
21 Uhr/
TQW Halle G
Eintritt frei
Vermittlung

Eisa Jocson &
Russ Ligtas

Artist Talk

Vermittlung

Im Anschluss an die Vorstellung von Princess am 2. November sprechen Eisa Jocson und Russ Ligtas über ihre Arbeit. Moderation:...

Eisa Jocson (PH)
Do01./
Fr02. 
Nov
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G
 
     
  • Do 01. Nov
  • Fr 02. Nov
€ 20/15/10

In Filmen und Vergnügungsparks hat das Disney-Imperium Schneewittchen zum Inbegriff des glücklichen Mädchens gemacht. Von Los Angeles bis Hongkong verzaubern Prinzessinnendarstellerinnen winkend und lachend das Publikum. Die Choreografin Eisa Jocson betrachtet diese scheinbar universelle Performance des Glücks aus einer besonderen Perspektive: Disneyland Hongkong ist einer der wichtigsten Arbeitgeber für philippinische Tänzer_innen in der Region, besetzt mit ihnen aufgrund ihrer Hautfarbe allerdings nur die namenlosen Nebenrollen. Gemeinsam mit dem Performancekünstler Russ Ligtas eignet sich Eisa Jocson die Körperlichkeit und die Sprache Schneewittchens an und schafft ein Spielfeld der Identitäten. Mit Mitteln der Mimikry überschreiben die beiden zunehmend die vom Entertainmentsystem vorgegebenen Erzählungen und katapultieren die philippinischen Körper vom Bühnenrand in die Position der Hauptdarsteller_in.

Credits

Künstlerische Leitung
Eisa Jocson
Von und mit
Eisa Jocson, Russ Ligtas
Musik
Marc Appart
Creative Presence
Arco Renz, Tang Fu Kuen
Dramaturgische Beratung
Anna Wagner
Lichtdesign
Florian Bach
Coaching
Rasa Alksnyte
Produktionsmanagement
Anne Kleiner
Assistenz
Marcus P. Tesch
Technisches Management
Yap Seok Hui (Artfactory)
Tontechnik
Fernando Castro
Produktion
Eisa Jocson, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm, Frankfurt/Main
Eine Koproduktion mit
Frankfurter Positionen, Münchner Kammerspiele, tanzhaus nrw, Düsseldorf
Gefördert durch die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen des Bündnisses internationaler Produktionshäuser.
Mit Unterstützung von Pianofabriek (Brüssel) und Para Site (Hongkong). Entstanden als Werkauftrag im Rahmen der Frankfurter Positionen 2017, eine Initiative der BHF-BANK-Stiftung.
Eisa
Jocson

beschäftigt sich in ihren Stücken mit den Verschränkungen von Geschlecht, affektiver Arbeit, Migration und Körperlichkeit. Dabei hat sie sich mit Poledance, Macho Dancing – eine Tanzform, die in den Schwulenbars Manilas gängig ist – oder auch Hostessenarbeit auseinandergesetzt. Sie kommt aus der bildenden Kunst, hat aber auch einen Balletthintergrund und gewann 2010 in Manila den Titel „Pole Art Champion“. Eisa Jocson war mit ihren Arbeiten regelmäßig an renommierten Theatern und auf internationalen Festivals in Asien und Europa zu sehen, z. B. Tanz im August, Theater der Welt, Mannheim, TPAM Yokohama, Beursschouwburg Brüssel.

Dem Wiener Publikum ist sie bereits durch Gastspiele im TQW oder bei ImPulsTanz bekannt.

Princess ist der erste Teil der HAPPYLAND-Serie, einer Trilogie, in der sie das Verhältnis zwischen Arbeit und der Performance des Glücks in der globalisierten Unterhaltungsindustrie erforscht.

eisajocson.wordpress.com

 
Fr02. 
Nov
21 Uhr/
TQW Halle G
Eintritt frei
Vermittlung

Eisa Jocson &
Russ Ligtas

Artist Talk

Vermittlung

Im Anschluss an die Vorstellung von Princess am 2. November sprechen Eisa Jocson und Russ Ligtas über ihre Arbeit. Moderation:...

 
Loading