REKSOLL

Cross-Pollinating Convergence
Raul Maia (PT/AT) & Elizabeth Ward (US/AT)
Labs/Theory
Raul Maia (PT/AT) & Elizabeth Ward (US/AT)
Raul
Maia

is a Portuguese dancer and performance artist based in Vienna. His focus as a dance maker is on creating frames for physical behaviour practices, from which physical language can arise and be re-contextualised in artistic objects. He divides his time between his own work and his ongoing artistic collaboration with Belgium choreographer Thomas Steyaert. His work has been shown at festivals and institutions such as ImPulsTanz, eXplore dance festival (Bucharest), fabrik Potsdam, iDANS Istanbul, Tanzquartier Wien, WUK and brut, a. o. As a performer, he has collaborated with Wim Vandekeybus / Ultima Vez, Anna MacRae, Tino Sehgal, Fanni Futterknecht, Mike O’Connor, Sofia Dias & Vítor Roriz and Paul Wenninger, a. o.

raulmaia.com

Elizabeth
Ward

is a choreographer and performer currently living in Vienna. Previously, she has lived and worked in New York City, Athens, Brussels, and Portland, Oregon. Her work explores the collective histories of dance lineages embedded in a dancer’s muscle memory as a living archaeology. Currently, she is developing a new piece with visual artist Julia Zastava and musician Ana Threat on hauntings, specifically looking at the complicated political histories of early Modern Dance. As a performer, she has participated in the works of DD Dorvillier, Miguel Gutierrez, Anne Juren, Jennifer Lacey, and Frédéric Gies, a. o. Elizabeth received her BA from Bennington College in Vermont, where she focused on improvisation as a performance practice.

 
Sat25. 
May
17.00/
TQW Studios
Theory

Raul Maia & Elizabeth Ward

REKSOLL

Theory

If there is an impossibility in repetition, isn’t everything improvised? Improvisation: a single word. Within it, a vast...

Mon13.
Sat18.+
Mon20.
Sat25. 
May
00 /
TQW Studios

If there is an impossibility in repetition, isn’t everything improvised?

Improvisation: a single word. Within it, a vast landscape of personal/collective histories and present knowledge, striding side by side with opaque conceptions and myths.

A laboratory on improvisation: a sentence, suggesting the study and experiment of improvisation through improvisation.

We come together as seven artists, each with our own past and present regarding this theme, to experience the diversity in the thinking, mapping and practicing of our existing improvisational practices while leaving an opening for cross-pollination to work its magic.

No longer to be defined in binary opposition to choreography, improvisation belongs to the realm of words we all necessarily relate to, but few agree on the exact meaning – a little bit like Love perhaps.

 

 

 

Credits

Participants
Raul Maia, Elizabeth Ward, Kristina Pia Hofer, Sabina Holzer, Otto Ramstad, Linda Samaraweerová, Lina Venegas

Raul
Maia

is a Portuguese dancer and performance artist based in Vienna. His focus as a dance maker is on creating frames for physical behaviour practices, from which physical language can arise and be re-contextualised in artistic objects. He divides his time between his own work and his ongoing artistic collaboration with Belgium choreographer Thomas Steyaert. His work has been shown at festivals and institutions such as ImPulsTanz, eXplore dance festival (Bucharest), fabrik Potsdam, iDANS Istanbul, Tanzquartier Wien, WUK and brut, a. o. As a performer, he has collaborated with Wim Vandekeybus / Ultima Vez, Anna MacRae, Tino Sehgal, Fanni Futterknecht, Mike O’Connor, Sofia Dias & Vítor Roriz and Paul Wenninger, a. o.

raulmaia.com

Elizabeth
Ward

is a choreographer and performer currently living in Vienna. Previously, she has lived and worked in New York City, Athens, Brussels, and Portland, Oregon. Her work explores the collective histories of dance lineages embedded in a dancer’s muscle memory as a living archaeology. Currently, she is developing a new piece with visual artist Julia Zastava and musician Ana Threat on hauntings, specifically looking at the complicated political histories of early Modern Dance. As a performer, she has participated in the works of DD Dorvillier, Miguel Gutierrez, Anne Juren, Jennifer Lacey, and Frédéric Gies, a. o. Elizabeth received her BA from Bennington College in Vermont, where she focused on improvisation as a performance practice.

 
Sat25. 
May
17.00/
TQW Studios
Theory

Raul Maia & Elizabeth Ward

REKSOLL

Theory

If there is an impossibility in repetition, isn’t everything improvised? Improvisation: a single word. Within it, a vast...

 
Loading

REKSOLL

Cross-Pollinating Convergence
Raul Maia (PT/AT) & Elizabeth Ward (US/AT)
Laborpräsentation
© Raul Maia/Elizabeth Ward 
Raul
Maia

ist Tänzer/Performer aus Portugal und lebt in Wien. Als Tanzschaffender gestaltet er Settings für physische Verhaltenspraktiken, aus denen eine Bewegungssprache entstehen und zu einem künstlerischen Objekt rekontextualisiert werden kann. Neben seiner künstlerischen Zusammenarbeit mit dem belgischen Choreografen Thomas Steyaert erarbeitet er auch Solos. Seine Stücke wurden u. a. auf Festivals wie ImPulsTanz, Wien, eXplore dance festival, Bukarest, und iDANS, Istanbul, und in Institutionen wie fabrik Potsdam, Tanzquartier Wien, WUK, Wien, und brut Wien gezeigt. Als Performer arbeitete er u. a. mit Wim Vandekeybus / Ultima Vez, Anna MacRae, Tino Sehgal, Fanni Futterknecht, Mike O’Connor, Sofia Dias & Vítor Roriz und Paul Wenninger zusammen.

raulmaia.com

 

Elizabeth
Ward

ist Choreografin und Performerin. Bevor sie nach Wien kam, lebte und arbeitete sie in New York, Athen, Brüssel und Portland, Oregon. Ihre Arbeit erforscht die kollektiven Geschichten einer Genealogie des Tanzes, die im Muskelgedächtnis von Tänzer*innen als lebendige Archäologie eingeschrieben sind. Derzeit entwickelt sie gemeinsam mit der bildenden Künstlerin Julia Zastava und der Musikerin Ana Threat ein neues Stück über Heimsuchungen, wobei sie sich insbesondere mit den komplizierten politischen Geschichten des frühen Modern Dance auseinandersetzt. Als Performerin war sie u. a. in Arbeiten von DD Dorvillier, Miguel Gutierrez, Anne Juren, Jennifer Lacey und Frédéric Gies zu sehen. Ihren Bachelor of Arts machte Elizabeth Ward am Bennington College in Vermont. Der Schwerpunkt lag dabei auf Improvisation als performativer Praxis.

Raul Maia (PT/AT) & Elizabeth Ward (US/AT)
Sa25. 
Mai
17 Uhr/
TQW Studios
Eintritt frei

„Improvisation kann nicht mehr als das Gegenteil von Choreografie definiert werden, gehört aber zu jenen Begriffen, auf die wir uns alle immer wieder beziehen, ohne dass wir uns über dessen genaue Bedeutung einig wären – ein bisschen ist das wie mit der Liebe.“— Raul Maia & Elizabeth Ward

Wenn sieben Künstler*innen, alle mit einer individuellen Geschichte zum Thema Improvisation, zusammenkommen, trifft eine Vielfalt von Zugängen und Techniken aufeinander. Dieses Labor lässt einen Raum entstehen, in dem sich die Magie der gegenseitigen künstlerischen Befruchtung entfalten kann. Davon kann sich auch das Publikum am Ende der zwei Wochen im Rahmen einer Laborpräsentation überzeugen.

Das Labor findet von 13. bis 25. Mai statt.

Credits

Teilnehmer*innen
Raul Maia, Elizabeth Ward, Kristina Pia Hofer, Sabina Holzer, Otto Ramstad, Linda Samaraweerová, Lina Venegas
Raul
Maia

ist Tänzer/Performer aus Portugal und lebt in Wien. Als Tanzschaffender gestaltet er Settings für physische Verhaltenspraktiken, aus denen eine Bewegungssprache entstehen und zu einem künstlerischen Objekt rekontextualisiert werden kann. Neben seiner künstlerischen Zusammenarbeit mit dem belgischen Choreografen Thomas Steyaert erarbeitet er auch Solos. Seine Stücke wurden u. a. auf Festivals wie ImPulsTanz, Wien, eXplore dance festival, Bukarest, und iDANS, Istanbul, und in Institutionen wie fabrik Potsdam, Tanzquartier Wien, WUK, Wien, und brut Wien gezeigt. Als Performer arbeitete er u. a. mit Wim Vandekeybus / Ultima Vez, Anna MacRae, Tino Sehgal, Fanni Futterknecht, Mike O’Connor, Sofia Dias & Vítor Roriz und Paul Wenninger zusammen.

raulmaia.com

 

Elizabeth
Ward

ist Choreografin und Performerin. Bevor sie nach Wien kam, lebte und arbeitete sie in New York, Athen, Brüssel und Portland, Oregon. Ihre Arbeit erforscht die kollektiven Geschichten einer Genealogie des Tanzes, die im Muskelgedächtnis von Tänzer*innen als lebendige Archäologie eingeschrieben sind. Derzeit entwickelt sie gemeinsam mit der bildenden Künstlerin Julia Zastava und der Musikerin Ana Threat ein neues Stück über Heimsuchungen, wobei sie sich insbesondere mit den komplizierten politischen Geschichten des frühen Modern Dance auseinandersetzt. Als Performerin war sie u. a. in Arbeiten von DD Dorvillier, Miguel Gutierrez, Anne Juren, Jennifer Lacey und Frédéric Gies zu sehen. Ihren Bachelor of Arts machte Elizabeth Ward am Bennington College in Vermont. Der Schwerpunkt lag dabei auf Improvisation als performativer Praxis.

 
Loading