REMEMBRANE

Sigrid Stigsdatter Mathiassen (DK/NL)
Dance & Performance
© Matija Lukić 
Sigrid
Stigsdatter Mathiassen

is a choreographer, performer and vocalist born in Denmark, 1990. She recently finished her studies at SNDO, School for New Dance Development (2013–2017) in Amsterdam where she is also currently based. Her work is widely dedicated to wildness and serenity. Through this dedication she contributes to softly smash the patriarchy.

Amongst other places her work has been shown at ITS Festival, Frascati Theater, Veem House for Performance (all Amsterdam), Ufer Studios (Berlin), Spider Festival (Slovenia), Café Muller (Buenos Aires), Kulturhuset (Copenhagen). She studied Contemporary Dance at CCDS and DanseTeater (both Copenhagen), furthermore she has a background in Contemporary Dance, Oriental Dance and Music.

“Wildness, because I refuse to be reduced to only one image, on and off stage. Serenity, doesn’t come easy but when it’s there it allows me to look at that image with gentle eyes and work through it, with it, against it”.

Sigrid Stigsdatter Mathiassen (DK/NL)
Thu10./
Fri11. 
May
Following My garden flourishes with flowers/
TQW Studios

For Rakete there are day tickets available including entry to all events on the respective day.

In case of sold-out performances, remaining tickets are available at the evening box office.

Re re me me mbra mbra ne ne whe whe n n
the the he he ad ad
the the he he art art
the the who who le le bo bo dy dy
wou wou ld ld al al l l be be in in one one pla pla ce ce
at at the the sa sa me me ti ti me me

In a bent world a lonely cowgirl finds her unexpected expression in rage, loneliness and self-destruction. REMEMBRANE investigates how movement and words can become accelerated tools for blurring the lines between existence and the imagination and what that means in the context of the theater. It is a multi-layered body glitch enquiring what it means to be one entity while being many and the complexity of shifting between combat and serenity, identity and the search for one, brokenness and a whole.

The piece emerged from an interest in trying to objectify my own body while questioning objectification and ownership of the fe-male body. How can I reclaim my body and still understand it as something that I am not entitled to own or have full control over.

Credits

Advisors
Katerina Bakatsaki, Joaquin Wall
Mentor
Ana Vujanović
Original Light Design
Vinny Jones
Music
Vilde Tuv Songs – Vilde Tuv, Sigrid Stigsdatter Mathiassen
Sigrid
Stigsdatter Mathiassen

is a choreographer, performer and vocalist born in Denmark, 1990. She recently finished her studies at SNDO, School for New Dance Development (2013–2017) in Amsterdam where she is also currently based. Her work is widely dedicated to wildness and serenity. Through this dedication she contributes to softly smash the patriarchy.

Amongst other places her work has been shown at ITS Festival, Frascati Theater, Veem House for Performance (all Amsterdam), Ufer Studios (Berlin), Spider Festival (Slovenia), Café Muller (Buenos Aires), Kulturhuset (Copenhagen). She studied Contemporary Dance at CCDS and DanseTeater (both Copenhagen), furthermore she has a background in Contemporary Dance, Oriental Dance and Music.

“Wildness, because I refuse to be reduced to only one image, on and off stage. Serenity, doesn’t come easy but when it’s there it allows me to look at that image with gentle eyes and work through it, with it, against it”.

 
Loading

REMEMBRANE

Sigrid Stigsdatter Mathiassen (DK/NL)
Tanz & Performance
Sigrid Stigsdatter Mathiassen Sigrid Stigsdatter Mathiassen Sigrid Stigsdatter Mathiassen
© Matija Lukić 
Sigrid
Stigsdatter Mathiassen,

geboren 1990 in Dänemark, ist Choreografin, Performerin und Sängerin. Sie lebt in Amsterdam, wo sie 2017 ihr Studium an der SNDO, School for New Dance Development, mit REMEMBRANE abgeschlossen hat. Ihre Arbeiten widmen sich weitgehend den Themen Wut und Gelassenheit und sind Beiträge, das Patriarchat sachte zu zerschlagen.

„Wut, weil ich mich weigere, auf und hinter der Bühne auf ein einziges Bild reduziert zu werden. Gelassenheit kommt nicht einfach, aber wenn sie da ist, erlaubt sie mir, dieses Bild mit sanften Augen zu betrachten und durch, mit und gegen dieses zu arbeiten.“ Ihre Arbeiten wurden u. a. bei ITS Festival Amsterdam, Frascati Theater Amsterdam, Veem House for Performance Amsterdam, Uferstudios Berlin, Spider Festival Ljubljana, Café Muller Buenos Aires und Kulturhuset Kopenhagen gezeigt.

Sigrid Stigsdatter Mathiassen (DK/NL)
Do10./
Fr11. 
Mai
Im Anschluss an My garden flourishes with flowers/
TQW Studios

Für Rakete sind ausschließlich Tagestickets erhältlich. Diese inkludieren den Eintritt zu allen Veranstaltungen des jeweiligen Tages.

Bei ausverkauften Vorstellungen sind Restkarten an der Abendkasse erhältlich.

In einer unüberschaubaren Welt schöpft ein Cowgirl aus Wut, Einsamkeit und Selbstzerstörung unerwartete Kraft. REMEMBRANE erforscht Sprache und Bewegung als Instrumente der Grenzverwischung zwischen realer Existenz und Fantasie. Sigrid Stigsdatter Mathiassen zeigt in ihrer Performance die Komplexität des Wechsels zwischen Kampf und Gelassenheit, Brüchigkeit und dem Ganzen, Identität und der Suche danach. Dabei versucht die Tänzerin, den eigenen Körper zu objektivieren und gleichzeitig dieses Objektivieren eines Frauenkörpers infrage zu stellen. Wie kann ich über den Körper verfügen, wenn er so unkontrollierbar ist und mir nie gehören wird?

Credits

Betreuung
Katerina Bakatsaki, Joaquin Wall
Mentoring
Ana Vujanović
Lichtdesign
Vinny Jones
Musik
Vilde Tuv Songs – Vilde Tuv, Sigrid Stigsdatter Mathiassen
Sigrid
Stigsdatter Mathiassen,

geboren 1990 in Dänemark, ist Choreografin, Performerin und Sängerin. Sie lebt in Amsterdam, wo sie 2017 ihr Studium an der SNDO, School for New Dance Development, mit REMEMBRANE abgeschlossen hat. Ihre Arbeiten widmen sich weitgehend den Themen Wut und Gelassenheit und sind Beiträge, das Patriarchat sachte zu zerschlagen.

„Wut, weil ich mich weigere, auf und hinter der Bühne auf ein einziges Bild reduziert zu werden. Gelassenheit kommt nicht einfach, aber wenn sie da ist, erlaubt sie mir, dieses Bild mit sanften Augen zu betrachten und durch, mit und gegen dieses zu arbeiten.“ Ihre Arbeiten wurden u. a. bei ITS Festival Amsterdam, Frascati Theater Amsterdam, Veem House for Performance Amsterdam, Uferstudios Berlin, Spider Festival Ljubljana, Café Muller Buenos Aires und Kulturhuset Kopenhagen gezeigt.

 
Loading