Self-defence: A Philosophy of Violence

Elsa Dorlin
Theory
Elsa
Dorlin,

born 1974, is Professor of Philosophy at the Université de Paris VIII Vincennes – Saint Denis. She has been named one of the leading contemporary French feminist theorists and has received, among others, the Médaille de bronze du Centre national de la recherche scientifique for her research.

Se défendre. Une philosophie de la violence was awarded the Frantz Fanon Prize 2018 and the Prix de l’Écrit Social 2019.

Elsa Dorlin
Fri23. 
Apr
17.00/
Zoom

In English

Not all lives are equal! In colonial times, slaves and indigenous people were prohibited from carrying weapons or defending themselves, unlike slave owners and colonial masters. What are the origins of this historical divide between those bodies deemed “deserving of protection” and the defenceless, this organised disarming of the oppressed, from which any liberating act only leads to the question of violence? Tracing the histories of the slave resistance, the Black Panthers and Queer Patrols, the jiu-jitsu of the suffragettes and the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising, Elsa Dorlin presents a genealogy of self-defence in her award-winning book.

For every official historical account of self-defence there is a “martial ethics of the self”, an overlooked practice that sees attack as the only means of defence in order to guarantee survival and safeguard a political future. This other history of violence gives rise to a new definition of modern subjectivity and current security policy. Such a history makes way for a new interpretation of political philosophy, one where Hobbes and Locke have fervent and fascinating discussions with Frantz Fanon, Michel Foucault, Malcolm X, June Jordan or Judith Butler.

Elsa
Dorlin,

born 1974, is Professor of Philosophy at the Université de Paris VIII Vincennes – Saint Denis. She has been named one of the leading contemporary French feminist theorists and has received, among others, the Médaille de bronze du Centre national de la recherche scientifique for her research.

Se défendre. Une philosophie de la violence was awarded the Frantz Fanon Prize 2018 and the Prix de l’Écrit Social 2019.

 
Loading

Selbstverteidigung – eine Philosophie der Gewalt

Elsa Dorlin
Theorie
 
© Léa Crespi
Elsa
Dorlin,

geboren 1974, ist Professorin für Philosophie an der Universität Paris 8 Vincennes – Saint-Denis. Sie gilt als eine der führenden französischen feministischen Theoretikerinnen der Gegenwart und erhielt für ihre Forschungen u. a. die Médaille de bronze du Centre national de la recherche scientifique.

Selbstverteidigung. Eine Philosophie der Gewalt wurde mit dem Frantz Fanon Prize 2018 und dem Prix de l’’Écrit Social 2019 ausgezeichnet.

Elsa Dorlin
Fr23. 
Apr
17 Uhr/
Zoom
 
     
  • Fr 23. Apr

In englischer Sprache

Nicht alle Leben zählen gleich! Sklav*innen und Indigenen war es in der Zeit des Kolonialismus streng untersagt, sich zu bewaffnen oder sich zu verteidigen, was Sklavenhaltern und Kolonialherren selbstverständlich gestattet war. Woher rührt diese historische Kluft zwischen „verteidigungswürdigen“ und wehrlosen Körpern, diese organisierte „Entwaffnung“ der Unterworfenen, die bei jedem Befreiungsstreben die Frage der Gewalt aufruft? Vom Sklavenwiderstand bis zum Jiu-Jitsu der Suffragetten, vom Aufstand im Warschauer Ghetto bis zu den Black Panthers und den Queer-Patrouillen zeichnet Elsa Dorlin in ihrem preisgekrönten Buch eine Genealogie der politischen Selbstverteidigung nach.

Hinter der offiziellen Geschichte der Selbstverteidigung verbirgt sich eine „kriegerische Ethik des Selbst“, eine verschüttete Praxis, bei der die Verteidigung als Angriff die einzige Möglichkeit des eigenen Überlebens und einer politischen Zukunft markiert. Diese Geschichte der Gewalt wirft neues Licht auf die Definition der modernen Subjektivität und die zeitgenössische Sicherheitspolitik. Sie führt zu einer Neuinterpretation der politischen Philosophie, bei der Hobbes und Locke mit Frantz Fanon, Michel Foucault, Malcolm X, June Jordan oder Judith Butler in ein faszinierendes Streitgespräch geraten.

Elsa
Dorlin,

geboren 1974, ist Professorin für Philosophie an der Universität Paris 8 Vincennes – Saint-Denis. Sie gilt als eine der führenden französischen feministischen Theoretikerinnen der Gegenwart und erhielt für ihre Forschungen u. a. die Médaille de bronze du Centre national de la recherche scientifique.

Selbstverteidigung. Eine Philosophie der Gewalt wurde mit dem Frantz Fanon Prize 2018 und dem Prix de l’’Écrit Social 2019 ausgezeichnet.

 
Loading