Something’s in the Air

Janša/Narat/
Preda/Tomažin (SI)
Dance & Performance
 
Janez
Janša

(b. as Emil Hrvatin 1964 in Rijeka) lives in Ljubljana. In 2007, he and two other Slovenian artists officially took on the name of the then Conservative Prime Minister of Slovenia as a form of protest. In his capacity as editor, author, director and performer of interdisciplinary works, he examines the relationships between art and society, experimenting time and again with all the means the theatre has at its disposal. He has been a member of the TQW Theory Board since 2018.

Boštjan Narat

is a philosopher, musician and author. In 2001, he founded the band Katalena. He started a solo career as a singer-songwriter in 2014. He also writes music for various theatrical productions.

Irena Preda

is a soprano. She studied at the prestigious Trinity College of Music in London and has sung in many operas and performances.

Irena Tomažin

is a philosopher, dancer and choreographer. Her multi award-winning works focus on the importance of the voice in performances. In addition, she is a singer in the Slovenian band Borghesia.

Janša/Narat/
Preda/Tomažin (SI)
Wed14.
Fri16. 
Feb
19.30/
TQW Studios

“Breathing becomes a readable component of a community, which may unintentionally denude an individual through tiny but intimate biological reactions whilst simultaneously revealing their belongingness.” Dnevnik/Zala Dobovšek

In a time of increasingly fragile social ties, the question of how we should live together poses enormous social challenges. Applied to the theatrical situation, every performance also addresses the matter of “community”. Night after night, a group of people, mostly unknown to each other, breathing the same air, form a temporary community of sorts in the theatre space. Taking the simple physical act of breathing as a starting point, Something’s in the Air creates a space which makes it virtually impossible for an individual to detach themselves from the community. The experimental setting of Something’s in the Air is an ode to the only thing we have in common: the air. While we still have it!

Credits

Authors
Janez Janša, BoštjanNarat, Irena Preda, Irena Tomažin
Concept & direction
Janez Janša
Dramaturgy & composition
Boštjan Narat
Performers
Irena Preda, Irena Tomažin & Dragana Alfirević, Leja Jurišić, Teja Reba, Jelena Rusjan, Tina Valentan
Production manager & executive producer
Tina Dobnik
Technical direction & lighting design
Igor Remeta
Photography
Nada Žgank
Graphic design
Ajdin Bašić
A production by Maska and Mladinsko Theatre, Ljubljana. With support from the Slovenian Ministry of Culture and the City of Ljubljana.
Janez
Janša

(b. as Emil Hrvatin 1964 in Rijeka) lives in Ljubljana. In 2007, he and two other Slovenian artists officially took on the name of the then Conservative Prime Minister of Slovenia as a form of protest. In his capacity as editor, author, director and performer of interdisciplinary works, he examines the relationships between art and society, experimenting time and again with all the means the theatre has at its disposal. He has been a member of the TQW Theory Board since 2018.

Boštjan Narat

is a philosopher, musician and author. In 2001, he founded the band Katalena. He started a solo career as a singer-songwriter in 2014. He also writes music for various theatrical productions.

Irena Preda

is a soprano. She studied at the prestigious Trinity College of Music in London and has sung in many operas and performances.

Irena Tomažin

is a philosopher, dancer and choreographer. Her multi award-winning works focus on the importance of the voice in performances. In addition, she is a singer in the Slovenian band Borghesia.

 
Loading

Something’s in the Air

Janša/Narat/
Preda/Tomažin (SI)
Tanz & Performance
Janez Janša Something in the air Janez Janša Something in the air
© Nada Zgank 
Janez
Janša

(geb. als Emil Hrvatin 1964 in Rijeka) lebt in Ljubljana. Er ließ sich 2007 gemeinsam mit zwei anderen slowenischen Künstlern als Zeichen des Protests gegen den damaligen konservativen Ministerpräsidenten Sloweniens auf dessen Namen umtaufen. Als Herausgeber, Autor, Regisseur und Performer interdisziplinärer Arbeiten durchleuchtet er die Beziehungen zwischen Kunst und Gesellschaft und experimentiert dabei immer wieder mit dem Dispositiv des Theaters. Seit 2018 ist er Mitglied des TQW-Theorie-Board.

Boštjan Narat

ist Philosoph, Musiker und Autor. 2001 gründete er die Band Katalena. 2014 startete er eine Solokarriere als Singer/Songwriter. Er schreibt außerdem Musik für diverse Theaterproduktionen.

Irena Preda

ist Sopranistin. Sie studierte am renommierten Trinity College of Music in London und hat in zahlreichen Opern und Performances mitgewirkt.

Irena Tomažin

ist Philosophin, Tänzerin und Choreografin. Ihre mehrfach ausgezeichneten Arbeiten fokussieren die Bedeutung der Stimme in Performances. Darüber hinaus ist sie auch Sängerin in der slowenischen Band Borghesia.

 
Do15. 
Feb
20.30 Uhr/
TQW Studios

Janez Janša

Artist Talk

Vermittlung

Janez Janša spricht im Anschluss an die Vorstellung von Something's in the Air mit dem Dramaturgen Boštjan Narat...

Janša/Narat/
Preda/Tomažin (SI)
Mi14.
Fr16. 
Feb
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Studios

“Breathing becomes a readable component of a community, which may unintentionally denude an individual through tiny but intimate biological reactions whilst simultaneously revealing their belongingness.” Dnevnik/Zala Dobovšek

In einer Zeit immer brüchiger werdender sozialer Bindungen stellt uns die Frage, wie wir zusammenleben sollen, vor enorme gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen. Umgelegt auf die Theatersituation geht es auch in jeder Aufführung um die Frage eines „Miteinanders“. Im Theaterraum formiert sich Abend für Abend aus einander meist Unbekannten eine Gemeinschaft auf Zeit – die die gleiche Luft atmet. Something’s in the Air kreiert ausgehend vom einfachen physischen Akt des Atmens einen Raum, in dem sich die/der Einzelne nur schwer der Gemeinschaft entziehen kann. Das experimentelle Setting von Something’s in the Air ist eine Ode an das Einzige, das wir gemeinsam haben: die Luft. Solange wir sie noch haben!

Credits

Autoren
Janez Janša, BoštjanNarat, Irena Preda, Irena Tomažin
Konzept & Regie
Janez Janša
Dramaturgie & Komposition
Boštjan Narat
Performance
Irena Preda, Irena Tomažin & Dragana Alfirević, Leja Jurišić, Teja Reba, Jelena Rusjan, Tina Valentan
Produktionsleitung
Tina Dobnik
Technische Leitung & Lichtdesign
Igor Remeta
Fotografie
Nada Žgank
Grafik
Ajdin Bašić
Eine Produktion von Maska und Mladinsko Theater, Ljubljana. Mit Unterstützung des slowenischen Kulturministeriums und der Stadt Ljubljana.
Janez
Janša

(geb. als Emil Hrvatin 1964 in Rijeka) lebt in Ljubljana. Er ließ sich 2007 gemeinsam mit zwei anderen slowenischen Künstlern als Zeichen des Protests gegen den damaligen konservativen Ministerpräsidenten Sloweniens auf dessen Namen umtaufen. Als Herausgeber, Autor, Regisseur und Performer interdisziplinärer Arbeiten durchleuchtet er die Beziehungen zwischen Kunst und Gesellschaft und experimentiert dabei immer wieder mit dem Dispositiv des Theaters. Seit 2018 ist er Mitglied des TQW-Theorie-Board.

Boštjan Narat

ist Philosoph, Musiker und Autor. 2001 gründete er die Band Katalena. 2014 startete er eine Solokarriere als Singer/Songwriter. Er schreibt außerdem Musik für diverse Theaterproduktionen.

Irena Preda

ist Sopranistin. Sie studierte am renommierten Trinity College of Music in London und hat in zahlreichen Opern und Performances mitgewirkt.

Irena Tomažin

ist Philosophin, Tänzerin und Choreografin. Ihre mehrfach ausgezeichneten Arbeiten fokussieren die Bedeutung der Stimme in Performances. Darüber hinaus ist sie auch Sängerin in der slowenischen Band Borghesia.

 
Do15. 
Feb
20.30 Uhr/
TQW Studios

Janez Janša

Artist Talk

Vermittlung

Janez Janša spricht im Anschluss an die Vorstellung von Something's in the Air mit dem Dramaturgen Boštjan Narat...

 
Loading