Stranger Than Paradise

Liquid Loft
Dance
© Chris Haring 
Liquid
Loft

was founded in 2005 by choreographer Chris Haring, musician Andreas Berger, dancer Stephanie Cumming and dramaturg Thomas Jelinek. Inspired by science fiction and cyborg theory, Liquid Loft’s works reflect on the experience of our changing perception and bodies, which is brought about by visual media and the everyday use of technology.

With its method of deconstruction and reconstruction, which applies to both the movement vocabulary as well as the perspectives of bodily perception, Liquid Loft continues to explore new fields of choreographic action. For its unconventional imagery and use of forms, distinctive acoustic stage settings and high performative standards, Liquid Loft has garnered international critical acclaim and was awarded the Golden Lion for Best Performance at the Venice Biennale in 2007

liquidloft.at

Liquid Loft
Thu28.
Sun31. 
Jan
19.30 /
Online
 
     
  • Thu 28. Jan
  • Fri 29. Jan
  • Sat 30. Jan
  • Sun 31. Jan
Free

VoD available until Sun 31 Jan, 19.30.

+++ The performance will be available here as video on demand for 72 hours. +++

In dance the bodies become political, at the same time the political becomes poetic. In Stranger Than Paradise this double game is played with extraordinary concentration. The title of this production is borrowed from a road movie that serves as an influence not aesthetically or narratively, rather atmospherically. In 1984, the director and author Jim Jarmusch sketched the tragicomic coexistence of three lonely characters as a choreography of wintry forlornness: exhausted bodies in wide, empty spaces, in “posthuman” scenarios. The idea of urban cool, which Jarmusch transfers to the snowy landscapes of Cleveland, is translated by Liquid Loft into a reflection on the expansion of biological capacities: into the mechanical, the creatural, and the “monstrous” of an animal-human existence.

The body is an obsolescent model; it is still needed, but the preparations for its abolition are in progress, which evokes melancholy and farewell manoeuvres. The old utopia of the equality of beings is hidden in the sphinxic shimmer of the dancers. Dealing with the humanimal raises questions of division and duplication. Is the image that the mirror produces an addition or a division? Does it share the view that is presented or is it simply duplicated?

Modification and infection are closely related: we are bio-machines, electronically improved, but biologically endangered. Only technologization, the synthesis of flesh and mechanics can secure us: The illusion of the human, which its perfectly reproduced surfaces can generate, conceals the artificiality of the new species. We will get used to them – that is, to ourselves.

— Stefan Grissemann

Credits

Performance, choreography
Luke Baio, Stephanie Cumming, Dong Uk Kim, Katharina Meves, Dante Murillo, Anna Maria Nowak, Arttu Palmio, Hannah Timbrell
Artistic direction, choreography
Chris Haring
Sound concept, composition
Andreas Berger
Light design, scenography
Thomas Jelinek
Video production, camera
Michael Loizenbauer
Camera
Kurt van der Vloedt (Artvan)
Costumes
Stefan Röhrle
Production design
Liquid Loft
Theory, text
Stefan Grissemann
Stage management
Roman Harrer
International distribution
APROPIC – Line Rousseau, Marion Gauvent
Company management, production
Marlies Pucher
Music arranged by
Andreas Berger
Additional, rearranged music by
Penelope Trappes – The Hair Shirt, Eurythmics – Aqua
A production by Liquid Loft in cooperation with Tanzquartier Wien. Liquid Loft is supported by the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs, Vienna, and the Austrian Federal Ministry for Arts, Culture, the Civil Service and Sport.
Liquid
Loft

was founded in 2005 by choreographer Chris Haring, musician Andreas Berger, dancer Stephanie Cumming and dramaturg Thomas Jelinek. Inspired by science fiction and cyborg theory, Liquid Loft’s works reflect on the experience of our changing perception and bodies, which is brought about by visual media and the everyday use of technology.

With its method of deconstruction and reconstruction, which applies to both the movement vocabulary as well as the perspectives of bodily perception, Liquid Loft continues to explore new fields of choreographic action. For its unconventional imagery and use of forms, distinctive acoustic stage settings and high performative standards, Liquid Loft has garnered international critical acclaim and was awarded the Golden Lion for Best Performance at the Venice Biennale in 2007

liquidloft.at

 
Loading

Stranger Than Paradise

Liquid Loft
Tanz
© Chris Haring 
Liquid
Loft

wurde 2005 vom Choreografen Chris Haring gemeinsam mit dem Musiker Andreas Berger, der Tänzerin Stephanie Cumming und dem Dramaturgen Thomas Jelinek gegründet. Geleitet von einer Auseinandersetzung mit Science-Fiction-Literatur und Cyborg-Theorie reflektieren die Arbeiten von Liquid Loft die Erfahrung, wie sich unsere Wahrnehmung und unsere Körper durch visuelle Medien und den alltäglichen Gebrauch von Technik verändern.

Mit dem Verfahren der Dekonstruktion und Rekonstruktion sowohl des tänzerischen Bewegungsmaterials als auch der Perspektiven körperlicher Wahrnehmung erschließt Liquid Loft immer wieder neue choreografische Handlungsfelder. Die eigenwillige Bild- und Formensprache, die unverkennbaren akustischen Bühnensets und die professionelle tänzerische Umsetzung brachten Liquid Loft internationale Anerkennung wie den Goldenen Löwen für die „Beste Performance“ bei der Biennale Venedig 2007.

liquidloft.at

Liquid Loft
Do28.
So31. 
Jan
19.30 Uhr/
Online
 
     
  • Do 28. Jan
  • Fr 29. Jan
  • Sa 30. Jan
  • So 31. Jan
Kostenlos

Verfügbar bis So, 31. Jan, 19.30 Uhr

+++ Die Performance wird hier als Video-on-Demand 72 Stunden lang verfügbar sein. +++

Im Tanz werden die Körper politisch, zugleich wird das Politische poetisch. In Stranger Than Paradise wird dieses doppelte Spiel mit außerordentlicher Konzentration betrieben. Der Titel der Produktion ist einem Road-Movie entliehen, das nicht ästhetisch oder narrativ, nur atmosphärisch Pate stand. Der Regisseur und Autor Jim Jarmusch zeichnete 1984 in Stranger Than Paradise die tragikomische Koexistenz dreier einsamer Figuren als Choreografie winterlicher Verlorenheit nach: entkräftete Körper in weiten, leeren Räumen, in „posthumanen“ Szenerien. Die Idee des Urban Cool, die Jarmusch in die Schneelandschaften Clevelands transferiert, wird von Liquid Loft in eine Reflexion der Erweiterung menschlicher Kapazitäten übersetzt: in das Mechanische, das Animalische, auch das „Monströse“ einer tier-menschlichen Existenz.

Der Körper ist ein Auslaufmodell; noch wird er gebraucht, aber die Zurüstungen für seine Abschaffung laufen – und rufen Melancholie, Abschiedsmanöver wach. Im sphinxischen Schillern der Tänzer*innen ist die alte Utopie der Gleichberechtigung der Wesen versteckt. Die Auseinandersetzung mit dem humanimal wirft Fragen der Teilung und der Verdoppelung auf. Ist das Bild, das der Spiegel produziert, eine Addition oder eine Division? Teilt er die Ansicht, die sich ihm bietet, oder doppelt er sie?

Modifikation und Infektion liegen nah beieinander: Wir sind Biomaschinen, elektronisch verbessert, aber biologisch gefährdet. Nur die Technologisierung, die Synthese von Fleisch und Mechanik kann uns sichern: Die Illusion des Menschlichen, die in dessen perfekt nachgebauten Oberflächen steckt, täuscht über das Artifizielle der neuen Spezies hinweg. Wir werden uns an sie, also an uns gewöhnen.

— Stefan Grissemann

Credits

Tanz, Choreografie
Luke Baio, Stephanie Cumming, Dong Uk Kim, Katharina Meves, Dante Murillo, Anna Maria Nowak, Arttu Palmio, Hannah Timbrell
Künstlerische Leitung, Choreografie
Chris Haring
Soundkonzept, Komposition
Andreas Berger
Lichtdesign, Szenografie
Thomas Jelinek
Videoproduktion, Kamera
Michael Loizenbauer
Kamera
Kurt van der Vloedt (Artvan)
Kostüme
Stefan Röhrle
Ausstattung
Bühnenmanagement
Roman Harrer
Internationale Distribution
Liquid Loft
Company-Management, Produktion
Marlies Pucher
Arrangements
Andreas Berger
Zusätzlich verwendete bzw. bearbeitete Musik
Penelope Trappes – The Hair Shirt, Eurythmics – Aqua
Eine Produktion von Liquid Loft in Kooperation mit Tanzquartier Wien. Liquid Loft wird gefördert von der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien und vom Bundesministerium für Kunst, Kultur, öffentlichen Dienst und Sport.
Liquid
Loft

wurde 2005 vom Choreografen Chris Haring gemeinsam mit dem Musiker Andreas Berger, der Tänzerin Stephanie Cumming und dem Dramaturgen Thomas Jelinek gegründet. Geleitet von einer Auseinandersetzung mit Science-Fiction-Literatur und Cyborg-Theorie reflektieren die Arbeiten von Liquid Loft die Erfahrung, wie sich unsere Wahrnehmung und unsere Körper durch visuelle Medien und den alltäglichen Gebrauch von Technik verändern.

Mit dem Verfahren der Dekonstruktion und Rekonstruktion sowohl des tänzerischen Bewegungsmaterials als auch der Perspektiven körperlicher Wahrnehmung erschließt Liquid Loft immer wieder neue choreografische Handlungsfelder. Die eigenwillige Bild- und Formensprache, die unverkennbaren akustischen Bühnensets und die professionelle tänzerische Umsetzung brachten Liquid Loft internationale Anerkennung wie den Goldenen Löwen für die „Beste Performance“ bei der Biennale Venedig 2007.

liquidloft.at

 
Loading