stuck

Doris Uhlich
Dance & Performance
© Torsten Mitsch  
Doris
Uhlich

has developed her own projects since 2006. The choreographer’s work frequently focuses on examining everyday gestures but also artificial ones, such as the strict code of movement of classical ballet in SPITZE (2008) and Come Back (2012). All her performances are investigations into beauty ideals and standards of body image, as in her piece mehr als genug (2009). Since her performance more than naked (2013), Doris Uhlich has also been working on the depiction of nudity free from ideology and provocation.

Music – particularly electronic dance music, from new wave to techno – plays an important part in her explorations.  The production Every Body Electric, which premiered at Tanzquartier Wien in 2018, was this year invited to the Venice Dance Biennale and to the Bienal Sesc de Dança in São Paulo, among others. Most recently at TQW, Habitat / Halle E featured Doris Uhlich’s biggest choreography so far, in which she created a utopian space with 120 naked performers.

dorisuhlich.at

 
 
 
Gabriele
Oßwald

is a visual and performance artist. Since 1993 solo and group exhibitions and performances in Germany, Italy, Switzerland, France and Norway. In 2001 she founded together with three colleagues, a. o. with Wolfgang Sautermeister, the arts centre zeitraumexit e.V. in Mannheim. From 2007 to 2016 she worked almost exclusively there as artistic and managing director.

She considers working on and for zeitraumexit to be part of her art of living. Gabriele Oßwald was a. o. a jury member for Girls Go Movie in Mannheim and the Stuttgart Theatre Prize of the State of Baden-Württemberg. Together with Wolfgang Sautermeister she has been working on inclusive art projects. Since 2017 she has been working as a freelance curator, a. o. for the Impulse Festival,  as an artist and project manager.

 
 
 
 
Wolfgang
Sautermeister

Solo and group exhibitions since 1960. Performances in Germany, Italy, Switzerland, France and Norway since 1992. Co-founder of zeitraumexit e.V. Mannheim and member of the artistic direction until 2016. Curator of international exhibition and theatre/performance projects. Lectureships for performance and art at Heidelberg University of Education until 2016.

Visiting professor for performance and installation, Justus Liebig University Gießen 2008–2010. Since 1998 artistic director of the painting workshop for adults with disabilities at Lebenshilfe Bad Dürkheim. Numerous international exhibition projects with disabled and non-disabled artists. Lectures. Lecture performances. Many years of experience as an art educator.

wolfgang-sautermeister.de

Doris Uhlich
Fri24./
Sat25.+
Thu30./
Fri31.+
Jan
Sat01. 
Feb
19.30 /
TQW Studios

55 minutes, no intermission

In case of sold-out performances waiting numbers for remaining tickets are handed out at the evening box office opening one hour before showtime.

Double bill ticket together with Dancing’s Demons: € 25/20

 

stuck gives us time to reflect on progress, regress and standstill as physical qualities of motion.” — Doris Uhlich

Two years ago, Doris Uhlich was approached by Gabriele Oßwald and Wolfgang Sautermeister, two experienced performers, founders and former artistic directors of Mannheim’s art space zeitraumexit, whether she would be interested in working on a collaborative performance piece: “It has been our dream to work with you as a choreographer.” So they arranged to meet in a rehearsal space and they experimented, trying to find a language for this dance. The most exciting discovery was that of a static dance. Inertia and standstill thus became the central themes of Doris Uhlich’s, and Gabriele Oßwald and Wolfgang Sautermeister’s collaborative efforts. The final duet will be more research than finished work, framed by the decision to present it in the confines of Tanzquartier Wien’s most intimate space, Studio 3.

“Drawing from our experiences in the field of visual and performance art, we wanted to approach dance differently, with an understanding of the body as a medium and tool. This was only complemented by our recurrent idea of involving someone else, an outside director.”  — Gabriele Oßwald, Wolfgang Sautermeister

 

 

Credits

Choreography
Doris Uhlich
Performance
Gabriele Oßwald, Wolfgang Sautermeister
Dramaturgical consultants
Boris Kopeinig, Theresa Rauter
Lighting design
Sergio Pessanha
Sound selection
Boris Kopeinig
Costume
Zarah Brandl
Production
Sebastian Lorenz, Margot Wehinger
Press, communication
Jonathan Hörnig
International distribution
Something Great
A coproduction by Tanzquartier Wien, insert (Theaterverein) and zeitraumexit Mannheim. Supported by the Arts and Culture division of the Austrian Federal Chancellery, the Cultural Office of the City of Mannheim and the Landesverband Freie Tanz- und Theaterschaffende Baden-Württemberg e. V. with funds from the Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts of the State of Baden-Württemberg. insert (Theaterverein) is supported by the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs, Vienna.
Doris
Uhlich

has developed her own projects since 2006. The choreographer’s work frequently focuses on examining everyday gestures but also artificial ones, such as the strict code of movement of classical ballet in SPITZE (2008) and Come Back (2012). All her performances are investigations into beauty ideals and standards of body image, as in her piece mehr als genug (2009). Since her performance more than naked (2013), Doris Uhlich has also been working on the depiction of nudity free from ideology and provocation.

Music – particularly electronic dance music, from new wave to techno – plays an important part in her explorations.  The production Every Body Electric, which premiered at Tanzquartier Wien in 2018, was this year invited to the Venice Dance Biennale and to the Bienal Sesc de Dança in São Paulo, among others. Most recently at TQW, Habitat / Halle E featured Doris Uhlich’s biggest choreography so far, in which she created a utopian space with 120 naked performers.

dorisuhlich.at

 
 
 
Gabriele
Oßwald

is a visual and performance artist. Since 1993 solo and group exhibitions and performances in Germany, Italy, Switzerland, France and Norway. In 2001 she founded together with three colleagues, a. o. with Wolfgang Sautermeister, the arts centre zeitraumexit e.V. in Mannheim. From 2007 to 2016 she worked almost exclusively there as artistic and managing director.

She considers working on and for zeitraumexit to be part of her art of living. Gabriele Oßwald was a. o. a jury member for Girls Go Movie in Mannheim and the Stuttgart Theatre Prize of the State of Baden-Württemberg. Together with Wolfgang Sautermeister she has been working on inclusive art projects. Since 2017 she has been working as a freelance curator, a. o. for the Impulse Festival,  as an artist and project manager.

 
 
 
 
Wolfgang
Sautermeister

Solo and group exhibitions since 1960. Performances in Germany, Italy, Switzerland, France and Norway since 1992. Co-founder of zeitraumexit e.V. Mannheim and member of the artistic direction until 2016. Curator of international exhibition and theatre/performance projects. Lectureships for performance and art at Heidelberg University of Education until 2016.

Visiting professor for performance and installation, Justus Liebig University Gießen 2008–2010. Since 1998 artistic director of the painting workshop for adults with disabilities at Lebenshilfe Bad Dürkheim. Numerous international exhibition projects with disabled and non-disabled artists. Lectures. Lecture performances. Many years of experience as an art educator.

wolfgang-sautermeister.de

 
Loading

stuck

Doris Uhlich / Gabriele Oßwald / Wolfgang Sautermeister
Tanz & Performance
© Torsten Mitsch  
Doris
Uhlich

entwickelt seit 2006 eigene Projekte. Im Werk der Choreografin steht die Beschäftigung mit Alltagsgesten oder auch, wie in SPITZE (2008) oder Come Back (2012), mit künstlichen Gesten – in diesen Fällen dem strikten Bewegungscode des klassischen Balletts – im Zentrum. Ihre Performances sind oft Auseinandersetzungen mit Schönheitsidealen und Körpernormen. Seit ihrem Stück more than naked (2013) beschäftigt sich Doris Uhlich in ihren Arbeiten zudem mit der Darstellung von Nacktheit jenseits von Ideologie und Provokation.

Dabei nimmt Musik – besonders elektronische Tanzmusik von New Wave bis Techno – eine wichtige Rolle ein. Die 2018 im Tanzquartier Wien uraufgeführte Produktion Every Body Electric war 2019 u. a. zur Tanzbiennale von Venedig und zur Bienal Sesc de Dança in São Paulo eingeladen. Zuletzt war im TQW Habitat / Halle E zu sehen, Doris Uhlichs bislang größte Choreografie, in der sie mit 120 nackten Menschen einen utopischen Raum schafft.

dorisuhlich.at

 
 
 
Gabriele
Oßwald

ist bildende Künstlerin und Performancekünstlerin. Seit 1993 Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen und Performances in Deutschland, Italien, Schweiz, Frankreich und Norwegen. 2001 gründete sie mit drei Kolleg*innen, u. a. mit Wolfgang Sautermeister, das Künstlerhaus zeitraumexit e.V. in Mannheim. Von 2007 bis 2016 war sie als künstlerische Leiterin und Geschäftsführerin nahezu ausschließlich dort tätig.

Die Arbeit an und für zeitraumexit betrachtet sie als Teil ihres Lebenskunstwerkes. Gabriele Oßwald war u. a. Mitglied in der Jury von Girls Go Movie in Mannheim und dem Stuttgarter Theaterpreis des Landes Baden-Württemberg und arbeitet zusammen mit Wolfgang Sautermeister an inklusiven Kunstprojekten. Seit 2017 ist sie wieder freiberuflich als Kuratorin, u. a. für das Festival Impulse in NRW, als Künstlerin sowie im Projektmanagement tätig.

 
Wolfgang
Sautermeister

Seit 1960 Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen. Seit 1992 Performances in Deutschland, Italien, Schweiz, Frankreich und Norwegen. Mitbegründer von zeitraumexit e.V. Mannheim und Mitglied der künstlerischen Leitung bis 2016. Kurator von internationalen Ausstellungs- und Theater/Performance-Projekten.

Lehraufträge für Performance und Kunst an der Pädagogischen Hochschule Heidelberg bis 2016. Gastprofessur für Performance und Installation, Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen 2008–2010. Seit 1998 künstlerischer Leiter der Malwerkstatt für erwachsene Behinderte in der Lebenshilfe Bad Dürkheim. Zahlreiche auch internationale Ausstellungsprojekte mit behinderten und nichtbehinderten Künstler*innen. Vorträge. Lecture-Performances. Langjährige Tätigkeit als Kunstvermittler.

wolfgang-sautermeister.de

Doris Uhlich / Gabriele Oßwald / Wolfgang Sautermeister
Fr24./
Sa25.+
Do30./
Fr31.+
Jan
Sa01. 
Feb
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Studios

55 Minuten, keine Pause

Bei ausverkauften Vorstellungen vergeben wir ab einer Stunde vor Vorstellungsbeginn Wartenummern für Restkarten an der Abendkassa.

Doppelticket mit Dancing’s Demons:
€ 25/20

 

 

 

stuck schenkt Zeit, über das Vorwärtsschreiten, Rückwärtsschreiten und Auf-der-Stelle-Treten nachzudenken.“ — Doris Uhlich

Gabriele Oßwald und Wolfgang Sautermeister, zwei ältere Performancekünstler*innen, Gründer*innen und ehemalige Leiter*innen des Künstlerhauses zeitraumexit in Mannheim, fragten Doris Uhlich vor zwei Jahren, ob sie Interesse an einer künstlerischen Zusammenarbeit hätte: „Ein Tanzstück mit dir als Choreografin ist noch unser Traum.“ Danach trafen sich die drei in einem Proberaum und forschten, welcher Tanz es sein könnte. Die spannendste Entdeckung war die Suche nach einem „unbeweglichen“ Tanz. Doris Uhlich konzipiert mit Gabriele Oßwald und Wolfgang Sautermeister eine Studie über Unbeweglichkeit und Stillstand. Das Duett ist eine Tanzrecherche, bewusst als intimes Bühnenereignis gesetzt und findet im kleinsten Raum im Tanzquartier Wien, dem Studio 3, statt.

„Wir mit unserer Erfahrung als bildende Künstler*innen und Performancekünstler*innen wollten uns mit dem Tanz, mit dem Fokus auf unsere Körper als Werkzeug und Medium auf ein ganz neues Feld begeben. Auch dass wir die ‚Regie‘ an jemand anderes abgeben, hat uns schon immer interessiert.“ — Gabriele Oßwald, Wolfgang Sautermeister

stuck (Adjektiv/Partizip Perfekt aus dem Englischen): gesteckt, festgefahren, geklemmt, geklebt, festgeklebt, aufgeschmissen [ugs.], blockiert, kleben geblieben

 

Credits

Choreografie
Doris Uhlich
Performance
Gabriele Oßwald, Wolfgang Sautermeister
Dramaturgische Beratung
Boris Kopeinig, Theresa Rauter
Lichtdesign
Sergio Pessanha
Soundselection
Boris Kopeinig
Kostüm
Zarah Brandl
Produktion
Sebastian Lorenz, Margot Wehinger
Presse, Kommunikation
Jonathan Hörnig
Internationale Distribution
Something Great
Eine Koproduktion von Tanzquartier Wien, insert (Theaterverein) und zeitraumexit Mannheim. Gefördert von Kunst- und Kultursektion Bundeskanzleramt Österreich, Kulturamt der Stadt Mannheim sowie Landesverband Freie Tanz- und Theaterschaffende Baden-Württemberg e. V. aus Mitteln des Ministeriums für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst des Landes Baden-Württemberg. insert (Theaterverein) wird von der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien gefördert.
Doris
Uhlich

entwickelt seit 2006 eigene Projekte. Im Werk der Choreografin steht die Beschäftigung mit Alltagsgesten oder auch, wie in SPITZE (2008) oder Come Back (2012), mit künstlichen Gesten – in diesen Fällen dem strikten Bewegungscode des klassischen Balletts – im Zentrum. Ihre Performances sind oft Auseinandersetzungen mit Schönheitsidealen und Körpernormen. Seit ihrem Stück more than naked (2013) beschäftigt sich Doris Uhlich in ihren Arbeiten zudem mit der Darstellung von Nacktheit jenseits von Ideologie und Provokation.

Dabei nimmt Musik – besonders elektronische Tanzmusik von New Wave bis Techno – eine wichtige Rolle ein. Die 2018 im Tanzquartier Wien uraufgeführte Produktion Every Body Electric war 2019 u. a. zur Tanzbiennale von Venedig und zur Bienal Sesc de Dança in São Paulo eingeladen. Zuletzt war im TQW Habitat / Halle E zu sehen, Doris Uhlichs bislang größte Choreografie, in der sie mit 120 nackten Menschen einen utopischen Raum schafft.

dorisuhlich.at

 
 
 
Gabriele
Oßwald

ist bildende Künstlerin und Performancekünstlerin. Seit 1993 Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen und Performances in Deutschland, Italien, Schweiz, Frankreich und Norwegen. 2001 gründete sie mit drei Kolleg*innen, u. a. mit Wolfgang Sautermeister, das Künstlerhaus zeitraumexit e.V. in Mannheim. Von 2007 bis 2016 war sie als künstlerische Leiterin und Geschäftsführerin nahezu ausschließlich dort tätig.

Die Arbeit an und für zeitraumexit betrachtet sie als Teil ihres Lebenskunstwerkes. Gabriele Oßwald war u. a. Mitglied in der Jury von Girls Go Movie in Mannheim und dem Stuttgarter Theaterpreis des Landes Baden-Württemberg und arbeitet zusammen mit Wolfgang Sautermeister an inklusiven Kunstprojekten. Seit 2017 ist sie wieder freiberuflich als Kuratorin, u. a. für das Festival Impulse in NRW, als Künstlerin sowie im Projektmanagement tätig.

 
Wolfgang
Sautermeister

Seit 1960 Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen. Seit 1992 Performances in Deutschland, Italien, Schweiz, Frankreich und Norwegen. Mitbegründer von zeitraumexit e.V. Mannheim und Mitglied der künstlerischen Leitung bis 2016. Kurator von internationalen Ausstellungs- und Theater/Performance-Projekten.

Lehraufträge für Performance und Kunst an der Pädagogischen Hochschule Heidelberg bis 2016. Gastprofessur für Performance und Installation, Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen 2008–2010. Seit 1998 künstlerischer Leiter der Malwerkstatt für erwachsene Behinderte in der Lebenshilfe Bad Dürkheim. Zahlreiche auch internationale Ausstellungsprojekte mit behinderten und nichtbehinderten Künstler*innen. Vorträge. Lecture-Performances. Langjährige Tätigkeit als Kunstvermittler.

wolfgang-sautermeister.de

 
Loading