Anthropophagic Trilogy: Act 2 – To Resist

Tamara Cubas (UY)
Dance & Performance
 
Tamara
Cubas

(b. 1972 in Montevideo) lived in political exile with her parents in Havana until the age of 13 before returning to her native Uruguay. The dichotomy between the individual and the collective, concepts of power and institution, decolonisation and all kinds of social and political organisation are just a few examples of the subjects Tamara Cubas tackles in her choreographic and visual projects.

Cubas studied fine arts at the University of the Republic of Uruguay’s National Faculty of Fine Arts as well as art and technology at the Utrecht School of the Arts, plus contemporary dance at the Contradanza school in Montevideo. In May 2015, she represented Uruguay at the 12th Havana Biennial with the “mass performance” Multitud.

 
Tamara Cubas (UY)
Fri26./
Sat27. 
Jan
19.30/
TQW Halle G

Ticket includes admission for Delicate Instruments
of Engagement by Alexandra Pirici at Kunsthalle Wien.

Part of TQW Reopening

“Cubas’ works not only try to think about the ‘others’ who are constructed by hegemonic forces, but also the ‘others’ of the self-empowering, decolonial processes too often lead by local, white, heterosexual, middle-class, cultural elites.” Lucía Naser/Seismopolite

Uruguayan choreographer and artist Tamara Cubas counts among the most distinctive voices on the South American performance scene, while still being largely unknown in Europe. Over 1,000 scattered planks of wood in Act 2 – To Resist provide the shaky ground for a one-hour state of emergency. The vibrations generated by the unstable surface reinforce the trance-like resistance displayed by the five dancers. They symbolise a new form of living together, liberated from superordinate authorities. The tense atmosphere drawing the audience in becomes ever more charged over the course of the performance.

To Resist is the middle part of Tamara Cubas’ Anthropophagic Trilogy, which examines three choreographic works from Brazil, the origin of the cultural anthropophagic movement established in the 1920s in answer to the European culture of dominance. To Resist is intended as an act of resistance against the commercialisation of our emotions and bodies but also against the institutionalisation and hierarchisation of human relationships.

Credits

Direction
Tamara Cubas
Light and Sounddesign
Leticia Sckrycky
Performers
Bruno Brandolino, Alina Ruiz Folini, Tamara Gómez, Mariana Marchesano, Santiago Turenne
Based on Matadouro by Marcelo Evelin.
A Key Performance production.
Tamara
Cubas

(b. 1972 in Montevideo) lived in political exile with her parents in Havana until the age of 13 before returning to her native Uruguay. The dichotomy between the individual and the collective, concepts of power and institution, decolonisation and all kinds of social and political organisation are just a few examples of the subjects Tamara Cubas tackles in her choreographic and visual projects.

Cubas studied fine arts at the University of the Republic of Uruguay’s National Faculty of Fine Arts as well as art and technology at the Utrecht School of the Arts, plus contemporary dance at the Contradanza school in Montevideo. In May 2015, she represented Uruguay at the 12th Havana Biennial with the “mass performance” Multitud.

 
 
Loading

Anthropophagische Trilogie: Act 2 – To Resist

Tamara Cubas (UY)
Tanz & Performance
Tamara Cubas to resist Tamara Cubas to resist
© Nacho Correa 
Tamara
Cubas

(geb. 1972 in Montevideo) lebte mit ihren Eltern bis zu ihrem 13. Lebensjahr im politischen Exil in Havanna, ehe sie in ihre Heimat Uruguay zurückkehrte. Die Dichotomie zwischen Individuum und Kollektiv, die Ideen von Macht und Institution, Entkolonialisierung und alle möglichen Formen sozialer und politischer Organisation sind nur einige Beispiele für die Themen, die Tamara Cubas in ihren choreografischen und

visuellen Projektenverhandelt. Cubas studierte bildende Kunst an der Nationalen Fakultät für bildende Künste der Universität der Republik Uruguay sowie Kunst und Technologie an der School of the Arts in Utrecht, außerdem zeitgenössischen Tanz an der Schule Contradanza in Montevideo. Im Mai 2015 vertrat sie Uruguay bei der 12. Havanna-Biennale mit der „Massenperformance“ Multitud.

 
Tamara Cubas (UY)
Fr26./
Sa27. 
Jan
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G
 
     
  • Fr 26. Jan
  • Sa 27. Jan
Tickets
€ 20/15/10

Im Ticket ist der Eintritt zu Delicate Instruments
of Engagement von Alexandra Pirici in der Kunsthalle Wien inkludiert.

Ihm Rahmen der TQW Neueröffnung

“Cubas’ works not only try to think about the ‘others’ who are constructed by hegemonic forces, but also the ‘others’ of the self-empowering, decolonial processes too often lead by local, white, heterosexual, middle-class, cultural elites.” Lucía Naser/Seismopolite

Die aus Uruguay stammende Choreografin und Künstlerin Tamara Cubas zählt zu den markantesten Stimmen der südamerikanischen Performanceszene – in Europa ist sie noch weitgehend unbekannt. Über 1000 verstreute Holzbretter bieten in Act 2 – To Resist den wackligen Boden für einen einstündigen Ausnahmezustand. Die erzeugten Vibrationen der instabilen Oberfläche stärken dabei den rauschhaften Widerstand der fünf Tänzer_innen. Sie versinnbildlichen eine neue Form des Zusammenlebens, befreit von übergeordneten Autoritäten. Die angespannte Atmosphäre, der sich das Publikum nicht entziehen kann, lädt sich im Lauf der Zeit immer stärker auf.

To Resist ist der mittlere Teil von Tamara Cubas’ Anthropophagie-Trilogie, in der sie drei choreografische Werke aus Brasilien, dem Ursprungsland der kulturellen Anthropophagie-Bewegung, die in den 1920er-Jahren als Antwort auf die europäische Dominanzkultur gegründet wurde, verarbeitet. To Resist versteht sich als ein Akt des Widerstands gegen die Kommerzialisierung unserer Gefühle und Körper, aber auch gegen die Institutionalisierung und Hierarchisierung menschlicher Beziehungen.

Credits

Regie
Tamara Cubas
Licht und Sounddesign
Leticia Sckrycky
Performer_innen
Bruno Brandolino, Alina Ruiz Folini, Tamara Gómez, Mariana Marchesano, Santiago Turenne
Basierend auf Matadouro von Marcelo Evelin
Eine Produktion von Key Performance.
Tamara
Cubas

(geb. 1972 in Montevideo) lebte mit ihren Eltern bis zu ihrem 13. Lebensjahr im politischen Exil in Havanna, ehe sie in ihre Heimat Uruguay zurückkehrte. Die Dichotomie zwischen Individuum und Kollektiv, die Ideen von Macht und Institution, Entkolonialisierung und alle möglichen Formen sozialer und politischer Organisation sind nur einige Beispiele für die Themen, die Tamara Cubas in ihren choreografischen und

visuellen Projektenverhandelt. Cubas studierte bildende Kunst an der Nationalen Fakultät für bildende Künste der Universität der Republik Uruguay sowie Kunst und Technologie an der School of the Arts in Utrecht, außerdem zeitgenössischen Tanz an der Schule Contradanza in Montevideo. Im Mai 2015 vertrat sie Uruguay bei der 12. Havanna-Biennale mit der „Massenperformance“ Multitud.

 
 
Loading