TANZ

A sylphic reverie in stunts
Florentina Holzinger
Dance
Florentina
Holzinger

studied choreography at the School for New Dance Development (SNDO) in Amsterdam. After many well-received cooperations with Vincent Riebeek (Kein Applaus für Scheiße and Schönheitsabend, among others) and several solo projects, she worked on a trilogy about body discipline, with which she is still on tour: Recovery, Apollon and, most recently, TANZ.

Dangerous stunts, spectacular circus acts, splatter scenes or extreme martial arts – Florentina Holzinger’s work can be situated at the intersection of high culture and so-called entertainment culture, while it can also be read as a continuous feminist manifesto. TANZ, which premiered at TQW in 2019, was the only Austrian production to be invited to Berliner Theatertreffen in 2020 and was also awarded the Nestroy for best director. Holzinger’s Étude for an Emergency. Composition for Ten Bodies and a Car was shown at Münchner Kammerspiele in 2020. As of 2021/22, Florentina Holzinger will be part of René Pollesch’s artistic team at Volksbühne Berlin.

 
Sun27. 
Jun
Following the performance/
TQW Halle G
Educational

Florentina Holzinger

Artist Talk

Educational

Following the third and last performance of TANZ, choreographer Florentina Holzinger and her co-performers will shine some light...

Florentina Holzinger
Fri25./
19.30
Jun
Sat26./
19.30
Jun
Sun27. 
18.00
Jun
TQW Halle G
 
     
  • Fri 25. Jun
  • Sat 26. Jun
  • Sun 27. Jun
€ 20/15/10

Covid-Info: What you should know before attending a performance at TQW.

1 hour 50 min, no intermission

No admission under 18 years

In some scenes self-harming acts are portrayed which could have a disturbing effect on some viewers.

As the final highlight of our season, the ‘production of the year 2020’ (Theater heute) will return to the venue where it first premiered. TANZ completes Florentina Holzinger’s trilogy about the body as a spectacle, and its disciplining. A ballet class under the direction of Beatrice Cordua, the first ballerina to dance Le sacre de printemps naked (John Neumeier’s Le Sacre, 1972), provides the framework for TANZ. The performers undergo rigorous training in “action ballet”, the so-called “sylphic studies”. In joint rituals, they learn to master their bodies and minds, and they acquire supernatural powers, such as flying. A quest for perfection in an ephemeral world, during which the gross is transformed into the sublime. In an operatic setting, brutal parodies of sensationalist images emerge, as seen in ballet, comedy and pornography. The gaze regime finds reflection in the character of a porn producer who documents the performance. With a cast of women between the ages of twenty and eighty, all of whom have different backgrounds in dance, TANZ raises the question of the legacy of dance. How can the cult of beauty inherent in this tradition be reconciled?

“Feminism, of course, has always been an exercise in science fiction.” — Laurie Penny

“In the end, radical entertainment is always the goal.” — Spike 

Credits

Concept, performance, choreography
Florentina Holzinger
Performance by and with
Renée Copraij, Beatrice Cordua, Evelyn Frantti, Lucifire, Annina Machaz, Netti Nüganen, Suzn Pasyon, Laura Stokes, Veronica Thompson, Lydia Darling
Video design, live camera
Josefin Arnell
Sound design, live sound
Stefan Schneider
Light design, technical direction
Anne Meeussen
Stage design
Nikola Knezevic
Stage assistance
Camilla Smolders
Technical assistance
Koen Vanneste
Dramaturgy
Renée Copraij, Sara Ostertag
Coaching
Ghani Minne, Dave Tusk
Music coach
Almut Lustig
Outside eye
Michele Rizzo, Fernando Belfiore
Theory, research
Anna Leon
Stunt support
Haeger Stunt & Wireworks
Stunt instructors
Stunt Cloud GmbH (Leo Plank, Phong Giang, Sandra Barger)
Management
Something Great (Berlin) & DANSCO (Amsterdam)
International distribution
Something Great (Berlin)
Executive production
Laura Andreß
Financial administration
Julia Haas / Smart (Vienna)
A co-production by
Spirit and Tanzquartier Wien, Spring Festival (Utrecht), Theater Rotterdam, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm (Frankfurt), Arsenic (Lausanne), Münchner Kammerspiele, Take Me Somewhere Festival (Glasgow), Beursschouwburg (Brussels), deSingel (Antwerp), Sophiensaele (Berlin), Frascati Productions (Amsterdam), Theater im Pumpenhaus (Münster), asphalt Festival (Düsseldorf)
Supported by O Espaço do Tempo (Montemor-o-Novo), Fondation LUMA (Arles), De Châtel Award (NL). Funded by the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs (Vienna), the Austrian Federal Ministry for Arts, Culture, the Civil Service and Sport, Performing Arts Fund NL and Norma Fonds NL. Thanks to CAMPO Ghent, ImPulsTanz, Eva Beresin, Stefanie Leitner, Tanz-Archiv MUK Wien, Stimuleringsfonds Creatieve Industrie.
Florentina
Holzinger

studied choreography at the School for New Dance Development (SNDO) in Amsterdam. After many well-received cooperations with Vincent Riebeek (Kein Applaus für Scheiße and Schönheitsabend, among others) and several solo projects, she worked on a trilogy about body discipline, with which she is still on tour: Recovery, Apollon and, most recently, TANZ.

Dangerous stunts, spectacular circus acts, splatter scenes or extreme martial arts – Florentina Holzinger’s work can be situated at the intersection of high culture and so-called entertainment culture, while it can also be read as a continuous feminist manifesto. TANZ, which premiered at TQW in 2019, was the only Austrian production to be invited to Berliner Theatertreffen in 2020 and was also awarded the Nestroy for best director. Holzinger’s Étude for an Emergency. Composition for Ten Bodies and a Car was shown at Münchner Kammerspiele in 2020. As of 2021/22, Florentina Holzinger will be part of René Pollesch’s artistic team at Volksbühne Berlin.

 
Sun27. 
Jun
Following the performance/
TQW Halle G
Educational

Florentina Holzinger

Artist Talk

Educational

Following the third and last performance of TANZ, choreographer Florentina Holzinger and her co-performers will shine some light...

 
Loading

TANZ

Eine sylphidische Träumerei in Stunts
Florentina Holzinger
Tanz
© Nada Žgank 
Florentina
Holzinger

hat Choreografie an der School for New Dance Development (SNDO) in Amsterdam studiert. Nach viel beachteten Kooperationen mit Vincent Riebeek (u. a. Kein Applaus für Scheiße, Wellness und zuletzt Schönheitsabend) und einigen Soloarbeiten erarbeitete sie eine bis heute tourende Stücktrilogie über Körperdisziplinierung: Recovery, Apollon und zuletzt TANZ.

Ob gefährliche Stunts, spektakuläre Zirkusnummern, blutige Splatterszenen oder harter Kampfsport – Florentina Holzingers Arbeiten spielen bewusst mit den sich verschiebenden Grenzen zwischen Hochkultur und sogenannter Unterhaltungskultur und sind dabei immer auch feministisches Manifest. TANZ, 2019 im TQW uraufgeführt, wurde als einzige österreichische Position zum Berliner Theatertreffen 2020 eingeladen und hat den Nestroy-Preis für die beste Regie gewonnen. 2020 war Holzingers Arbeit Étude for an Emergency. Composition for Ten Bodies and a Car an den Münchner Kammerspielen zu sehen. Ab 2021/22 wird Florentina Holzinger an der von René Pollesch geleiteten Volksbühne in Berlin arbeiten.

 
So27. 
Jun
Im Anschluss an die Vorstellung//
TQW Halle G
Vermittlung

Florentina Holzinger

Artist Talk

Vermittlung

Im Anschluss an die letzte Vorstellung erläutern Florentina Holzinger und die Performer*innen von TANZ im Gespräch mit Denice Bourbon...

Florentina Holzinger
Fr25.
So27. 
Jun
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G
€ 20/15/10

Der Ticketverkauf startet im Juni.

1 Std 50 Min, keine Pause

Ab 18 Jahren

In einigen Szenen kommen selbstverletzende Handlungen zur Darstellung, die auf manche Zuschauer*innen eine verstörende Wirkung haben könnten.

Zum Saisonabschluss kehrt die „Inszenierung des Jahres 2020“ (Theater heute) aufgrund der großen Nachfrage endlich wieder an ihren Uraufführungsort zurück. TANZ  ist der letzte Teil von Florentina Holzingers Trilogie über den Körper als Spektakel und dessen Disziplinierung. In einer Ballettklasse unter der Leitung von Beatrice Cordua, der ersten Ballerina, die Le sacre du printemps nackt tanzte (in John Neumeiers Bearbeitung Le Sacre, 1972), durchlaufen die Performer*innen eine strenge Ausbildung in „Aktionsballett“, die sogenannten „Sylphic Studies“. In gemeinsamen Ritualen lernen sie, Körper und Geist zu beherrschen, und eignen sich übernatürliche Kräfte wie das Fliegen an. Eine Suche nach Perfektion in einer vergänglichen Welt, bei der das Derbe in das Erhabene verwandelt wird. In einem opernhaften Setting zwischen Märchenwald und Hexenritual entstehen brutale Parodien auf sensationslüsterne Bilder, wie man sie aus Ballett, Komödie und Pornografie kennt. Mit einem Cast bestehend aus Frauen im Alter von zwanzig bis achtzig Jahren, die alle einen unterschiedlichen Background im Tanz haben, wirft das Stück die Frage nach dem Erbe des Tanzes auf. Wie versöhnt man sich mit dem Schönheitskult dieser Tradition?

„Feminism, of course, has always been an exercise in science-fiction.“ Laurie Penny

„Nach diesem Abend kann man nie mehr unschuldig in die Oper gehen.“  profil

„… ihr bisheriges Masterpiece …“  Der Standard

„In the end, radical entertainment is always the goal.“ Spike

Credits

Konzept, Performance, Choreografie
Florentina Holzinger
Performance von und mit
Renée Copraij, Beatrice Cordua, Evelyn Frantti, Lucifire, Annina Machaz, Netti Nüganen, Suzn Pasyon, Laura Stokes, Veronica Thompson, Lydia Darling
Videodesign, Live-Kamera
Josefin Arnell
Sounddesign, Live-Sound
Stefan Schneider
Lichtdesign, technische Leitung
Anne Meeussen
Bühnendesign
Nikola Knezevic
Bühnenassistenz
Camilla Smolders
Technische Assistenz
Koen Vanneste
Dramaturgie
Renée Copraij, Sara Ostertag
Coaching
Ghani Minne, Dave Tusk
Musikcoach
Almut Lustig
Outside-Eye
Michele Rizzo, Fernando Belfiore
Theorie, Recherche
Anna Leon
Unterstützung Stunts
Haeger Stunt & Wireworks
Stuntinstruktor*innen
Stunt Cloud GmbH (Leo Plank, Phong Giang, Sandra Barger)
Management
Something Great (Berlin) & DANSCO (Amsterdam)
Internationale Distribution
Something Great (Berlin)
Produktionsleitung
Laura Andreß
Finanzverwaltung
Julia Haas / Smart (Wien)
Eine Koproduktion von
Spirit und Tanzquartier Wien, Spring Festival (Utrecht), Theater Rotterdam, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm (Frankfurt), Arsenic (Lausanne), Münchner Kammerspiele, Take Me Somewhere Festival (Glasgow), Beursschouwburg (Brüssel), deSingel (Antwerpen), Sophiensaele (Berlin), Frascati Productions (Amsterdam), Theater im Pumpenhaus (Münster), asphalt Festival (Düsseldorf)
Unterstützt von O Espaço do Tempo (Montemor-o-Novo), Fondation LUMA (Arles), De Châtel Award (NL). Gefördert von der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien, dem Bundesministerium für Kunst, Kultur, öffentlichen Dienst und Sport, dem Performing Arts Fund NL und Norma Fonds NL. Dank an CAMPO Gent, ImPulsTanz, Eva Beresin, Stefanie Leitner, Tanz-Archiv MUK Wien, Stimuleringsfonds Creatieve Industrie.
Florentina
Holzinger

hat Choreografie an der School for New Dance Development (SNDO) in Amsterdam studiert. Nach viel beachteten Kooperationen mit Vincent Riebeek (u. a. Kein Applaus für Scheiße, Wellness und zuletzt Schönheitsabend) und einigen Soloarbeiten erarbeitete sie eine bis heute tourende Stücktrilogie über Körperdisziplinierung: Recovery, Apollon und zuletzt TANZ.

Ob gefährliche Stunts, spektakuläre Zirkusnummern, blutige Splatterszenen oder harter Kampfsport – Florentina Holzingers Arbeiten spielen bewusst mit den sich verschiebenden Grenzen zwischen Hochkultur und sogenannter Unterhaltungskultur und sind dabei immer auch feministisches Manifest. TANZ, 2019 im TQW uraufgeführt, wurde als einzige österreichische Position zum Berliner Theatertreffen 2020 eingeladen und hat den Nestroy-Preis für die beste Regie gewonnen. 2020 war Holzingers Arbeit Étude for an Emergency. Composition for Ten Bodies and a Car an den Münchner Kammerspielen zu sehen. Ab 2021/22 wird Florentina Holzinger an der von René Pollesch geleiteten Volksbühne in Berlin arbeiten.

 
So27. 
Jun
Im Anschluss an die Vorstellung//
TQW Halle G
Vermittlung

Florentina Holzinger

Artist Talk

Vermittlung

Im Anschluss an die letzte Vorstellung erläutern Florentina Holzinger und die Performer*innen von TANZ im Gespräch mit Denice Bourbon...

 
Loading