TANZ

A sylphic reverie in stunts
Florentina Holzinger
Dance & Performance
 
Florentina
Holzinger

studied choreography at the School for New Dance Development (SNDO) in Amsterdam. Kein Applaus für Scheiße (2011), the first joint production of Florentina Holzinger and Vincent Riebeek, earned them a reputation as “most provocative new choreographers” straight away.

In addition to further collaborations with Riebeek (Spirit, Wellness and, most recently, Schönheitsabend), Holzinger presented the solo Recovery in 2015, in which she processed the trauma of a serious accident she had during a performance. This was followed by Apollon, a piece in which Holzinger turned George Balanchine’s neoclassical ballet Apollon Musagète into a circus freak show with muses performing bizarre tricks rather than dancing attendance on the god.

Florentina Holzinger
Thu03.
Sat05.+
Fri11./
Sat12. 
Oct
19.30 /
TQW Halle G
 
     
  • Thu 03. Oct
  • Fri 04. Oct
  • Sat 05. Oct
  • Fri 11. Oct
  • Sat 12. Oct
€ 20/15/10

„Feminism, of course, has always been an exercise in science fiction.“ — Laurie Penny

Florentina Holzinger has enriched the international performance scene with dizzying acrobatics, muscular women’s bodies and martial-arts fight scenes since 2011 – a generous helping of pop-cultural references and a penchant for trash included. TANZ completes her trilogy – Recovery and Apollon were the first two parts – about the body as a spectacle, and its disciplining. A ballet class under the direction of Beatrice Schönherr, the first ballerina to dance Le Sacre de Printemps naked (John Neumeier’s Le Sacre, 1972), provides the framework for TANZ. The performers undergo rigorous training in “action ballet”, the so-called “sylphic studies”. In joint rituals, they learn to master their bodies and minds, and they acquire supernatural powers, such as flying. A quest for perfection in an ephemeral world, during which the gross is transformed into the sublime. In an operatic setting, brutal parodies of sensationalist images emerge, as seen in ballet, comedy and pornography. The gaze regime finds reflection in the character of a porn producer who documents the performance. With a cast of women between the ages of twenty and eighty, all of whom have different backgrounds in dance, TANZ raises the question of the legacy of dance. How can the cult of beauty inherent in this tradition be reconciled?

Credits

Concept, choreography, performance
Florentina Holzinger
Performance
Renée Copraij, Beatrice Cordua, Evelyn Frantti, Amy Kingsmill, Lucifire, Annina Lara Maria Machaz, Maria Netti Nüganen, Suzn Payson, Laura Stokes, Veronica Thompson
Live video
Josefin Arnell
Sound design, Sound technician
Stefan Schneider
Light design, Technical director
Anne Meeussen
Stage design
Nikola Knezevic
Dramaturgy
Sara Ostertag
Coaching
Btissame Amadour, Ghani Minne, Dave Tusk
Stunt support
Haeger Stunt & Wireworks
Stunt instructors
Stunt Cloud GmbH (Leo Plank, Phong Giang, Sandra Barger)
Management
Something Great (Berlin) & DANSCO (Amsterdam)
International distribution
Something Great (Berlin)
Production
Laura Andreß
Executive production
Julia Haas / SMART (Vienna)
A coproductioy by Spirit and Tanzquartier Wien, Spring Festival Utrecht, Theatre Rotterdam, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm (Frankfurt), Arsenic Lausanne, Münchner Kammerspiele, Take Me Somewhere Festival (Glasgow), Beursshouwburg (Brussels), deSingel (Antwerp), Sophiensaele (Berlin), Frascati Productions (Amsterdam), Theater im Pumpenhaus (Münster). Supported by O Espaço do Tempo / Montemor-o-Novo and Fondation LUMA (Arles). Funded by Cultural Department of the City of Vienna, Performing Arts Fund NL.
Florentina
Holzinger

studied choreography at the School for New Dance Development (SNDO) in Amsterdam. Kein Applaus für Scheiße (2011), the first joint production of Florentina Holzinger and Vincent Riebeek, earned them a reputation as “most provocative new choreographers” straight away.

In addition to further collaborations with Riebeek (Spirit, Wellness and, most recently, Schönheitsabend), Holzinger presented the solo Recovery in 2015, in which she processed the trauma of a serious accident she had during a performance. This was followed by Apollon, a piece in which Holzinger turned George Balanchine’s neoclassical ballet Apollon Musagète into a circus freak show with muses performing bizarre tricks rather than dancing attendance on the god.

 
Loading

TANZ

Eine sylphidische Träumerei in Stunts
Florentina Holzinger
Tanz & Performance
Florentina Holzinger: TANZ 
Florentina
Holzinger

hat Choreografie an der School for New Dance Development (SNDO) in Amsterdam studiert. Kein Applaus für Scheiße (2011), die erste gemeinsame Arbeit von Florentina Holzinger und Vincent Riebeek, brachte den beiden auf Anhieb den Ruf als „provokanteste Nachwuchschoreograf*innen“ ein.

Neben weiteren Kooperationen mit Riebeek (Spirit, Wellness und zuletzt Schönheitsabend) zeigte Holzinger 2015 auch das Solo Recovery, in dem sie das Trauma eines schweren Unfalls, den sie bei einer Performance erlitten hatte, verarbeitete. Darauf folgte die Arbeit Apollon, in der Holzinger George Balanchines neoklassisches Ballett Apollon musagète in eine Zirkus-Freakshow verwandelte, in der Musen bizarre Tricks aufführen, anstatt um den Gott zu tänzeln.

 
Fr11. 
Okt
20.45 Uhr/
TQW Halle G
Eintritt frei
Vermittlung

Florentina Holzinger

Artist Talk

Vermittlung

Nach der Vorstellung von TANZ gibt Florentina Holzinger im Gespräch mit der Kulturjournalistin Karin Cerny (profil) Auskunft über ihre...

Florentina Holzinger
Do03.
Sa05.+
Fr11./
Sa12. 
Okt
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G
 
     
  • Do 03. Okt
  • Fr 04. Okt
  • Sa 05. Okt
  • Fr 11. Okt
  • Sa 12. Okt
€ 20/15/10 Wahlabo

„Feminism, of course, has always been an exercise in science-fiction.“ — Laurie Penny

Seit 2011 bereichert Florentina Holzinger die internationale Performanceszene mit schwindelerregender Akrobatik, muskulösen Frauenkörpern und Martial-Arts-Kampfszenen – popkulturelle Referenzen und ein Faible für Trash kommen dabei nicht zu kurz. Mit TANZ schließt Florentina Holzinger ihre Trilogie – Recovery und Apollon waren die ersten beiden Teile – über den Körper als Spektakel und dessen Disziplinierung ab. Den Rahmen von TANZ bildet eine Ballettklasse unter der Leitung von Beatrice Schönherr, der ersten Ballerina, die Le Sacre du printemps nackt tanzte (in John Neumeiers Bearbeitung Le Sacre, 1972). Die Performer*innen durchlaufen eine strenge Ausbildung in „Aktionsballett“, die sogenannten „Sylphic Studies“. In gemeinsamen Ritualen lernen sie, Körper und Geist zu beherrschen und eignen sich übernatürliche Kräfte wie das Fliegen an. Eine Suche nach Perfektion in einer vergänglichen Welt, bei der das Derbe in das Erhabene verwandelt wird. In einem opernhaften Setting entstehen brutale Parodien auf sensationslüsterne Bilder, wie man sie aus dem Ballett, aus Komödien und aus der Pornografie kennt. Das Blickregime findet Reflexion in der Figur eines Pornoproduzenten, der die Aufführung dokumentiert. Mit einem Cast bestehend aus Frauen im Alter von zwanzig bis achtzig Jahren, die alle einen unterschiedlichen Background im Tanz haben, wirft TANZ die Frage nach dem Erbe des Tanzes auf. Wie versöhnt man sich mit dem Schönheitskult dieser Tradition?

Credits

Konzept, Choreografie, Performance
Florentina Holzinger
Performance von und mit
Renée Copraij, Beatrice Cordua, Evelyn Frantti, Lucifire, Annina Lara Maria Machaz, Maria Netti Nüganen, Suzn Payson, Laura Stokes, Veronica Thompson, tba
Livevideo
Josefin Arnell
Sounddesign, Soundtechnik
Stefan Schneider
Lichtdesign, Technische Leitung
Anne Meeussen
Bühnendesign
Nikola Knezevic
Dramaturgie
Sara Ostertag
Coaching
Btissame Amadour, Ghani Minne, Dave Tusk
Unterstützung Stunts
Haeger Stunt & Wireworks
Stuntinstruktor*innen
Stunt Cloud GmbH (Leo Plank, Phong Giang, Sandra Barger)
Management
Something Great (Berlin) & DANSCO (Amsterdam)
Internationale Distribution
Something Great (Berlin)
Produktion
Laura Andreß
Finanzverwaltung
Julia Haas / SMART (Wien)
Eine Koproduktion von Spirit mit Tanzquartier Wien, Spring Festival Utrecht, Theatre Rotterdam, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm (Frankfurt), Arsenic Lausanne, Münchner Kammerspiele, Take Me Somewhere Festival (Glasgow), Beursschouwburg (Brüssel), deSingel (Antwerpen), Sophiensaele (Berlin), Frascati Productions (Amsterdam) und Theater im Pumpenhaus (Münster). Unterstützt von O Espaço do Tempo / Montemor-o-Novo und Fondation LUMA Arles. Mit Unterstützung der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien und von Performing Arts Fund NL.
Florentina
Holzinger

hat Choreografie an der School for New Dance Development (SNDO) in Amsterdam studiert. Kein Applaus für Scheiße (2011), die erste gemeinsame Arbeit von Florentina Holzinger und Vincent Riebeek, brachte den beiden auf Anhieb den Ruf als „provokanteste Nachwuchschoreograf*innen“ ein.

Neben weiteren Kooperationen mit Riebeek (Spirit, Wellness und zuletzt Schönheitsabend) zeigte Holzinger 2015 auch das Solo Recovery, in dem sie das Trauma eines schweren Unfalls, den sie bei einer Performance erlitten hatte, verarbeitete. Darauf folgte die Arbeit Apollon, in der Holzinger George Balanchines neoklassisches Ballett Apollon musagète in eine Zirkus-Freakshow verwandelte, in der Musen bizarre Tricks aufführen, anstatt um den Gott zu tänzeln.

 
Fr11. 
Okt
20.45 Uhr/
TQW Halle G
Eintritt frei
Vermittlung

Florentina Holzinger

Artist Talk

Vermittlung

Nach der Vorstellung von TANZ gibt Florentina Holzinger im Gespräch mit der Kulturjournalistin Karin Cerny (profil) Auskunft über ihre...

 
Loading