The Caldeirão Highlanders

Exercises in Fictional Anthropology
Vera Mantero (PT)
Lecture Performance
Slideshow
© Humberto Araújo 
Vera
Mantero

studied classical dance and was part of Ballet Gulbenkian in Lisbon for five years. Her breakthrough performances, drawing on female icons like Manet’s Olympia or Josephine Baker, received international critical acclaim in the 1990s. She has choreographed many ensemble and solo pieces for theatres and festivals in Europe, South America, Canada, Singapore, South Korea and the United States since then. In recent years, her work has mainly dealt with issues concerning ecology and sustainability.

She teaches composition and improvisation on a regular basis at institutions in Portugal and abroad. She has starred in performances and improvisational pieces by artists such as Meg Stuart, Steve Paxton or Mark Tompkins. She was also invited to take part in Boris Charmatz’s 20 Dancers for the 20th Century. Vera Mantero and sculptor Ruis Chafes also represented Portugal at the 26. Sao Paulo Biennale (2004) with Eating your heart out. In 2009, Lisbon’s Culturgest dedicated a retrospective to her work. Her artistic works have received many awards: the Portuegese cultural ministry’s Prémio Almada in 2002, and the lifetime achievement award Prémio Gulbenkian Arte in 2009.

 
Thu07. 
Mar
20.30/
TQW Halle G
Educational

Vera Mantero

Artist Talk

Educational

Following the performance of The Caldeirão Highlanders – Exercises in Fictional Anthropology Vera Mantero will discuss her work with Rio...

Vera Mantero (PT)
Thu07. 
Mar
19.30/
TQW Halle G

In English

The performance will be followed by an Artist Talk with Vera Mantero and Rio Rutzinger.

„The whole piece is peopled by voices that come from afar… “ — Vera Mantero

The title of The Caldeirão Highlanders – Exercises in Fictional Anthropology already alludes to the name of this lonely region in the south of Portugal – the Caldeirão Highlands. More and more people have started to leave this region. A quiet unfolds in places where people used to talk, sing and work. A quiet Vera Mantero confronts in her lecture performance with her own video material as well as with recordings by music ethnologist Michel Giacommetti and texts by authors such as Antonin Artaud. However, from which sources have these materials been extracted that might help to shed light on traditional provincial practices and realities? Mantero also addresses these issues with vigour and a touch of irony. She dedicates her singing and dancing not only to the audience in front of her but also to the few remaining inhabitants of Serra do Caldeirão. Mantero’s work is a vibrant, poetic homage to lost knowledge that once ran through body and soul, daily life and the arts – knowledge we need to regain.

Watch trailer

Credits

Concept and performance
Vera Mantero
Lighting design
Hugo Coelho, Vera Mantero
Video script and images
Vera Mantero
Video editing
Hugo Coelho, Vera Mantero
Video excerpts from Michel Giacometti’s complete film works
Salir (Serra do Caldeirão), Cava da Manta (Coimbra), Dornelas (Coimbra), Teixoso (Covilhã), Manhouce (Viseu), Córdova de S. Pedro Paus (Viseu), Portimão (Algarve)
Text excerpts from
Antonin Artaud, Eduardo Viveiros de Castro, Jacques Prévert und Vera Mantero
Artistic Residences
Centro de Experimentação Artística – Lugar Comum, Fábrica da Pólvora de Barcarena, Câmara Municipal de Oeiras, DeVIR/CaPA, Faro
Production
O Rumo do Fumo
Coproduction
DeVIR/CaPA
Acknowledgment
Editora Tradisom
A commission for Encontros do DeVIR BY DeVIR/CAPa/Faro.

O Rumo do Fumo is supported by República Portuguesa – Cultura, DGArtes – Direcção Geral das Artes
Vera
Mantero

studied classical dance and was part of Ballet Gulbenkian in Lisbon for five years. Her breakthrough performances, drawing on female icons like Manet’s Olympia or Josephine Baker, received international critical acclaim in the 1990s. She has choreographed many ensemble and solo pieces for theatres and festivals in Europe, South America, Canada, Singapore, South Korea and the United States since then. In recent years, her work has mainly dealt with issues concerning ecology and sustainability.

She teaches composition and improvisation on a regular basis at institutions in Portugal and abroad. She has starred in performances and improvisational pieces by artists such as Meg Stuart, Steve Paxton or Mark Tompkins. She was also invited to take part in Boris Charmatz’s 20 Dancers for the 20th Century. Vera Mantero and sculptor Ruis Chafes also represented Portugal at the 26. Sao Paulo Biennale (2004) with Eating your heart out. In 2009, Lisbon’s Culturgest dedicated a retrospective to her work. Her artistic works have received many awards: the Portuegese cultural ministry’s Prémio Almada in 2002, and the lifetime achievement award Prémio Gulbenkian Arte in 2009.

 
Thu07. 
Mar
20.30/
TQW Halle G
Educational

Vera Mantero

Artist Talk

Educational

Following the performance of The Caldeirão Highlanders – Exercises in Fictional Anthropology Vera Mantero will discuss her work with Rio...

 
Loading

The Caldeirão Highlanders

Exercises in Fictional Anthropology
Vera Mantero (PT)
Lecture-Performance
© Humberto Araújo 
Vera
Mantero

studierte klassischen Tanz und war fünf Jahre Mitglied des Ballet Gulbenkian in Lissabon. In den 1990er-Jahren feierte sie mit ihren bahnbrechenden Arbeiten über weibliche Ikonen wie Manets Olympia und Josephine Baker ihren internationalen Durchbruch. Seither hat sie zahlreiche Ensemblearbeiten und Solos choreografiert, die in Theatern und auf Festivals in Europa, Südamerika, Kanada, Singapur, Südkorea und den USA gezeigt worden sind. In den letzten Jahren behandelt sie in ihrem Schaffen verstärkt Themen wie Ökologie und Nachhaltigkeit.

Sie unterrichtet regelmäßig Komposition und Improvisation in Portugal und international und performt in Improvisationsprojekten von u. a. Meg Stuart, Steve Paxton oder Mark Tompkins. Vera Mantero wurde von Boris Charmatz zu 20 Dancers for the 20th Century eingeladen. Gemeinsam mit dem Bildhauer Rui Chafes repräsentierte sie Portugal 2004 bei der 26. Biennale von São Paulo mit der Arbeit Eating your heart out, 2009 widmete ihr Culturgest in Lissabon eine Retrospektive. Ihre künstlerische Arbeit wurde mit zahlreichen Preisen gewürdigt: 2002 erhielt sie den vom portugiesischen Kulturministerium vergebenen Prémio Almada, 2009 den Prémio Gulbenkian Arte für ihr Lebenswerk.

 
Do07. 
Mär
20.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G
Vermittlung

Vera Mantero

Artist Talk

Vermittlung

Im Anschluss an die Vorstellung von The Caldeirão Highlanders – Exercises in Fictional Anthropology gibt Vera Mantero im Gespräch...

Vera Mantero (PT)
Do07. 
Mär
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G

In englischer Sprache

Artist Talk mit Vera Mantero im Anschluss an die Vorstellung. Moderation: Rio Rutzinger

„The whole piece is peopled by voices that come from afar… “ — Vera Mantero

The Caldeirão Highlanders – Exercises in Fictional Anthropology nimmt Bezug auf eine verlassene Region im Süden Portugals – die Caldeirão-Berge. Immer mehr Menschen wandern aus der Region ab. Dort, wo früher gesprochen, gesungen und gearbeitet wurde, ist es still geworden. Dieser Stille wirkt Vera Mantero in ihrer Lecture-Performance entgegen, indem sie eigenes Videomaterial mit Aufnahmen des Musikethnologen Michel Giacometti und Texten von u. a. Antonin Artaud kombiniert. Was aber sind die exakten Quellen dieses Materials, mit dem traditionelle ländliche Praktiken und Lebensgrundlagen beleuchtet werden? Mit feiner Ironie spielt Mantero auch mit dieser Frage. Sie singt und tanzt für das Publikum und für die wenigen Bewohner*innen der Serra do Caldeirão, die noch übrig sind. Eine kraftvolle, poetische Hommage auf das verlorene Wissen, das Körper und Geist, Alltag und Kunst verbindet – ein Wissen, das wir uns zurückholen sollten.

Trailer

Credits

Konzept, Performance
Vera Mantero
Lichtdesign
Hugo Coelho, Vera Mantero
Videoskript, Fotos
Vera Mantero
Videoschnitt
Hugo Coelho, Vera Mantero
Videoausschnitte aus Michel Giacomettis filmischem Gesamtwerk
Salir (Serra do Caldeirão), Cava da Manta (Coimbra), Dornelas (Coimbra), Teixoso (Covilhã), Manhouce (Viseu), Córdova de S. Pedro Paus (Viseu), Portimão (Algarve)
Auszüge aus Texten von
Antonin Artaud, Eduardo Viveiros de Castro, Jacques Prévert und Vera Mantero
Artist-Residencies
Centro de Experimentação Artística – Lugar Comum, Fábrica da Pólvora de Barcarena, Câmara Municipal de Oeiras, DeVIR/CaPA, Faro
Produktion
O Rumo do Fumo
Koproduktion
DeVIR/CaPA
Dank an
Editora Tradisom
Im Auftrag von Encontros do DeVIR BY DeVIR/CAPa, Faro.

O Rumo do Fumo wird unterstützt von República Portuguesa – Cultura, DGArtes – Direção Geral das Artes.
Vera
Mantero

studierte klassischen Tanz und war fünf Jahre Mitglied des Ballet Gulbenkian in Lissabon. In den 1990er-Jahren feierte sie mit ihren bahnbrechenden Arbeiten über weibliche Ikonen wie Manets Olympia und Josephine Baker ihren internationalen Durchbruch. Seither hat sie zahlreiche Ensemblearbeiten und Solos choreografiert, die in Theatern und auf Festivals in Europa, Südamerika, Kanada, Singapur, Südkorea und den USA gezeigt worden sind. In den letzten Jahren behandelt sie in ihrem Schaffen verstärkt Themen wie Ökologie und Nachhaltigkeit.

Sie unterrichtet regelmäßig Komposition und Improvisation in Portugal und international und performt in Improvisationsprojekten von u. a. Meg Stuart, Steve Paxton oder Mark Tompkins. Vera Mantero wurde von Boris Charmatz zu 20 Dancers for the 20th Century eingeladen. Gemeinsam mit dem Bildhauer Rui Chafes repräsentierte sie Portugal 2004 bei der 26. Biennale von São Paulo mit der Arbeit Eating your heart out, 2009 widmete ihr Culturgest in Lissabon eine Retrospektive. Ihre künstlerische Arbeit wurde mit zahlreichen Preisen gewürdigt: 2002 erhielt sie den vom portugiesischen Kulturministerium vergebenen Prémio Almada, 2009 den Prémio Gulbenkian Arte für ihr Lebenswerk.

 
Do07. 
Mär
20.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G
Vermittlung

Vera Mantero

Artist Talk

Vermittlung

Im Anschluss an die Vorstellung von The Caldeirão Highlanders – Exercises in Fictional Anthropology gibt Vera Mantero im Gespräch...

 
Loading