The past is a foreign country

a landscape in 4 scenes
Michikazu Matsune (JP/AT) / Jun Yang (CN/AT)
Performance
© Matsune & Yang / Photo: Elsa Okazaki 
Michikazu
Matsune,

born in Kobe, Japan, and based in Vienna, is an artist who performs in various situations and spaces such as the stage as well as in public and private spaces. His work is concerned with the relationship between factual and emotional statements and their inherent meaning. Matsune blends narratives, images and dance in his characteristic style that touches on highly sensitive issues with a sense of humour and critical thinking. Recent performances include Dance, if you want to enter my country! (2015), which is based on a bizarre true story of an African American dancer who was forced to dance in order to prove his profession at a passport control. Goodbye (2016) features farewell letters written by famous and anonymous people. All Together (2018), joined on stage by Frans Poelstra and Elizabeth Ward, explores stories of people who for some reason cannot be present to see the performance.

michikazumatsune.info

Jun
Yang,

born in Qingtian, Mainland China, is an artist based in Vienna, Taipei and Yokohama. His work encompasses a variety of mediums including film, installation, performance and projects in public spaces, while simultaneously addressing institutions, societies and audiences. Having grown up and lived in various cultural contexts, his artistic work examines the influence of clichés and media images on identity politics. His current exhibition, Jun Yang – Der Künstler, das Werk und die Ausstellung, is on view at Kunsthaus Graz from 15 February until 19 May 2019. His work is also part of the exhibition Chinese Whisper at MAK Wien (30 January – 26 May 2019). Previous exhibitions include the Biennale of Sydney 2018, the Gwangju Biennale 2018 and 2012, the Taipei Biennial 2008, the Liverpool Biennial 2006, the 51st Biennale di Venezia 2005, and the Manifesta 4 in 2002. He is recipient of the 25th Otto Mauer Award in 2005 and the Award for Fine Arts of the City of Vienna in 2017.

junyang.info

Michikazu Matsune (JP/AT) / Jun Yang (CN/AT)
Thu21.
Sat23. 
Mar
19.30 /
TQW Studios
 
     
  • Thu 21. Mar
  • Fri 22. Mar
  • Sat 23. Mar
€ 15/10

Ticket combo: With the ticket for Yabba the performance The past is a foreign country is only € 5. Available at the TQW box office and in our webshop.

“The past is a foreign country. They do things differently there.” — L. P. Hartley

The past is a foreign country deals with the stories of two men whose conflict, understanding and friendship is forged in territories and borders with varying topography – sea, land and outer space. Combining photographic panels and narrative stories (based on the traditional Japanese picture-show style called Kamishibai), this performance examines the political contexts around East Asian border conflicts since the 17th century and the ocean as the realm of absolute freedom. The featured stories also touch on historic events such as the 1969 moon landing of the two NASA astronauts as well as the 2018 summit between North and South Korean leaders. Artists Michikazu Matsune and Jun Yang, who have both been working across different cultural settings, poetically bridge the divide between the present and the past, political and personal, national and individual.

The installation version of the performance is presented as part of the exhibition Jun Yang – the Artist, the Work and the Exhibtion until 19 May at Kunsthaus Graz. Find out more

Credits

A project by Michikazu Matsune and Jun Yang. In cooperation with Kunsthaus Graz and Tanzquartier Wien. With kind support by the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs, Vienna, and the Arts and Culture Division of the Federal Chancellery of Austria. First presented at Gwangju Biennale 2018.
Michikazu
Matsune,

born in Kobe, Japan, and based in Vienna, is an artist who performs in various situations and spaces such as the stage as well as in public and private spaces. His work is concerned with the relationship between factual and emotional statements and their inherent meaning. Matsune blends narratives, images and dance in his characteristic style that touches on highly sensitive issues with a sense of humour and critical thinking. Recent performances include Dance, if you want to enter my country! (2015), which is based on a bizarre true story of an African American dancer who was forced to dance in order to prove his profession at a passport control. Goodbye (2016) features farewell letters written by famous and anonymous people. All Together (2018), joined on stage by Frans Poelstra and Elizabeth Ward, explores stories of people who for some reason cannot be present to see the performance.

michikazumatsune.info

Jun
Yang,

born in Qingtian, Mainland China, is an artist based in Vienna, Taipei and Yokohama. His work encompasses a variety of mediums including film, installation, performance and projects in public spaces, while simultaneously addressing institutions, societies and audiences. Having grown up and lived in various cultural contexts, his artistic work examines the influence of clichés and media images on identity politics. His current exhibition, Jun Yang – Der Künstler, das Werk und die Ausstellung, is on view at Kunsthaus Graz from 15 February until 19 May 2019. His work is also part of the exhibition Chinese Whisper at MAK Wien (30 January – 26 May 2019). Previous exhibitions include the Biennale of Sydney 2018, the Gwangju Biennale 2018 and 2012, the Taipei Biennial 2008, the Liverpool Biennial 2006, the 51st Biennale di Venezia 2005, and the Manifesta 4 in 2002. He is recipient of the 25th Otto Mauer Award in 2005 and the Award for Fine Arts of the City of Vienna in 2017.

junyang.info

 
Loading

The past is a foreign country

a landscape in 4 scenes
Michikazu Matsune (JP/AT) / Jun Yang (CN/AT)
Performance
© Matsune & Yang / Foto: Elsa Okazaki 
Michikazu
Matsune,

geboren in Kobe (Japan), lebt und arbeitet in Wien. Er performt in verschiedenen Situationen und an unterschiedlichen Orten, sei es auf der Bühne, an öffentlichen Plätzen oder auch privaten Orten. Matsunes Arbeit beschäftigt sich mit der Beziehung von faktischen und emotionalen Statements und deren inhärenten Bedeutungen. Erzählungen, Bilder und Tanz werden auf eine charakteristische Weise vermischt und verhandeln hochsensible Themen humorvoll und kritisch. Dance, if you want to enter my country! (2015) etwa basiert auf der bizarren, aber wahren Geschichte eines afro-amerikanischen Tänzers, der bei einer Passkontrolle gezwungen wurde zu tanzen, um seine professionelle Tätigkeit zu beweisen. Goodbye (2016) enthielt Abschiedsbriefe prominenter und anonymer Personen. All Together (2018), mit Frans Poelstra und Elizabeth Ward, untersucht die Geschichten von Personen, die aus bestimmten Gründen nicht anwesend sein können, um die Performance zu sehen.

michikazumatsune.info

Jun
Yang,

geboren in Qingtian (Volksrepublik China), lebt und arbeitet in Wien, Taipei und Yokohama. Seine Arbeit umfasst eine Vielzahl von Medien einschließlich Film, Installation, Performance. Geprägt durch sein Leben in unterschiedlichen kulturellen Kontexten untersucht er in seinem künstlerischen Schaffen den Einfluss von Klischees und medialen Bildern auf Identitätspolitiken. Aktuell widmet ihm das Kunsthaus Graz eine Einzelausstellung. Jun Yang – Der Künstler, das Werk und die Ausstellung ist von 15. Februar bis 19. Mai 2019 in Graz zu sehen. Zudem ist Jun Yang in der Ausstellung Chinese Whisper im MAK Wien (30. Januar bis 26. Mai 2019) mit Arbeiten vertreten. Frühere Ausstellungen umfassen die Biennale Sydney 2018, die Gwangju Biennale 2012 und 2018, die Taipei Biennale 2008, die Liverpool Biennale 2006, die 51. Biennale di Venezia 2005, und die Manifesta 4 (2002). Jun Yang wurde mit dem 25. Otto-Mauer-Preis (2005) und dem Preis der Stadt Wien für bildende Kunst (2017) ausgezeichnet.

junyang.info

Michikazu Matsune (JP/AT) / Jun Yang (CN/AT)
Do21.
Sa23. 
Mär
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Studios
 
     
  • Do 21. Mär
  • Fr 22. Mär
  • Sa 23. Mär
€ 15/10

Kombiangebot: Mit dem Ticket für Yabba kostet The past is a foreign country nur € 5. Erhältlich an der TQW Kassa und im Webshop.

„The past is a foreign country. They do things differently there.“ — L. P. Hartley

The past is a foreign country handelt von den Geschichten zweier Männer, deren Konflikt, Verständnis und Freundschaft sich in Landschaften und Grenzgebieten verschiedener Topografien – Meer, Land und Weltraum – widerspiegeln. Mithilfe von Fotoschildern und Erzählungen (inspiriert vom traditionellen japanischen Bildererzähltheater Kamishibai) untersucht die Arbeit politische Zusammenhänge rund um die ostasiatischen Grenzkonflikte seit dem 17. Jahrhundert und den Ozean als Reich der absoluten Freiheit. Die Performance streift historische Ereignisse wie die Mondlandung 1969 oder auch das Treffen der politischen Spitzen Nord- und Südkoreas 2018. Die beiden Künstler Michikazu Matsune und Jun Yang schlagen eine poetische Brücke zwischen der Gegenwart und der Vergangenheit, der Politik und dem Persönlichen, dem Nationalen und dem Individuellen.

Im Rahmen der Ausstellung Jun Yang – Der Künstler, das Werk und die Ausstellung ist die installative Version der Performance bis 19. Mai im Kunsthaus Graz zu sehen. Details

 

Credits

Ein Projekt von Michikazu Matsune und Jun Yang in Kooperation mit Kunsthaus Graz und Tanzquartier Wien. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien und des Bundeskanzleramts, Abteilung Kunst und Kultur. Erstmals präsentiert im Rahmen der Gwangju Biennale 2018.
Michikazu
Matsune,

geboren in Kobe (Japan), lebt und arbeitet in Wien. Er performt in verschiedenen Situationen und an unterschiedlichen Orten, sei es auf der Bühne, an öffentlichen Plätzen oder auch privaten Orten. Matsunes Arbeit beschäftigt sich mit der Beziehung von faktischen und emotionalen Statements und deren inhärenten Bedeutungen. Erzählungen, Bilder und Tanz werden auf eine charakteristische Weise vermischt und verhandeln hochsensible Themen humorvoll und kritisch. Dance, if you want to enter my country! (2015) etwa basiert auf der bizarren, aber wahren Geschichte eines afro-amerikanischen Tänzers, der bei einer Passkontrolle gezwungen wurde zu tanzen, um seine professionelle Tätigkeit zu beweisen. Goodbye (2016) enthielt Abschiedsbriefe prominenter und anonymer Personen. All Together (2018), mit Frans Poelstra und Elizabeth Ward, untersucht die Geschichten von Personen, die aus bestimmten Gründen nicht anwesend sein können, um die Performance zu sehen.

michikazumatsune.info

Jun
Yang,

geboren in Qingtian (Volksrepublik China), lebt und arbeitet in Wien, Taipei und Yokohama. Seine Arbeit umfasst eine Vielzahl von Medien einschließlich Film, Installation, Performance. Geprägt durch sein Leben in unterschiedlichen kulturellen Kontexten untersucht er in seinem künstlerischen Schaffen den Einfluss von Klischees und medialen Bildern auf Identitätspolitiken. Aktuell widmet ihm das Kunsthaus Graz eine Einzelausstellung. Jun Yang – Der Künstler, das Werk und die Ausstellung ist von 15. Februar bis 19. Mai 2019 in Graz zu sehen. Zudem ist Jun Yang in der Ausstellung Chinese Whisper im MAK Wien (30. Januar bis 26. Mai 2019) mit Arbeiten vertreten. Frühere Ausstellungen umfassen die Biennale Sydney 2018, die Gwangju Biennale 2012 und 2018, die Taipei Biennale 2008, die Liverpool Biennale 2006, die 51. Biennale di Venezia 2005, und die Manifesta 4 (2002). Jun Yang wurde mit dem 25. Otto-Mauer-Preis (2005) und dem Preis der Stadt Wien für bildende Kunst (2017) ausgezeichnet.

junyang.info

 
Loading