TransLate 2

Katherina T. Zakravsky
Lab presentation
© Katherina T. Zakravsky 
Katherina T.
Zakravsky,

performance and conceptual artist, philosopher, author, project developer working at the intersection of science (physics, biology), social activism (ecology, urban life styles), art, spirituality and popular culture (science fiction, TV series, social media and transmedial cults).

Katherina T. Zakravsky
Sat21. 
Mar
17.00/
TQW Studios

+++ Event cancelled +++

More info

If we want to cherish language diversity, we must cultivate practices of translation. From and into all kinds of “mother tongues”, idiolects, media, styles. Not only vague analogies are to blame, but also the “natural-cultural coevolution” which has brought about the extinction of language diversity. The slow but steady disappearance of this linguistic and symbolic ecology is prompted by the overpowering dynamics of the all-encompassing use of the English language. If one were to change these dynamics, one would feel the need to appreciate language diversity again and one would have to face the relative untranslatability of this diversity. But to master this art, to fight fire with fire, means that not only historical national and regional languages have to be part of this task but also styles and codes of nonverbal expression and perception (movement, sound, space, etc.). As a follow-up to the lab TransLate 2006 and its starting point with Walter Benjamin, we will engage with translations from and into German, English and Russian and we will fend off the age of disruption of incompatible styles of life, thought and language with humour, wit and magic; not to be engulfed by the machinery of mere consensus.

The lab TransLate 2 takes place from 16 to 20 March.

Credits

Participants
KT Zakravsky/ZAK RAY, Oleg Soulimenko, Roland Rauschmeier, Anne Juren, Irina Sandomirskaja, Sabine Dengscherz, Waltraud Kolb
Katherina T.
Zakravsky,

performance and conceptual artist, philosopher, author, project developer working at the intersection of science (physics, biology), social activism (ecology, urban life styles), art, spirituality and popular culture (science fiction, TV series, social media and transmedial cults).

 
Loading

TransLate 2

Katherina T. Zakravsky
Laborpräsentation
© Katherina T. Zakravsky 
Katherina T.
Zakravsky,

Performance- und Konzeptkünstlerin, Philosophin, Autorin, Projektentwicklerin an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft (Physik, Biologie), sozialem Aktivismus (Ökologie, urbane Lebensstile), Kunst, Spiritualität und Populärkultur (Science-Fiction, TV-Serien, soziale Medien und transmediale Kulte).

Katherina T. Zakravsky
Sa21. 
Mär
17 Uhr/
TQW Studios
Eintritt frei

Wollen wir die Diversität der Sprachen ehren, müssen wir die Übersetzung pflegen. Zwischen „Muttersprachen“, Idiolekten, Medien, Stilen. Nicht nur in vager Analogie, sondern im Sinne der „natürlich-kulturellen Koevolution“ schwindet die Vielfalt der Sprachen ebenso wie die der Arten. Die extreme Verarmung dieser linguistischen und symbolischen Ökologie geht mit der erdrückenden Macht der einen Verkehrssprache Englisch einher. Will man dem etwas entgegensetzen, muss man wieder verschiedene Sprachen würdigen und sich dem Problem ihrer relativen Unübersetzbarkeit stellen. Und diese Kunst, einen Abgrund gleichsam mit einem Abgrund zu überbrücken, betrifft nicht nur historische National- und Regionalsprachen, sondern auch Stile und Codes der nonverbalen Expression und Perzeption (Bewegung, Klang, Raumgestaltung etc.). In Anlehnung an das Labor TransLate 2006, das seinen Ausgangspunkt bei der Lektüre von Walter Benjamin nahm, werden wir uns mit Übersetzungen zwischen Deutsch, Englisch und Russisch befassen und versuchen, dem anbrechenden Zeitalter der Disruption inkompatibler Lebens-, Denk- und Sprachstile mit Humor, Witz und Magie, nicht mit bleischweren Konsensmaschinen zu begegnen.

Das Labor TransLate 2 findet von 16. bis 20. März statt.

Credits

Teilnehmer*innen
KT Zakravsky/ZAK RAY, Oleg Soulimenko, Roland Rauschmeier, Anne Juren, Irina Sandomirskaja u. a.
Katherina T.
Zakravsky,

Performance- und Konzeptkünstlerin, Philosophin, Autorin, Projektentwicklerin an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft (Physik, Biologie), sozialem Aktivismus (Ökologie, urbane Lebensstile), Kunst, Spiritualität und Populärkultur (Science-Fiction, TV-Serien, soziale Medien und transmediale Kulte).

 
Loading