Unspelling

Andrea Maurer
Performance
© Andrea Mauer 
Andrea
Maurer

lives and works in Vienna. She examines, dissects and twists connections between language, reality and perception in mostly performative and/or installative formats. She realised many projects with the studio 5 collective between 2007 and 2013. Her piece Gesprächsgegenstände (2013) won the Media Art Award of the State of Salzburg.

She was awarded the H13 Performance Prize, sponsored by Kunstraum Niederoesterreich, in 2016 for SELBSTZERLEGUNG. The Austrian daily Der Standard described her as “highly adept in taking language, symbols and meanings apart. The topics addressed by her cleverly take the logic of everyday communication to the point of absurdity”.

andreamaurer.at

Andrea Maurer
Thu14.
Sat16. 
Nov
19.30/
TQW Studios

Duration: 50 minutes

Combined ticket: with the ticket for I’m Gonna Need Another One only € 5

“concrete fake poetry news” — The New York Times

We reclaim the meaning of words and build the foundation for our own house. Our voices comprise many tongues. Unspelling is a performative text montage in which Andrea Maurer, Sara Manente, Lissie Rettenwander and Bruno Pocheron hijack the language of newspapers. In a deconstructive manner, they penetrate the inner workings of sentence structures and abduct words in order to set them free. Posing as miners of and intruders into the order of language, they do not only lay a finger on language, but they also illustrate what the eye, the foot, the tongue and the ear can do. They exit the space of mutual intelligibility. Headlines serve as the basis for language material, keywords are being perforated, and paragraphs will be hollowed out. Unspelling dissects in order to create new links, to monitor and compose: One person reads, a word falls under the table, the leg of the chair is made to hit in time, a shoe hurtles through the air, the lights go down.

Credits

Concept
Andrea Maurer
Performed and created by
Andrea Maurer, Sara Manente, Lissie Rettenwander
Texts
Andrea Maurer, Sara Manente
Music
Lissie Rettenwander
Space, Objects
Andrea Maurer
Dramaturgical advice
Camille Chanel
Light design, Technical support
Bruno Pocheron
Asstistance space
Alina Amman
A coproduction by Andrea Maurer/studio 5 and Tanzquartier Wien. With support from the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs, Vienna.
Andrea
Maurer

lives and works in Vienna. She examines, dissects and twists connections between language, reality and perception in mostly performative and/or installative formats. She realised many projects with the studio 5 collective between 2007 and 2013. Her piece Gesprächsgegenstände (2013) won the Media Art Award of the State of Salzburg.

She was awarded the H13 Performance Prize, sponsored by Kunstraum Niederoesterreich, in 2016 for SELBSTZERLEGUNG. The Austrian daily Der Standard described her as “highly adept in taking language, symbols and meanings apart. The topics addressed by her cleverly take the logic of everyday communication to the point of absurdity”.

andreamaurer.at

 
Loading

Unspelling

Andrea Maurer
Performance
© Andrea Mauer 
Andrea
Maurer

lebt und arbeitet in Wien. Sie behandelt, zerlegt und verdreht in zumeist performativen und/oder installativen Formaten Zusammenhänge von Sprache, Wirklichkeit und Wahrnehmung. Mit dem Kollektiv studio 5 hat sie von 2007 bis 2013 zahlreiche Projekte umgesetzt. Ihre Arbeit Gesprächsgegenstände (2013) wurde mit dem Salzburger Landespreis für Medienkunst ausgezeichnet.

Für die Performance SELBSTZERLEGUNG erhielt sie 2016 den H13 Preis für Performance des Kunstraum Niederoesterreich. Der Standard bezeichnete sie als „Meisterin der Sprach-, Zeichen- und Bedeutungszerlegung“, deren „Gesprächsgegenstände die Logik der Gebrauchskommunikation mit Witz ad absurdum führen“.

andreamaurer.at

Andrea Maurer
Do14.
Sa16. 
Nov
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Studios

Dauer: 50 Minuten

Kombiangebot: mit einem Ticket für I’m Gonna Need Another One nur € 5

„concrete fake poetry news“ — The New York Times

Wir stehlen uns die Wörter zurück und bauen unser eigenes Haus. Unsere Stimmen sprechen in vielen Zungen. Unspelling ist eine performative Textmontage, in der Andrea Maurer, Sara Manente, Lissie Rettenwander und Bruno Pocheron Sprache aus Zeitungen kapern. Sie graben sich zerlegerisch unter die Oberfläche, in das Innere von Sätzen hinein und entführen Wörter, um sie freizusetzen. Als Materialarbeiter*innen und Störer*innen der Sprachordnung legen sie nicht nur Hand an, sondern auch Auge und Fuß und Zunge und Ohr. Sie verlassen den Rahmen vereinbarter Verständlichkeit. Aus Schlagzeilen wird das Sprachmaterial herausgeschlagen, Schlagwörter werden durchlöchert, Absätze ausgehöhlt. Unspelling zerlegt, um neu zu verknüpfen, zu montieren und zu komponieren: Eine liest, ein Begriff fällt unter den Tisch, das Stuhlbein schlägt im Takt, ein Schuh fliegt durch die Luft, das Licht geht aus.

Credits

Konzept
Andrea Maurer
Entwicklung, Performance
Andrea Maurer, Sara Manente, Lissie Rettenwander
Texte
Andrea Maurer, Sara Manente
Musik
Lissie Rettenwander
Raum, Objekte
Andrea Maurer
Dramaturgische Begleitung
Camille Chanel
Lichtdesign, technische Unterstützung
Bruno Pocheron
Assistenz Raum
Alina Amman
Eine Koproduktion von Andrea Maurer/studio 5 und Tanzquartier Wien. Gefördert durch die Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien.
Andrea
Maurer

lebt und arbeitet in Wien. Sie behandelt, zerlegt und verdreht in zumeist performativen und/oder installativen Formaten Zusammenhänge von Sprache, Wirklichkeit und Wahrnehmung. Mit dem Kollektiv studio 5 hat sie von 2007 bis 2013 zahlreiche Projekte umgesetzt. Ihre Arbeit Gesprächsgegenstände (2013) wurde mit dem Salzburger Landespreis für Medienkunst ausgezeichnet.

Für die Performance SELBSTZERLEGUNG erhielt sie 2016 den H13 Preis für Performance des Kunstraum Niederoesterreich. Der Standard bezeichnete sie als „Meisterin der Sprach-, Zeichen- und Bedeutungszerlegung“, deren „Gesprächsgegenstände die Logik der Gebrauchskommunikation mit Witz ad absurdum führen“.

andreamaurer.at

 
Loading