Wer will kann gehen

JohnPlayerSpezial 1999–2019, a comeback Barbara Kraus 1990–2020, an inventory
Barbara Kraus
Performance/Happening/Party
© Robert Polster 
Barbara
Kraus

is a performance artist with many aliases (her accomplices) who lives and works in Vienna. She studied at the Academy of Arts / SNDO in Amsterdam. Since obtaining her diploma in 1994, she has continuously created performances, tests and improvisations inspired by questions of a social, political, philosophical, feminist and ecological nature. Her 2012 life art performance dream and walk about saw her crossing the Alps, on foot from Vienna to Nice, a journey she later shared in her journal.

JohnPlayer-
Spezial,

better known as Johnny – accomplice and agent of performance artist Barbara Kraus, was created almost twenty years ago. The starting point for Johnny’s remarkable career was a small part in the legendary performance Wer will kann kommen. Originally created to serve as an antidote to deterministic identity politics, Johnny evolved into a socio-political provocateur over the course of many diverse performances. Due to his unmistakably unique characteristics and talent, his career path took a fortunate turn from mere amateur to proven agent who can master even the most precarious life and death situations. Whether he impersonates a crafty art dealer, glib talk show host, battered doorman, rough dance student, blind lobster-philosopher, Johnny, the landing strip for the unforeseeable, ignites a firework of ideas.

Barbara Kraus
Sat22. 
Feb
18.00/
TQW Halle G
 
     
  • Sat 22. Feb
Tickets
€ 20/15/10

Duration of the performance: approx. 3 hours

 

For his 20th anniversary, JohnPlayerSpezial, agent and accomplice of performance artist Barbara Kraus, is given the mission to survey his past operations – not withholding future prospects: a mission that also serves as the prelude to Johnny’s appointment as research expert for “critical walking theory”; and he has clearly no idea what this means. 2020 is the 30th anniversary of performance artist Barbara Kraus’s life in the arts. Even as a child, mostly frolicking in the woods, she practised the art of “becoming”. Her growing discontent with normative identity politics and their power structures resulted in her creations of fluid and open characters, to be everything and all at the same, long before being queer was considered cool. The legendary 1999 premiere of Wer will kann kommen saw Barbara Kraus introduce witty shapeshifter Johnny for the very first time, a role she has since taken on in many different socio-political contexts. Twenty years later, Kraus will celebrate the anniversary of Wer will kann kommen with her glorious comeback Wer will kann gehen, a self-ironic performance event and lavish party that will include fictitious and real companions as well as a platform for discussion with friends and former colleagues. We will only leave after we have arrived…

Followed by From Dusk Till Dawn – a birthday party for Barbara and Johnny with DJ Nine and surprise guests. Hosted by Mrs. Twiggy and JohnPlayerSpezial.

Credits

Concept, Texts
Barbara Kraus
Performance
Barbara Kraus, Milli Bitterli, Tanja Lalics, Martin Leitner, Elisabeth Löffler, Krõõt Juurak, Frans Poelstra, Christian Polster, Regina Ramsl, Silvia Ribero, Fabian Udulutsch, Hannes Wurm
Guests
Gert Dressel, eSeL, Max, Michaela Moser, Angie Rottensteiner, Elisabeth Schäfer, Chris Standfest, Christina Steinle, Brigitte Weich
Live music
Andreas Hamza and Peter Stamer, Fabian Udulutsch
Voice travel diary
Martina Spitzer
Dramaturgy
Angie Rottensteiner
Dramaturgical support
Krassimira Kruschkova
Artistic consulting
Roland Schmidt, Christian Suchy
Costume
Ulli Nö
Dresser
Laura Mayerhofer
Stage
Paul Horn
Stage assistance
Roland Schmidt
Videos/Visuals
Daniel Aschwanden, Peter Berger, Ricarda Denzer, eSeL, fishy, Jack Hauser, Walter Lauterer, Cornelia Offergeld, David Rych, Thomas Steiner, Georg Wasner
Light
Victor Duran
Production management
das Schaufenster
From Dusk Till Dawn
Birthday party with DJ Nine, Denke Marlenke and surprise guests
A coproduction by Barbara Kraus and Tanzquartier Wien. With support from the Municipal Department of Cultural Affairs, Vienna, and the Arts and Culture division of the Austrian Federal Chancellery.
Barbara
Kraus

is a performance artist with many aliases (her accomplices) who lives and works in Vienna. She studied at the Academy of Arts / SNDO in Amsterdam. Since obtaining her diploma in 1994, she has continuously created performances, tests and improvisations inspired by questions of a social, political, philosophical, feminist and ecological nature. Her 2012 life art performance dream and walk about saw her crossing the Alps, on foot from Vienna to Nice, a journey she later shared in her journal.

JohnPlayer-
Spezial,

better known as Johnny – accomplice and agent of performance artist Barbara Kraus, was created almost twenty years ago. The starting point for Johnny’s remarkable career was a small part in the legendary performance Wer will kann kommen. Originally created to serve as an antidote to deterministic identity politics, Johnny evolved into a socio-political provocateur over the course of many diverse performances. Due to his unmistakably unique characteristics and talent, his career path took a fortunate turn from mere amateur to proven agent who can master even the most precarious life and death situations. Whether he impersonates a crafty art dealer, glib talk show host, battered doorman, rough dance student, blind lobster-philosopher, Johnny, the landing strip for the unforeseeable, ignites a firework of ideas.

 
Loading

Wer will kann gehen

JohnPlayerSpezial 1999–2019, ein Comeback Barbara Kraus 1990–2020, eine Inventur
Barbara Kraus
Performance/Happening/Fest
© Robert Polster 
Barbara
Kraus

lebt und arbeitet als Performancekünstlerin mit zahlreichen performativen Heteronymen – die sie als ihre Verbündeten begreift – in Wien. Sie studierte an der Hochschule der Künste / SNDO in Amsterdam. Seit ihrem Diplomabschluss (1994) kreiert sie Performances, Texte und Improvisationen, die von ihrer künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung mit sozialen, politischen, philosophischen, feministischen und ökologischen Fragestellungen inspiriert sind. In ihrer Life-Art-Performance dream and walk about überquerte sie 2012 zu Fuß den gesamten Alpenbogen von Wien bis Nizza und teilte die Erfahrungen dieser Reise in ihrem Reiselogbuch.

JohnPlayer-
Spezial,

besser bekannt als Johnny – Komplize und Agent der Performancekünstlerin Barbara Kraus –, existiert mittlerweile seit zwanzig Jahren. Die erstaunliche Karriere von Johnny nahm ihren Anfang in der legendären Kultperformance Wer will kann kommen, in der er als Laiendarsteller in einer kleinen Nebenrolle auftreten durfte. Ursprünglich gegen fixierende Identitätszuschreibungen angelegt, entwickelte sich Johnny aufgrund diverser Einsätze immer mehr zum sozialpolitischen Provokateur. Aufgrund seiner ungewöhnlichen Fähigkeiten führte ihn sein beruflicher Werdegang vom ahnungslosen Laiendarsteller zum bewährten Agenten prekärer Lebenssituationen. Ob als gewitzter Kunstvermittler, schlagfertiger Moderator, geschlagener Türsteher, rabiater Tanzschüler, blinder Seekrebs-Philosoph, Johnny, die Landebahn für das Unvorhergesehene, bringt die Gedanken zum Tanzen.

Barbara Kraus
Sa22. 
Feb
18 Uhr/
TQW Halle G
 
     
  • Sa 22. Feb
Tickets
€ 20/15/10

Dauer der Performance: ca. 3 Stunden; anschließend Party

Zu seinem zwanzigjährigen Jubiläum erhält JohnPlayerSpezial, Agent und Komplize der Performancekünstlerin Barbara Kraus, den Auftrag, eine Bestandsaufnahme seiner bisherigen Tätigkeiten – mit Ausblick auf die Zukunft – durchzuführen: ein Auftrag zugleich als Auftakt für Johnny als Forschungsbeauftragter in Sachen „critical walking theory“, auch wenn er keinen blassen Schimmer hat, was damit gemeint sein könnte. 2020 feiert die Performancekünstlerin Barbara Kraus dreißig Jahre ihres Lebens mit der Kunst. Seit ihrer Kindheit, hauptsächlich im Wald, übt sie sich in der Kunst des „Becoming“. Durch ihr Unbehagen an normativen Zuschreibungen und den daraus resultierenden Machtverhältnissen avanciert sie bereits in ihren künstlerischen Anfängen zur performativen Pionierin eines fluiden, durchlässigen Vermögens, gleichzeitig viele/s und andere/s zu sein, lange bevor Queersein innerhalb der Kunstwelt cool wird. 1999 bringt Barbara Kraus als gewitzte „Shapeshifterin“ mit Johnny, der inzwischen unzählige gesellschaftspolitische Aufträge zu erfüllen hatte, ihre legendäre Kultperformance Wer will kann kommen zur Uraufführung. Zwanzig Jahre später zelebriert Kraus gemeinsam mit langjährigen fiktiven und realen Weggefährt*innen in Wer will kann gehen mitsamt einem diskursiven Format mit befreundeten Künstler*innen und einem ausufernden Fest ihr fulminantes selbstironisches Comeback. Kraus ist auf den Hund gekommen. Und wir gehen erst, nachdem wir gekommen sind …

Nach der Performance wird gefeiert. From Dusk Till Dawn – eine Geburtstagsparty für Johnny und Barbara mit DJ Nine und Überraschungsgästen. Moderation: Mrs. Twiggy und JohnPlayerSpezial

Wir zelebrieren die Fülle und das wilde Leben, die Freundschaften, die es braucht, um das wilde Leben zu überleben und die Kunst, die uns am Leben erhält und nicht verzweifeln lässt. Zu später Stunde braucht es dann „Torte statt Worte“. Und damit die nicht im Bauch liegen bleibt und schwermütig werden lässt, sorgt die wunderbare DJ Nine mit ihrem Sound dafür, dass müdes Sitzfleisch wieder munter wird.

Credits

Konzept, Texte
Barbara Kraus
Performance
Barbara Kraus, Milli Bitterli, Tanja Lalics, Martin Leitner, Elisabeth Löffler, Krõõt Juurak, Frans Poelstra, Christian Polster, Regina Ramsl, Silvia Ribero, Fabian Udulutsch, Hannes Wurm
Gäste
Gert Dressel, eSeL, Max, Michaela Moser, Angie Rottensteiner, Elisabeth Schäfer, Chris Standfest, Christina Steinle, Brigitte Weich
Livemusik
Andreas Hamza und Peter Stamer, Fabian Udulutsch
Stimme Reisetagebuch
Martina Spitzer
Dramaturgie
Angie Rottensteiner
Dramaturgische Beratung
Krassimira Kruschkova
Künstlerische Beratung
Roland Schmidt, Christian Suchy
Kostüme
Ulli Nö
Kostümbetreuung
Laura Mayerhofer
Bühne
Paul Horn
Bühnenmitarbeit
Roland Schmidt
Videos/Visuals
Daniel Aschwanden, Peter Berger, Ricarda Denzer, eSeL, fishy, Jack Hauser, Walter Lauterer, Cornelia Offergeld, David Rych, Thomas Steiner, Georg Wasner
Licht
Victor Duran
Produktionsleitung
das Schaufenster
From Dusk Till Dawn
Geburtstagsparty mit DJ Nine, Denke Marlenke und Überraschungsgästen
Eine Koproduktion von Barbara Kraus mit Tanzquartier Wien. Mit Unterstützung der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien und von Bundeskanzleramt Kunst und Kultur.
Barbara
Kraus

lebt und arbeitet als Performancekünstlerin mit zahlreichen performativen Heteronymen – die sie als ihre Verbündeten begreift – in Wien. Sie studierte an der Hochschule der Künste / SNDO in Amsterdam. Seit ihrem Diplomabschluss (1994) kreiert sie Performances, Texte und Improvisationen, die von ihrer künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung mit sozialen, politischen, philosophischen, feministischen und ökologischen Fragestellungen inspiriert sind. In ihrer Life-Art-Performance dream and walk about überquerte sie 2012 zu Fuß den gesamten Alpenbogen von Wien bis Nizza und teilte die Erfahrungen dieser Reise in ihrem Reiselogbuch.

JohnPlayer-
Spezial,

besser bekannt als Johnny – Komplize und Agent der Performancekünstlerin Barbara Kraus –, existiert mittlerweile seit zwanzig Jahren. Die erstaunliche Karriere von Johnny nahm ihren Anfang in der legendären Kultperformance Wer will kann kommen, in der er als Laiendarsteller in einer kleinen Nebenrolle auftreten durfte. Ursprünglich gegen fixierende Identitätszuschreibungen angelegt, entwickelte sich Johnny aufgrund diverser Einsätze immer mehr zum sozialpolitischen Provokateur. Aufgrund seiner ungewöhnlichen Fähigkeiten führte ihn sein beruflicher Werdegang vom ahnungslosen Laiendarsteller zum bewährten Agenten prekärer Lebenssituationen. Ob als gewitzter Kunstvermittler, schlagfertiger Moderator, geschlagener Türsteher, rabiater Tanzschüler, blinder Seekrebs-Philosoph, Johnny, die Landebahn für das Unvorhergesehene, bringt die Gedanken zum Tanzen.

 
Loading