Wir sind Henkel

Jakob Lena Knebl and Markus Pires Mata
Performance
© steirischer herbst/Liz Eve 
Jakob
Lena
Knebl’s

artistic practice questions normative identity structures and a specific sense of desire in various genres, materialities and disciplines. The results are multimedia installations she calls “spaces of desire”, which resist deterministic definitions and create a new dynamic space for humour and sensuality.

Markus
Pires
Mata,

born in Linz, lives in Wien. Pires Mata is a designer at “house of the very island’s …”, exhibition stylist (aka das_em), lecturer and organisational manager of performances and events like S_P_I_T_ Queer Performance Festival and Anti Valentines*Ball, as well as DJ and club host for queer feminist micro clubbing events like mode.mode.der.klub, klub.krass., strom+- a. o.

Jakob Lena Knebl and Markus Pires Mata
Sat15. 
Feb
19.30 /
TQW Studios

60 minutes

In case of sold-out performances waiting numbers for remaining tickets are handed out at the evening box office opening one hour before showtime.

Body builders – these are Austria’s strongest – with lurid body paint will occupy the same space as 1970s Space Age Design vases and lamps. A bizarre tableau vivant that will channel utopian imagery. Jakob Lena Knebl and Markus Pires Mata have created a chamber of fetish that will make it impossible to discern any difference between art and design, object and body, culture and nature. Inspired by Georg Simmel’s essay The Handle (Der Henkel, 1909), this installation and its surface structures will deflect any essentialist identity concepts. In Simmel’s essay, the handle of a cup symbolises the link between art and functionality. But, in the end, the handle is also being regarded as an instruction – the animated object, its materiality and structure permeating reality, because it is “the principle of the handle to mediate between the work of art and the world”.

Wir sind Henkel is based on the previous performance The Style Council, presented at steirischer herbst 2019.

Credits

Performance
Jekaterina Übelacker, Stefan Wottawa, Kevin Stütz, Katharina Stütz, Lara Tasharofi
Thanks to
Rainer Fuchs, Lisa Grünwald
Jakob
Lena
Knebl’s

artistic practice questions normative identity structures and a specific sense of desire in various genres, materialities and disciplines. The results are multimedia installations she calls “spaces of desire”, which resist deterministic definitions and create a new dynamic space for humour and sensuality.

Markus
Pires
Mata,

born in Linz, lives in Wien. Pires Mata is a designer at “house of the very island’s …”, exhibition stylist (aka das_em), lecturer and organisational manager of performances and events like S_P_I_T_ Queer Performance Festival and Anti Valentines*Ball, as well as DJ and club host for queer feminist micro clubbing events like mode.mode.der.klub, klub.krass., strom+- a. o.

 
Loading

Wir sind Henkel

Jakob Lena Knebl und Markus Pires Mata
Performance
© steirischer herbst/Liz Eve 
Jakob
Lena
Knebl

hinterfragt in ihren Arbeiten Identitätskonstruktionen und Begehren innerhalb unterschiedlicher Genres, Materialitäten und Disziplinen. Dabei entstehen multimediale Installationen, „Begehrensräume“, die sich eindeutigen Zuschreibungen entziehen und eine Dynamik zwischen Humor und Sinnlichkeit produzieren.

Markus
Pires
Mata,

geboren in Linz, lebt in Wien. Pires Mata arbeitet als Designer*in des Labels house of the very island’s, als das_em als Ausstellungsstylist*in, als Lektor*in, als Organisator*in/Mitwirkende/r von Performances und Events wie S_P_I_T_ Queer Performance Festival und Anti Valentines* Ball, als DJ und Club-Host queer-feministischer Microclubbings wie mode.mode.der.klub, klub.krass., strom+- u. a.

Jakob Lena Knebl und Markus Pires Mata
Sa15. 
Feb
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Studios

60 Minuten

Bei ausverkauften Vorstellungen vergeben wir ab einer Stunde vor Vorstellungsbeginn Wartenummern für Restkarten an der Abendkassa.

Grell bemalte Bodybuilder*innen – es sind die stärksten Körper Österreichs – treffen auf Space-Age-Design aus den 1970er-Jahren in Form von Vasen und Lampen. Ein bizarres Tableau vivant, das Utopien heraufbeschwört. Jakob Lena Knebl und Markus Pires Mata schaffen einen fetischisierten Raum, in dem sich die willkürlich gesetzten Grenzen zwischen Kunst und Design, aber auch zwischen Objekt und Körper, Kultur und Natur auflösen. Essenzialistische Identitätskonzepte prallen an Oberflächen ab. Inspiriert wird diese Installation von Georg Simmels Essay Der Henkel (1909). Der Henkel einer Teekanne ist bei Simmel das Scharnier zwischen Kunst und Funktion. Letztlich impliziert der Henkel auch eine Handlungsanweisung – das Objekt ist lebendig, und seine Materialität und seine Struktur greifen in die Realität ein, denn „das Prinzip des Henkels ist es, der Vermittler des Kunstwerkes zur Welt hin zu sein“.

Wir sind Henkel basiert auf der beim steirischen herbst 2019 gezeigten Arbeit The Style Council.

Credits

Performer*innen
Jekaterina Übelacker, Stefan Wottawa, Kevin Stütz, Katharina Stütz, Lara Tasharofi
Dank an
Rainer Fuchs, Lisa Grünwald
Jakob
Lena
Knebl

hinterfragt in ihren Arbeiten Identitätskonstruktionen und Begehren innerhalb unterschiedlicher Genres, Materialitäten und Disziplinen. Dabei entstehen multimediale Installationen, „Begehrensräume“, die sich eindeutigen Zuschreibungen entziehen und eine Dynamik zwischen Humor und Sinnlichkeit produzieren.

Markus
Pires
Mata,

geboren in Linz, lebt in Wien. Pires Mata arbeitet als Designer*in des Labels house of the very island’s, als das_em als Ausstellungsstylist*in, als Lektor*in, als Organisator*in/Mitwirkende/r von Performances und Events wie S_P_I_T_ Queer Performance Festival und Anti Valentines* Ball, als DJ und Club-Host queer-feministischer Microclubbings wie mode.mode.der.klub, klub.krass., strom+- u. a.

 
Loading