Contemporary dance and the self-defence of the commons

Ramsay Burt (UK)
Lecture
© Ramsay Burt 
Ramsay
Burt

is Professor of Dance History at De Montfort University. His publications include The Male Dancer, Alien Bodies, Judson Dance Theater, and, with Christy Adair, British dance: Black routes (2016). In 1999, he was Visiting Professor at the Department of Performance Studies, New York University, l’Université de Nice Sophia-Antipolis, and he is a visiting teacher at P.A.R.T.S. in Brussels.

ramsayburt.wordpress.com/

Gurur
Ertem

is a social scientist and performance studies scholar, specialising in the sociology of the body, arts, and culture. Her transdisciplinary work combines the arts, social and political theory and performance studies. Recent publications include the co-edited volume Bodies of Evidence: Ethics, Aesthetics, and Politics of Movement (2018). As the founding co-director of Bimeras, a not-for-profit private arts and research organisation, and iDANS Istanbul International Dance and Performance Festival, where she has been responsible for programming, research, and publications since 2006, Gurur Ertem approaches these questions not only from an academic perspective but also through artistic and curatorial practices. Ertem is currently a jury member for Tanzplattform Deutschland 2020.

gururertem.info/

Ramsay Burt (UK)
Fri24. 
May
18.00/
TQW Studios
Free admission

While there are costs and wages in the contemporary dance sector and attempts to capture and marketise the sector, dancers share a common pool of resources through respect and through recognition of mutual benefit. The fact of sharing these points to a provisional coming together of individuals with often different artistic experiences and aspirations. They are in effect a fluid, nomadic community built on acknowledgment of difference rather than one whose unity is based on solidarity against outsiders. Because contemporary dance artists share cultural and aesthetic resources as a commons, they are usually alert to the need for self-defence of the commons in general. In the face of attempts to close it down, they work towards keeping it open. This results in works that evade capture by the apparatuses that are at work within neoliberal cultural institutions – dances that open up a liveliness that is otherwise deadened by ideologically determined impositions of normative values. To live the open is a political matter, and it is spaces in which to imagine living the open that some recent contemporary dance works propose.

Ramsay Burt’s lecture will be followed by a discussion with Gurur Ertem and Janez Janša.

Ramsay
Burt

is Professor of Dance History at De Montfort University. His publications include The Male Dancer, Alien Bodies, Judson Dance Theater, and, with Christy Adair, British dance: Black routes (2016). In 1999, he was Visiting Professor at the Department of Performance Studies, New York University, l’Université de Nice Sophia-Antipolis, and he is a visiting teacher at P.A.R.T.S. in Brussels.

ramsayburt.wordpress.com/

Gurur
Ertem

is a social scientist and performance studies scholar, specialising in the sociology of the body, arts, and culture. Her transdisciplinary work combines the arts, social and political theory and performance studies. Recent publications include the co-edited volume Bodies of Evidence: Ethics, Aesthetics, and Politics of Movement (2018). As the founding co-director of Bimeras, a not-for-profit private arts and research organisation, and iDANS Istanbul International Dance and Performance Festival, where she has been responsible for programming, research, and publications since 2006, Gurur Ertem approaches these questions not only from an academic perspective but also through artistic and curatorial practices. Ertem is currently a jury member for Tanzplattform Deutschland 2020.

gururertem.info/

 
Loading

Zeitgenössischer Tanz und der Selbsterhalt von Commons

Ramsay Burt (UK)
Vortrag
© Ramsay Burt 
Ramsay
Burt

ist Professor für Tanzgeschichte an der De Montfort University in Leicester, England. Zu seinen Publikationen zählen The Male Dancer, Alien Bodies, Judson Dance Theater sowie British Dance: Black Routes (2016) in gemeinsamer Herausgeberschaft mit Christy Adair. Ramsay war Gasprofessor am Institut für Performance Studies der New York University und an der Université de Nice Sophia-Antipolis sowie Gastdozent bei P.A.R.T.S. in Brüssel.

ramsayburt.wordpress.com/

Gurur
Ertem

ist Soziologin und hat sich auf die Soziologie von Körper, Kunst und Kultur spezialisiert. Ihre transdisziplinäre Arbeit kombiniert Kunst-, Sozial- und Politiktheorie sowie Performance Studies. Zu ihren jüngsten Veröffentlichungen zählt der Band Bodies of Evidence: Ethics, Aesthetics, and Politics of Movement (2018). Sie ist Gründungsmitglied von Bimeras, einer privaten nicht profitorientierten Kunst- und Forschungsorganisation, und des Internationalen Tanz- und Performancefestivals iDANS Istanbul, bei dem sie seit 2006 für Programmierung, Forschung und Publikationen verantwortlich ist. Ertem ist derzeit Jurymitglied der Tanzplattform Deutschland 2020.

gururertem.info/

Ramsay Burt (UK)
Fr24. 
Mai
18 Uhr/
TQW Studios

Während es im Bereich des zeitgenössischen Tanzes Kosten und Gehälter und damit einhergehend Versuche einer Erschließung und ökonomischen Vereinnahmung gibt, sind Tänzer*innen Teil einer Interessengemeinschaft, die sich durch gegenseitigen Respekt und das Erkennen von gemeinsamen Vorteilen auszeichnet. Dieser Umstand hat zur Folge, dass ein zeitweiliges Aufeinandertreffen von Individuen mit oftmals unterschiedlichen künstlerischen Erfahrungen und Ambitionen ermöglicht wird. So bilden sie im Endeffekt eine nomadische, ständig in Veränderung begriffene Gemeinschaft, deren Ausgangspunkt viel mehr das Anerkennen von Unterschieden ist als die Abgrenzung nach außen. Da Künstler*innen aus dem Bereich des zeitgenössischen Tanzes in Form von Commons einen gemeinsamen kulturellen und ästhetischen Fundus teilen, sind sie sich im Allgemeinen dessen bewusst, dass Commons geeigneter Mechanismen des Selbsterhalts bedürfen. In Anbetracht der erwähnten Bestrebungen hin zu einer Normierung arbeiten Künstler*innen deswegen daran, Diversität zu propagieren. In der Folge entstehen Arbeiten, die einer Vereinnahmung durch Apparaturen der neoliberalen Kulturinstitutionen entgehen – Tanz, der eine Lebendigkeit eröffnet, die ansonsten durch eine ideologisch determinierte Auferlegung normativer Werte entkräftet würde. Offenheit und Diversität zu leben ist eine politische Angelegenheit. Einige der kürzlich entstandenen Arbeiten im zeitgenössischen Tanz entwerfen hierzu Räume, in denen ein Leben ohne Einschränkung vorstellbar wird.

Nach dem Vortrag von Ramsay Burt findet eine Diskussion mit Gurur Ertem und Janez Janša statt.

Ramsay
Burt

ist Professor für Tanzgeschichte an der De Montfort University in Leicester, England. Zu seinen Publikationen zählen The Male Dancer, Alien Bodies, Judson Dance Theater sowie British Dance: Black Routes (2016) in gemeinsamer Herausgeberschaft mit Christy Adair. Ramsay war Gasprofessor am Institut für Performance Studies der New York University und an der Université de Nice Sophia-Antipolis sowie Gastdozent bei P.A.R.T.S. in Brüssel.

ramsayburt.wordpress.com/

Gurur
Ertem

ist Soziologin und hat sich auf die Soziologie von Körper, Kunst und Kultur spezialisiert. Ihre transdisziplinäre Arbeit kombiniert Kunst-, Sozial- und Politiktheorie sowie Performance Studies. Zu ihren jüngsten Veröffentlichungen zählt der Band Bodies of Evidence: Ethics, Aesthetics, and Politics of Movement (2018). Sie ist Gründungsmitglied von Bimeras, einer privaten nicht profitorientierten Kunst- und Forschungsorganisation, und des Internationalen Tanz- und Performancefestivals iDANS Istanbul, bei dem sie seit 2006 für Programmierung, Forschung und Publikationen verantwortlich ist. Ertem ist derzeit Jurymitglied der Tanzplattform Deutschland 2020.

gururertem.info/

 
Loading