Zeppelin Bend

Katerina Andreou
Dance & Performance
Zeppelin Bend © Ilias Spyrakis 
Katerina
Andreou,

born 1982 in Athens, is a France-based dancer, musician and choreographer. She graduated both from the School of Law at the University of Athens and the State School of Dance in Athens. As a scholar of the Greek K. Pratsika Foundation, she attended the Essais programme under the direction of Emmanuelle Huynh at CNDC Angers in 2011. In addition to that she holds a master degree in research and choreography from the Université Paris 8. As a dancer she has collaborated, among others, with DD Dorvillier, Lenio Kaklea, Bryan Campbell, Dinis Machado, Emmanuelle Huynh and Ana Rita Teodoro.

In her own work she is interested in developing states of presence emanating from a constant negotiation between contrasting tasks, fictions and universes, often questioning the relation to ideas such as authority and autonomy, communication and censorship. She often does the music design of her own pieces. For her solo dance piece, A Kind of Fierce, she was awarded the Prix Jardin d’Europe at ImPulsTanz 2016. She has been a frequent guest at TQW showing her solo BSTRD and performing in DD Dorvillier’s Danza Permanente and most recently in DUCTUS MIDI by Anne Lise Le Gac and Arthur Chambry.

Katerina Andreou
Wed04./
Thu05. 
Nov
19.30 /
TQW Halle G

+++ Performance cancelled +++

“In my ongoing research on free will on stage and its subjective nature, I explore different body practices and try to approach new skills as if they were new technologies. I keep learning in order to keep unlearning. This saturation of rigour and discipline is paired with a desire to tackle matters such as control and power structures. It helps me sort through knowledge and constitute my own personal culture. Which training for which performance? Which effort for which goal?

Zeppelin Bend, taking the name of an end-to-end joining knot that was used to moor airships, is a duo. Natali Mandila and I are putting together dances, actions and sounds that demand extreme discipline and psychedelic imagination. In a world where staying ‘grounded’ or getting ‘high’ often seem to be considered survival methods, we try out both. While seeking moments of freedom, we try to maintain a sense of realness by focusing on our bodies in the act of doing.” – Katerina Andreou

Credits

Concept, choreography, sound design
Katerina Andreou
Performance
Katerina Andreou, Natali Mandila
Sound
Katerina Andreou, Cristián Sotomayor
Sound collaborator
Tal Agam
Light design
Yannick Fouassier
Outside eye
Myrto Katsiki
Production, bookings
Elodie Perrin
Production
BARK
Co-production
Les spectacles vivants du Centre Pompidou (Paris), Onassis Stegi (Athens), Tanzquartier Wien, Ate-lier de Paris / Centre de développement chorégraphique national, La Place de la Danse – CDCN Tou-louse / Occitanie as part of Accueil Studio, CND Centre national de la danse (Paris), Le Gymnase – CDCN Roubaix, CCN Grenoble, Far festival des arts vivants (Nyon), Centrale Fies (Drò) as part of LIVE WORKS Performane Act Award 2019
With the support of
Kunstencentrum BUDA (Kortrijk), Ramdam – un centre d’art (Lyon), CNDC Angers, CDCN Grenoble, residency at SUBS – lieu vivant d’expériences artistiques (Lyon). BARK was supported by Van Cleef & Arpels.
With the support of
Katerina
Andreou,

born 1982 in Athens, is a France-based dancer, musician and choreographer. She graduated both from the School of Law at the University of Athens and the State School of Dance in Athens. As a scholar of the Greek K. Pratsika Foundation, she attended the Essais programme under the direction of Emmanuelle Huynh at CNDC Angers in 2011. In addition to that she holds a master degree in research and choreography from the Université Paris 8. As a dancer she has collaborated, among others, with DD Dorvillier, Lenio Kaklea, Bryan Campbell, Dinis Machado, Emmanuelle Huynh and Ana Rita Teodoro.

In her own work she is interested in developing states of presence emanating from a constant negotiation between contrasting tasks, fictions and universes, often questioning the relation to ideas such as authority and autonomy, communication and censorship. She often does the music design of her own pieces. For her solo dance piece, A Kind of Fierce, she was awarded the Prix Jardin d’Europe at ImPulsTanz 2016. She has been a frequent guest at TQW showing her solo BSTRD and performing in DD Dorvillier’s Danza Permanente and most recently in DUCTUS MIDI by Anne Lise Le Gac and Arthur Chambry.

 
Loading

Zeppelin Bend

Katerina Andreou
Tanz & Performance
© Ilias Spyrakis 
Katerina
Andreou,

geboren 1982 in Athen, lebt in Frankreich und ist Tänzerin, Musikerin und Choreografin. Sie absolvierte sowohl die Rechtsfakultät der Universität Athen als auch die Staatliche Tanzhochschule Athen. Als Stipendiatin der griechischen Koula Pratsika Stiftung nahm sie 2011 am Programm Essais am CNDC Angers unter der Leitung von Emmanuelle Huynh teil. Ihren Master in Forschung und Choreografie machte sie an der Universität Paris 8. Als Tänzerin arbeitete sie u. a. mit DD Dorvillier, Lenio Kaklea, Bryan Campbell, Dinis Machado, Emmanuelle Huynh und Ana Rita Teodoro zusammen.

Mit ihren eigenen Arbeiten möchte Katerina Andreou Zustände von Präsenz erzeugen, die von einer permanenten Verhandlung gegensätzlicher Aufgaben, Fiktionen und Universen herrühren und die Beziehung zu Begriffen wie Autorität und Autonomie, Kommunikation und Zensur infrage stellen. Das Musikdesign ihrer Stücke übernimmt sie meist selbst. Für ihr Solo A Kind of Fierce wurde sie bei ImPulsTanz 2016 mit dem Prix Jardin d’Europe ausgezeichnet. Im TQW war sie bereits mit ihrem Solo BSTRD und als Performerin in DD Dorvilliers Danza Permanente sowie zuletzt in DUCTUS MIDI von Anne Lise Le Gac und Arthur Chambry zu Gast.

Katerina Andreou
Mi04./
Do05. 
Nov
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Halle G
 
     
  • Mi 04. Nov
  • Do 05. Nov
€ 10

Der Ticketverkauf startet am Mi, 14. Oktober.

„I keep learning in order to keep unlearning.“ — Katerina Andreou

Zeppelin Bend – der Begriff bezeichnet einen Knoten, der zwei Seile verbindet und enormer Belastung standhält, sodass damit sogar Luftschiffe festgemacht wurden – präsentiert sich in Form eines Duos. Die dabei von Katerina Andreou und Natali Mandila in eine Choreografie gebrachten Tänze, Handlungen und Sounds erfordern Hardcore-Disziplin und psychedelische Fantasie gleichermaßen. In einer Welt, in der „Auf-dem-Boden-Bleiben“ oder „Highsein“ oft als Überlebensmethoden angesehen werden, probieren die Performer*innen beides aus. Zeppelin Bend ist eine Suche nach Momenten der Freiheit, ohne dabei die Wirklichkeit aus den Augen zu verlieren. Dies gelingt durch die Konzentration auf eigene Körper im Tun.

Die Erforschung des freien Willens auf der Bühne und seiner subjektiven Natur bildet den Ausgangspunkt von Katerina Andreous intensiver neuer Arbeit. Dafür untersucht Andreou verschiedene Körperpraktiken und betrachtet Fertigkeiten, als wären sie neue Technologien. Strenge, Präzision und Disziplin gehen dabei mit dem scheinbar widersprüchlichen Wunsch einher, es mit Kontrolle und Machtstrukturen aufzunehmen. Andreou nimmt bestehendes Wissen auseinander, setzt es neu zusammen und baut sich so eine individuelle Praxis. Welches Training für welche Performance? Welcher Aufwand für welches Ziel?

Nach der coronabedingten zweimaligen Verschiebung des Premierentermins feiert Zeppelin Bend nun seine Weltpremiere im Tanzquartier Wien.

Credits

Konzept, Choreografie, Sounddesign
Katerina Andreou
Performance
Katerina Andreou, Natali Mandila
Sound
Katerina Andreou, Cristián Sotomayor
Mitarbeit Sound
Tal Agam
Lichtdesign
Yannick Fouassier
Outside-Eye
Myrto Katsiki
Produktionsmanagement, Booking
Elodie Perrin
Eine Produktion von
BARK in Koproduktion mit Les spectacles vivants du Centre Pompidou (Paris), Onassis Stegi (Athen), Tanzquartier Wien, Atelier de Paris / Centre de développement chorégraphique national, La Place de la Danse – CDCN Toulouse/Occitanie im Rahmen von Accueil Studio, CND Centre national de la danse (Paris), Le Gymnase – CDCN Roubaix, CCN Grenoble, far festival des arts vivants (Nyon), Centrale Fies (Drò) im Rahmen von LIVE WORKS Performance Act Award 2019.
Mit Unterstützung von
Kunstencentrum BUDA (Kortrijk), Ramdam – un centre d’art (Lyon), CNDC Angers, CDCN Grenoble, Residency bei SUBS – lieu vivant d’expériences artistiques (Lyon). BARK wurde von Van Cleef & Arpels unterstützt.
Mit Unterstützung von
Katerina
Andreou,

geboren 1982 in Athen, lebt in Frankreich und ist Tänzerin, Musikerin und Choreografin. Sie absolvierte sowohl die Rechtsfakultät der Universität Athen als auch die Staatliche Tanzhochschule Athen. Als Stipendiatin der griechischen Koula Pratsika Stiftung nahm sie 2011 am Programm Essais am CNDC Angers unter der Leitung von Emmanuelle Huynh teil. Ihren Master in Forschung und Choreografie machte sie an der Universität Paris 8. Als Tänzerin arbeitete sie u. a. mit DD Dorvillier, Lenio Kaklea, Bryan Campbell, Dinis Machado, Emmanuelle Huynh und Ana Rita Teodoro zusammen.

Mit ihren eigenen Arbeiten möchte Katerina Andreou Zustände von Präsenz erzeugen, die von einer permanenten Verhandlung gegensätzlicher Aufgaben, Fiktionen und Universen herrühren und die Beziehung zu Begriffen wie Autorität und Autonomie, Kommunikation und Zensur infrage stellen. Das Musikdesign ihrer Stücke übernimmt sie meist selbst. Für ihr Solo A Kind of Fierce wurde sie bei ImPulsTanz 2016 mit dem Prix Jardin d’Europe ausgezeichnet. Im TQW war sie bereits mit ihrem Solo BSTRD und als Performerin in DD Dorvilliers Danza Permanente sowie zuletzt in DUCTUS MIDI von Anne Lise Le Gac und Arthur Chambry zu Gast.

 
Loading