Rakete

Choreography & performance of a new generation
Festival
© Azra Husanovid/Studio VIE 
Choreography & performance of a new generation
Fri03.
Sat11. 
May
TQW Studios
 
     
  • Fri 03. MaySat 11. May

„Really? Is this what you’ve left us?“ — Hannah De Meyer

The second edition of Rakete festival will be TQW’s latest quest for new positions from the Austrian and international dance and performance scene. This marks yet another expedition centring around questions of future, identity and gender politics. Rakete unites a generation of performance artists, choreographers and dancers dedicated to finding alternative story lines – a journey to unknown galaxies and new life forms. All you need to explore the cosmic realms is a spirit of discovery and a day pass. Three. Two. One. Zero.

Artists: Ulduz Ahmadzadeh, Hannah De Meyer, Lau Lukkarila, Karin Pauer, Sophia Süßmilch, Mohamed Toukabri

 
Fri03. 
May
19.30 /
TQW Studios

Lau Lukkarila

Trouble

Dance & Performance

It can cause trouble to make trouble and if one is in serious trouble, one cannot afford to make trouble – let alone to make work about trouble. In their solo, Lau Lukkarila labours with trouble as a consequence of what they are not trying to hide or to avoid. On the one hand, they ask what the troubles can be that they – as white and queer – can afford to feel and get into, and what are the discourses, genealogies and ancestral biographies inscribed in their body. How do specific troubles move and freeze bodies; such as internal and external injuries, a broken heart, misgendering, shaming, belittling, anxiety, being broke or lost, sexual harassment, homophobia, violence, pain, fear of ageing and dying. On the other hand, they state that the genealogy of trouble has everything to do with mechanisms of power. It is just like Ebow says in the song Punani Power: „Aber ein echter Gangster ist ein Feminist.” A real gangsta – a subject with power and agency – is the one who is aware of the mechanisms and distribution of power. The one who troubles mechanisms of trouble in the name of less trouble.

moreless
following the performance of Trouble/
TQW Studios

Ulduz Ahmadzadeh / tanz.labor.labyrinth

Under Cover

Dance & Performance

In Under Cover, Iranian-Austrian dancer and choreographer Ulduz Ahmadzadeh crosses autobiographical continents, places and contexts and connects these experiences to the experiences of other ‘oriental’ women in a captivating mix of performance, film and installation. Whether they are wearing a hijab or not, the ethnic background of these women draws a veil of social prejudice over the reality of their lives. The recent populist conflation of terms like Islam, hijab and terrorism does not help either, but intensifies this one-dimensional representation of Muslim women. For this reason, Ahmadzadeh leaves behind the false pretences of origin-related debates and engages with an analysis of the socio-political situation, which might enable us to subvert existing power structures. Based on interviews, Ahmadzadeh will assume the identities of different women, thereby providing insight into a complex field of diverging social roles, belief systems and individual takes on pleasure and freeing the body.

moreless
following the performance of Under Cover/
TQW Studios

Hannah De Meyer

new skin

Dance & Performance

„I feel a very strong bond with a rebellious young generation of antiracist writers, climate activists and economists – the first generation that is not economically better off than their parents. These young people who have been born into a broken world are looking around and indignantly asking: Really? Is this what you’ve left us?

I admire that anger. It’s the firm indignation of people who are forced to look for alternative stories. Different stories about what success is, what prosperity is and what comprises a thriving society.

That indignation can be a transformative force. I’m fascinated by how life-threatening situations can arouse a tremendous amount of resilience and imagination. How peace movements can arise in the midst of political and climatological threats. People who look into the heart of injustice and destruction and then, with determination, nevertheless say something about love.“ – Hannah De Meyer

moreless
 
Sat04. 
May
19.30 /
TQW Studios

Lau Lukkarila

Trouble

Dance & Performance

It can cause trouble to make trouble and if one is in serious trouble, one cannot afford to make trouble – let alone to make work about trouble. In their solo, Lau Lukkarila labours with trouble as a consequence of what they are not trying to hide or to avoid. On the one hand, they ask what the troubles can be that they – as white and queer – can afford to feel and get into, and what are the discourses, genealogies and ancestral biographies inscribed in their body. How do specific troubles move and freeze bodies; such as internal and external injuries, a broken heart, misgendering, shaming, belittling, anxiety, being broke or lost, sexual harassment, homophobia, violence, pain, fear of ageing and dying. On the other hand, they state that the genealogy of trouble has everything to do with mechanisms of power. It is just like Ebow says in the song Punani Power: „Aber ein echter Gangster ist ein Feminist.” A real gangsta – a subject with power and agency – is the one who is aware of the mechanisms and distribution of power. The one who troubles mechanisms of trouble in the name of less trouble.

moreless
following the performance of Trouble/
TQW Studios

Ulduz Ahmadzadeh / tanz.labor.labyrinth

Under Cover

Dance & Performance

In Under Cover, Iranian-Austrian dancer and choreographer Ulduz Ahmadzadeh crosses autobiographical continents, places and contexts and connects these experiences to the experiences of other ‘oriental’ women in a captivating mix of performance, film and installation. Whether they are wearing a hijab or not, the ethnic background of these women draws a veil of social prejudice over the reality of their lives. The recent populist conflation of terms like Islam, hijab and terrorism does not help either, but intensifies this one-dimensional representation of Muslim women. For this reason, Ahmadzadeh leaves behind the false pretences of origin-related debates and engages with an analysis of the socio-political situation, which might enable us to subvert existing power structures. Based on interviews, Ahmadzadeh will assume the identities of different women, thereby providing insight into a complex field of diverging social roles, belief systems and individual takes on pleasure and freeing the body.

moreless
following the performance of Under Cover/
TQW Studios

Hannah De Meyer

new skin

Dance & Performance

„I feel a very strong bond with a rebellious young generation of antiracist writers, climate activists and economists – the first generation that is not economically better off than their parents. These young people who have been born into a broken world are looking around and indignantly asking: Really? Is this what you’ve left us?

I admire that anger. It’s the firm indignation of people who are forced to look for alternative stories. Different stories about what success is, what prosperity is and what comprises a thriving society.

That indignation can be a transformative force. I’m fascinated by how life-threatening situations can arouse a tremendous amount of resilience and imagination. How peace movements can arise in the midst of political and climatological threats. People who look into the heart of injustice and destruction and then, with determination, nevertheless say something about love.“ – Hannah De Meyer

moreless
 
Fri10. 
May
19.30 /
TQW Studios

Mohamed Toukabri

The Upside Down Man

Dance & Performance

„I decided in favour of the autobiographical because I’m interested in what is unique and personal. In fact, no one else can tell my story but me, because no one else can see the world through my eyes. Because of this unique quality, every person has his own place in the world. While we tend to generalise, to label, to make packages, it was my aim to say: I am not one story, I am many stories.“ — Mohamed Toukabri

Mohamed Toukabri’s self-portrait engages with issues concerning the politics of migration and its ramifications: Ten years ago, Toukabri arrived in Brussels to study at P.A.R.T.S, and he has since travelled between his native country, Tunisia, and his adopted homeland, Belgium, oscillating between two cultures and traditions, between different art movements and dance styles. His performance specifically addresses this space of the in-between: between emotion and reason, representation and being, one moment and the next. In The Upside Down Man, autobiographical texts are juxtaposed with a virtuoso movement vocabulary – ranging from Tunisian breakdance to contemporary dance – and a counternarrative is created that suspends the negative bias which dominates debates on migration: a counternarrative that tells the story of beauty and riches found in the life of a person traveling between countries, cultures and histories.

moreless
following the performance of The Upside Down Man/
TQW Studios

Karin Pauer

the next five hundred thousand years of movement

Dance & Performance

„The cosmos is all there is, or ever was, or ever will be.“ — Carl Sagan

What do we have in common with future life forms, galaxies or the tiniest molecules in the universe? Will future species share our obsessions; will they also constantly trouble themselves with questions about the future? Karin Pauer’s previous work took us on a journey into the history of the universe. Her latest piece will continue this journey and take us to the future. With her unique blend of humour and wit, she will tackle humanity’s sense of superiority. Speculations, multiple spheres and a boundless stream of questions will come together in the form of sculptural body images. Together with her mother, Johanna Pauer, and dancer Agnieszka Dmochowska, Karin Pauer will seek to explore the mysteries of the universe and unveil its relations and definitions. Points of reference will be put into question, change in perspective will be encouraged: Human kind is only one version in a series of multiple versions. This cosmos consists of atoms as big as suns and universes as small as atoms. How to locate oneself in all this?

  • would you rather be time or space?
  • evolution or revolution?
  • to turn around to do what?
  • will it be confusing?
  • have we seen all possible constellations?
  • is this common in the universe?
  • why?
  • why not?
  • ∞?
moreless
 
Sat11. 
May
19.30 /
TQW Studios

Mohamed Toukabri

The Upside Down Man

Dance & Performance

„I decided in favour of the autobiographical because I’m interested in what is unique and personal. In fact, no one else can tell my story but me, because no one else can see the world through my eyes. Because of this unique quality, every person has his own place in the world. While we tend to generalise, to label, to make packages, it was my aim to say: I am not one story, I am many stories.“ — Mohamed Toukabri

Mohamed Toukabri’s self-portrait engages with issues concerning the politics of migration and its ramifications: Ten years ago, Toukabri arrived in Brussels to study at P.A.R.T.S, and he has since travelled between his native country, Tunisia, and his adopted homeland, Belgium, oscillating between two cultures and traditions, between different art movements and dance styles. His performance specifically addresses this space of the in-between: between emotion and reason, representation and being, one moment and the next. In The Upside Down Man, autobiographical texts are juxtaposed with a virtuoso movement vocabulary – ranging from Tunisian breakdance to contemporary dance – and a counternarrative is created that suspends the negative bias which dominates debates on migration: a counternarrative that tells the story of beauty and riches found in the life of a person traveling between countries, cultures and histories.

moreless
following the performance of The Upside Down Man/
TQW Studios

Karin Pauer

the next five hundred thousand years of movement

Dance & Performance

„The cosmos is all there is, or ever was, or ever will be.“ — Carl Sagan

What do we have in common with future life forms, galaxies or the tiniest molecules in the universe? Will future species share our obsessions; will they also constantly trouble themselves with questions about the future? Karin Pauer’s previous work took us on a journey into the history of the universe. Her latest piece will continue this journey and take us to the future. With her unique blend of humour and wit, she will tackle humanity’s sense of superiority. Speculations, multiple spheres and a boundless stream of questions will come together in the form of sculptural body images. Together with her mother, Johanna Pauer, and dancer Agnieszka Dmochowska, Karin Pauer will seek to explore the mysteries of the universe and unveil its relations and definitions. Points of reference will be put into question, change in perspective will be encouraged: Human kind is only one version in a series of multiple versions. This cosmos consists of atoms as big as suns and universes as small as atoms. How to locate oneself in all this?

  • would you rather be time or space?
  • evolution or revolution?
  • to turn around to do what?
  • will it be confusing?
  • have we seen all possible constellations?
  • is this common in the universe?
  • why?
  • why not?
  • ∞?
moreless
following the performance of the next five hundred thousand years of movement/
TQW Studios

Sophia Süßmilch

IF YOU THINK YOU ARE A PERFORMANCE ARTIST BUT YOU’RE REALLY JUST A MEME

Dance & Performance

Sophia Süßmilch is constantly aware of her position as artist: Her work often reveals the ridiculousness of the art canon, e.g. when she engages with the genius cult and the mechanisms of the art market. You think of yourself as a performance artist? You are no more than a meme! She uses absurd and comic elements to subvert the arts’ claim of universality. We cannot prevent failure, but thanks to art we can fail in a beautiful manner. Life: a performance.

What does identity mean in times of unbound streams of images and information? In a world that seems to promise that we can be anything we want to be? Which borders, mechanisms and constraints are we subjugated to? What might remain if we rid ourselves of all these laboriously created images? What is at the heart of our existence? Where do you start, where do I end?

moreless
 
Loading

Rakete

Choreografie & Performance einer neuen Generation
Festival
© Azra Husanović/studio VIE 
Choreografie & Performance einer neuen Generation
Fr03.
Sa11. 
Mai
TQW Studios
 
     
  • Fr 03. MaiSa 11. Mai

„Really? Is this what you’ve left us?“ — Hannah De Meyer

Auch in der zweiten Ausgabe des Festivals Rakete macht sich das TQW auf die Reise zu neuen Positionen der lokalen und internationalen Tanz- und Performanceszene. Eine Expedition, die um Zukunftsfragen, Identitäts- und Geschlechterpolitik kreist. Rakete versammelt eine Generation von Performancekünstler*innen, Choreograf*innen und Tänzer*innen, die auf der Suche nach alternativen Erzählungen sind. Ein Trip zu neuen Galaxien und unbekannten Lebensformen. Alles, was man braucht, um den Weltraum zu erkunden, sind Entdeckergeist und ein Tagesticket. Three. Two. One. Zero.

Mit: Ulduz Ahmadzadeh, Hannah De Meyer, Lau Lukkarila, Karin Pauer, Sophia Süßmilch, Mohamed Toukabri

 
Fr03. 
Mai
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Studios

Lau Lukkarila

Trouble

Tanz & Performance

Das Solo Trouble von Lau Lukkarila handelt von den Konsequenzen, die sich daraus ergeben, wenn man sich nicht versteckt oder riskante Situationen vermeidet. Die Genealogie von „troubles“ ist immer an Machtmechanismen gekoppelt. Wie im Lied Punani Power von Ebow: „Aber ein echter Gangster ist ein Feminist.“ Ein echter Gangster – eine Person mit Macht und Autorität – kennt die Mechanismen und die Verteilung von Macht und macht „troubles“, um weniger „troubles“ zu haben. Welche „troubles“ kann sich eine weiße queere Person leisten? Wie sind Diskurse, aber auch die Biografien der Vorfahren in den Körper eingeschrieben? Und wie hemmen oder bewegen bestimmte „troubles“ den Körper: innere und äußere Verletzungen, ein gebrochenes Herz, Misgendering, Shaming, Runtermachen, Angstzustände, Pleite- oder Lostsein, sexuelle Belästigung, Homophobie, Gewalt, Schmerz, Angst vor dem Älterwerden und dem Sterben?

mehrweniger
im Anschluss an Trouble/
TQW Studios

Ulduz Ahmadzadeh / tanz.labor.labyrinth

Under Cover

Tanz & Performance

In Under Cover bewegt sich die iranisch-österreichische Tänzerin und Choreografin Ulduz Ahmadzadeh entlang der Kontinente, Orte und Kontexte ihrer Biografie und verwebt diese in einem bestechenden Mix aus Performance, Film und Installation mit den Erfahrungen von anderen „orientalischen“ Frauen. Ob mit oder ohne Hijab, die Herkunft dieser Frauen triggert Erwartungshaltungen und legt sich wie ein Schleier über die Wahrnehmung der Realität. Auch die aktuelle populistische Verkettung der Begriffe Islam, Kopftuch und Terrorismus zeichnet ein bewusst eindimensionales Bild muslimisch sozialisierter Frauen. Ahmadzadeh setzt in ihrer Performance weniger auf das Trugbild Herkunft als auf die Analyse der (gesellschafts-)politischen Lage, um bestehende Machtstrukturen zu unterlaufen. Ausgehend von Interviews nimmt sie die Gestalt verschiedener Frauen an und liefert dem Publikum so Einblicke in ein komplexes Spannungsfeld aus divergierenden Rollenbildern, Glaubenssystemen und individuellen Einstellungen zu Lust und körperlicher Freiheit.

mehrweniger
im Anschluss an Under Cover/
TQW Studios

Hannah De Meyer

new skin

Tanz & Performance

„Ich empfinde eine starke Verbundenheit mit einer rebellischen jungen Generation von antirassistischen Autor*innen, Klimaaktivist*innen und Ökonom*innen – der ersten Generation, der es ökonomisch nicht besser geht als ihren Eltern. Hineingeboren in eine kaputte Welt, fragen diese jungen Menschen ungläubig: ‚Das habt ihr uns hinterlassen?‘

Ich bewundere diese Wut. Es handelt sich um die energische Empörung von Menschen, die gezwungen sind, nach alternativen Geschichten zu suchen. Andere Geschichten darüber, was Erfolg ist, was Wohlstand ist und was eine prosperierende Gesellschaft ausmacht. Diese Wut kann eine transformierende Kraft sein.

Es ist faszinierend, wie lebensbedrohliche Situationen ein unglaubliches Potenzial an Resilienz und Imagination freisetzen können. Wie inmitten politischer Bedrohungen und des Klimawandels Friedensbewegungen entstehen können. Menschen, die in das Herz der Ungerechtigkeit und der Zerstörung blicken und dann dennoch voll Entschlossenheit über die Liebe sprechen.“ — Hannah De Meyer

mehrweniger
 
Sa04. 
Mai
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Studios

Lau Lukkarila

Trouble

Tanz & Performance

Das Solo Trouble von Lau Lukkarila handelt von den Konsequenzen, die sich daraus ergeben, wenn man sich nicht versteckt oder riskante Situationen vermeidet. Die Genealogie von „troubles“ ist immer an Machtmechanismen gekoppelt. Wie im Lied Punani Power von Ebow: „Aber ein echter Gangster ist ein Feminist.“ Ein echter Gangster – eine Person mit Macht und Autorität – kennt die Mechanismen und die Verteilung von Macht und macht „troubles“, um weniger „troubles“ zu haben. Welche „troubles“ kann sich eine weiße queere Person leisten? Wie sind Diskurse, aber auch die Biografien der Vorfahren in den Körper eingeschrieben? Und wie hemmen oder bewegen bestimmte „troubles“ den Körper: innere und äußere Verletzungen, ein gebrochenes Herz, Misgendering, Shaming, Runtermachen, Angstzustände, Pleite- oder Lostsein, sexuelle Belästigung, Homophobie, Gewalt, Schmerz, Angst vor dem Älterwerden und dem Sterben?

mehrweniger
im Anschluss an Trouble/
TQW Studios

Ulduz Ahmadzadeh / tanz.labor.labyrinth

Under Cover

Tanz & Performance

In Under Cover bewegt sich die iranisch-österreichische Tänzerin und Choreografin Ulduz Ahmadzadeh entlang der Kontinente, Orte und Kontexte ihrer Biografie und verwebt diese in einem bestechenden Mix aus Performance, Film und Installation mit den Erfahrungen von anderen „orientalischen“ Frauen. Ob mit oder ohne Hijab, die Herkunft dieser Frauen triggert Erwartungshaltungen und legt sich wie ein Schleier über die Wahrnehmung der Realität. Auch die aktuelle populistische Verkettung der Begriffe Islam, Kopftuch und Terrorismus zeichnet ein bewusst eindimensionales Bild muslimisch sozialisierter Frauen. Ahmadzadeh setzt in ihrer Performance weniger auf das Trugbild Herkunft als auf die Analyse der (gesellschafts-)politischen Lage, um bestehende Machtstrukturen zu unterlaufen. Ausgehend von Interviews nimmt sie die Gestalt verschiedener Frauen an und liefert dem Publikum so Einblicke in ein komplexes Spannungsfeld aus divergierenden Rollenbildern, Glaubenssystemen und individuellen Einstellungen zu Lust und körperlicher Freiheit.

mehrweniger
im Anschluss an Under Cover/
TQW Studios

Hannah De Meyer

new skin

Tanz & Performance

„Ich empfinde eine starke Verbundenheit mit einer rebellischen jungen Generation von antirassistischen Autor*innen, Klimaaktivist*innen und Ökonom*innen – der ersten Generation, der es ökonomisch nicht besser geht als ihren Eltern. Hineingeboren in eine kaputte Welt, fragen diese jungen Menschen ungläubig: ‚Das habt ihr uns hinterlassen?‘

Ich bewundere diese Wut. Es handelt sich um die energische Empörung von Menschen, die gezwungen sind, nach alternativen Geschichten zu suchen. Andere Geschichten darüber, was Erfolg ist, was Wohlstand ist und was eine prosperierende Gesellschaft ausmacht. Diese Wut kann eine transformierende Kraft sein.

Es ist faszinierend, wie lebensbedrohliche Situationen ein unglaubliches Potenzial an Resilienz und Imagination freisetzen können. Wie inmitten politischer Bedrohungen und des Klimawandels Friedensbewegungen entstehen können. Menschen, die in das Herz der Ungerechtigkeit und der Zerstörung blicken und dann dennoch voll Entschlossenheit über die Liebe sprechen.“ — Hannah De Meyer

mehrweniger
 
Fr10. 
Mai
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Studios

Mohamed Toukabri

The Upside Down Man

Tanz & Performance

„I decided in favour of the autobiographical because I’m interested in what is unique and personal. In fact, no one else can tell my story but me, because no one else can see the world through my eyes. Because of this unique quality, every person has his own place in the world. While we tend to generalise, to label, to make packages, it was my aim to say: I am not one story, I am many stories.“ — Mohamed Toukabri

In diesem Selbstporträt verhandelt Mohamed Toukabri Fragen zu Migrationspolitik und den damit einhergehenden Problemen. Vor zehn Jahren kam er nach Brüssel, um bei P.A.R.T.S. zu studieren, seither bewegt er sich zwischen seinem Heimatland Tunesien und seiner Wahlheimat Belgien, zwischen beiden Kulturen und Traditionen, zwischen verschiedenen Kunstrichtungen und Tanzstilen. Genau um dieses Dazwischen geht es in seiner Arbeit: zwischen Gefühl und Vernunft, zwischen Repräsentation und Sein, zwischen dem einen Moment und dem nächsten. In The Upside Down Man stellt Toukabri autobiografische Texte einem virtuosen Bewegungsvokabular – von Breakdance aus Tunis bis zu zeitgenössischem Tanz – gegenüber und erschafft eine Gegenerzählung zu den negativen Zuschreibungen, die das Thema Zuwanderung dominieren: eine, in der es um die Schönheit und den Reichtum geht, die ein Mensch erfährt, der sich zwischen den Ländern, Kulturen und Geschichten hin- und herbewegt.

mehrweniger
im Anschluss an The Upside Down Man/
TQW Studios

Karin Pauer

the next five hundred thousand years of movement

Tanz & Performance

„The cosmos is all there is, or ever was, or ever will be.“ — Carl Sagan

Haben zukünftige Lebensformen, Galaxien, die kleinsten Moleküle im Universum und wir Gemeinsamkeiten? Werden nachfolgende Spezies mit uns die Obsession teilen, sich konstant mit Fragestellungen über die Zukunft zu beschäftigen? Karin Pauers letzte Arbeit war ein Trip in die Geschichte des Universums, in ihrem neuen Stück befasst sie sich nun mit dessen Zukunft. Ironisch verhandelt sie dabei die menschliche Überlegenheitsfantasie, eine übergeordnete Rolle in dieser Welt zu spielen. Spekulationen, multiple Sphären und endlos viele Fragen werden in der Arbeit mit skulpturalen Körperbildern verwoben. Gemeinsam mit ihrer Mutter Johanna Pauer und der Tänzerin Agnieszka Dmochowska versucht Karin Pauer, die Mysterien des Universums zu erkunden und Relationen und Definitionen aufzurütteln. Referenzpunkte werden infrage gestellt, Perspektiven gewechselt. Wir Menschen sind eine Version in einer Reihe von vielen Versionen. In diesem Kosmos gibt es Atome, so massiv wie Sonnen, und Universen, kleiner als Atome. Wie verortet man sich selbst darin?

  • would you rather be time or space?
  • evolution or revolution?
  • to turn around to do what?
  • will it be confusing?
  • have we seen all possible constellations?
  • is this common in the universe?
  • why?
  • why not?
  • ?

 

mehrweniger
 
Sa11. 
Mai
19.30 Uhr/
TQW Studios

Mohamed Toukabri

The Upside Down Man

Tanz & Performance

„I decided in favour of the autobiographical because I’m interested in what is unique and personal. In fact, no one else can tell my story but me, because no one else can see the world through my eyes. Because of this unique quality, every person has his own place in the world. While we tend to generalise, to label, to make packages, it was my aim to say: I am not one story, I am many stories.“ — Mohamed Toukabri

In diesem Selbstporträt verhandelt Mohamed Toukabri Fragen zu Migrationspolitik und den damit einhergehenden Problemen. Vor zehn Jahren kam er nach Brüssel, um bei P.A.R.T.S. zu studieren, seither bewegt er sich zwischen seinem Heimatland Tunesien und seiner Wahlheimat Belgien, zwischen beiden Kulturen und Traditionen, zwischen verschiedenen Kunstrichtungen und Tanzstilen. Genau um dieses Dazwischen geht es in seiner Arbeit: zwischen Gefühl und Vernunft, zwischen Repräsentation und Sein, zwischen dem einen Moment und dem nächsten. In The Upside Down Man stellt Toukabri autobiografische Texte einem virtuosen Bewegungsvokabular – von Breakdance aus Tunis bis zu zeitgenössischem Tanz – gegenüber und erschafft eine Gegenerzählung zu den negativen Zuschreibungen, die das Thema Zuwanderung dominieren: eine, in der es um die Schönheit und den Reichtum geht, die ein Mensch erfährt, der sich zwischen den Ländern, Kulturen und Geschichten hin- und herbewegt.

mehrweniger
im Anschluss an The Upside Down Man/
TQW Studios

Karin Pauer

the next five hundred thousand years of movement

Tanz & Performance

„The cosmos is all there is, or ever was, or ever will be.“ — Carl Sagan

Haben zukünftige Lebensformen, Galaxien, die kleinsten Moleküle im Universum und wir Gemeinsamkeiten? Werden nachfolgende Spezies mit uns die Obsession teilen, sich konstant mit Fragestellungen über die Zukunft zu beschäftigen? Karin Pauers letzte Arbeit war ein Trip in die Geschichte des Universums, in ihrem neuen Stück befasst sie sich nun mit dessen Zukunft. Ironisch verhandelt sie dabei die menschliche Überlegenheitsfantasie, eine übergeordnete Rolle in dieser Welt zu spielen. Spekulationen, multiple Sphären und endlos viele Fragen werden in der Arbeit mit skulpturalen Körperbildern verwoben. Gemeinsam mit ihrer Mutter Johanna Pauer und der Tänzerin Agnieszka Dmochowska versucht Karin Pauer, die Mysterien des Universums zu erkunden und Relationen und Definitionen aufzurütteln. Referenzpunkte werden infrage gestellt, Perspektiven gewechselt. Wir Menschen sind eine Version in einer Reihe von vielen Versionen. In diesem Kosmos gibt es Atome, so massiv wie Sonnen, und Universen, kleiner als Atome. Wie verortet man sich selbst darin?

  • would you rather be time or space?
  • evolution or revolution?
  • to turn around to do what?
  • will it be confusing?
  • have we seen all possible constellations?
  • is this common in the universe?
  • why?
  • why not?
  • ?

 

mehrweniger
im Anschluss an the next five hundred thousand years of movement/
TQW Studios

Sophia Süßmilch

IF YOU THINK YOU ARE A PERFORMANCE ARTIST BUT YOU’RE REALLY JUST A MEME

Tanz & Performance

Sophia Süßmilch, die in ihrer Arbeit oft den Kunstkanon ad absurdum führt, während sie sich u. a. am Mythos des Großkünstlers und den Mechanismen des Kunstmarkts abarbeitet, hat ihre Rolle als Künstlerin immer im Blick. Du denkst, du bist Performance-Artist? Du bist nur ein Meme! Absurdität und Komik sind ihre Antwort auf den Universalanspruch von Kunst. Das Scheitern können wir nicht verhindern, aber dank der Kunst können wir schöner scheitern. Das Leben, eine Performance.

Was bedeutet Identität in einer Zeit, in der wir von Bildern und Informationen überflutet werden? In einer Welt, die uns verspricht, alles sein zu können, wenn wir nur wollen? Welchen Grenzen, Mechanismen und Zwängen sind Menschen dabei unterworfen? Was bleibt von uns, wenn wir die mühsam von uns erschaffenen Bilder abstreifen? Was ist der Kern unserer Existenz? Wo fängst du an, wo höre ich auf?

mehrweniger
 
Loading