Imagining otherwise – How do we move from here?

Thematic Focus
Zeppelin Bend © Ilias Spyrakis 
Thematic Focus

With this new series of events we will see a number of performance artists who do not take for granted the way things are. All real relations are a construct, acts of claiming interpretative authority paired with power dynamics. The artists will focus on current debates in different ways – in the form of playful, precise choreographies, dramatic compositions and narratives – and will prove themselves to be experts in deconstruction, as the writing of the here and now in the arts and the joy of finding artistic-aesthetic forms, fictionalisations and narrations are all part of this process.

Jaha Koo is a gifted storyteller. His stories unearth the catastrophic consequences of colonial oppression and violence – such as the crushing of Korean theatre traditions in his most recent performance The History of Korean Western Theatre. But what story(ies) are being told (about this), and can alternative, authentic narratives help create a different future. For her first duet Zeppelin Bend, Katerina Andreou, whose intense dance solo repeatedly tells of the possibilities of freedom and of hybridity as a constant form, takes a close look at different types of choreographed coexistence and the paradoxical relationship of a strict discipline of the body and its embedded emancipatory potential. Cherish Menzo dissects in JEZEBEL pop-cultural constructions of Black womanhood – the ‘vixen’ from the hip hop videos of the 1990s – in her award-winning solo, without neglecting the complex issues and questions surrounding sexist versus feminist representation: ‘This JEZEBEL refuses to be defined by others!’ Joana Tischkau’s piece BEING PINK AIN’T EASY engages with the insatiable white appetite for Black forms of expression, analysing the ambivalence of defence mechanisms like ‘white fragility’ (Robin DiAngelo) and forms of cultural appropriation.

This special performance programme will be complemented by a lecture and an open lab, both curated by TQW theory curator Janine Jembere. In María Do Mar Castro Varela’s lecture Double Bind, the postcolonial theorist and educationalist advocates an aesthetic educational practice of unlearning in order to create a platform for capturing and talking about the complexity of postcolonial situations. And academic, curator and cultural producer Tonica Hunter and a group of artists, researchers and activists will experiment with the aesthetics of resistance and the possibilities of creating and fostering communities through art practices in the special open lab workshop Imagining otherwise – Aesthetics of Resistance.

 
Loading

Imagining otherwise – How do we move from here?

Schwerpunkt
Zeppelin Bend © Ilias Spyrakis 
Schwerpunkt

Der Schwerpunkt Imagining otherwise – How do we move from here? versammelt Performanceschaffende, für die es keine Selbstverständlichkeit ist, dass die Dinge einfach so sind, wie sie sind. Hinter den realen Verhältnissen steckt ein Konstrukt, Definitionsansprüche gepaart mit Machtverhältnissen. Auf sehr unterschiedliche Weise – mit spielerischen, exakten Choreografien, Dramaturgien und Narrativen – greifen die Künstler* innen aktuelle Diskurse auf und beweisen sich als Expert*innen der Dekonstruktion. Die Kritik an den bestehenden (Macht-)Verhältnissen, das Entwerfen von Alternativen und die Lust an der künstlerisch-ästhetischen Formfindung, Fiktionalisierung und Erzählung gehen dabei Hand in Hand.

Jaha Koo ist ein begnadeter Geschichtenerzähler. Seine Storys legen die katastrophalen Auswirkungen der Kolonialisierung frei – etwa die Zerstörung koreanischer Theatertradition wie er sie in The History of Korean Western Theatre thematisiert. Welche Geschichte(n) aber wird (darüber) erzählt, und kann man mit alternativen, authentischen Narrativen eine andere Zukunft gestalten? Katerina Andreou, deren intensive Tanzsolos immer noch und immer wieder von den Möglichkeiten der Freiheit und dem Hybriden als Konstante erzählen, untersucht in ihrem ersten Duett Zeppelin Bend Formen choreografierter Koexistenz und das paradoxale Verhältnis zwischen strenger Körperdisziplin und emanzipatorischem Potenzial. Cherish Menzo arbeitet sich in ihrem preisgekrönten Solo JEZEBEL an einer Form von popkultureller Konstruktion Schwarzer Weiblichkeit ab – an den „Vixen“ in den Hip-Hop-Videos der 1990er-Jahre –, ohne die komplexen Verhältnisse rund um die Frage von sexistischen versus feministischen Repräsentationen aufzulösen: „This JEZEBEL refuses to be defined by others!“ Joana Tischkaus BEING PINK AIN’T EASY ist eine Auseinandersetzung mit dem unstillbaren weißen Begehren nach Schwarzen Ausdrucksformen entlang der Ambivalenzen zwischen Abwehrmechanismen wie „white fragility“ (Robin DiAngelo) und Formen kultureller Aneignung.

Komplementiert wird das Performanceprogramm mit einem Vortrag und einem Labor, beides kuratiert von TQW Theoriekuratorin Janine Jembere. Die postkoloniale Denkerin und Pädagogin María do Mar Castro Varela plädiert in ihrer Lecture Double Bind für eine ästhetische Bildungspraxis des Verlernens, um den notwendigen Raum für das Erfassen und Erzählen postkolonialer Situationen in ihrer Komplexität herzustellen. Und die Wissenschaftlerin, Kuratorin und Kulturproduzentin Tonica Hunter untersucht im Labor Imagining otherwise – Ästhetiken des Widerstands mit einer Gruppe von Künstler* innen, Researcher*innen und Aktivist*innen Ästhetiken des Widerstands und Möglichkeiten, durch Kunst Gemeinschaft zu entwickeln und zu fördern.

 
Loading