It’s so nice to be powerless

Magdalena Hiller on Meyoucycle by Bauer/Peck/ICTUS
 
© Anne Van Aerschot
Magdalena Hiller on Meyoucycle by Bauer/Peck/ICTUS

The year is 2013. Eleanor Bauer rides her bike, but she has not a moment to spare. No time for Facebook friends because she needs to get likes on Instagram. No time for Instagram because she needs to get laughs on Twitter. No time for Twitter because she needs to keep herself informed about world events. Or does she need to read, to go and see a play, to cook, or to meet friends?

Buddha would tell her to simply ride her bike.

However, the performer Eleanor Bauer takes her computer and writes down the inner monologue.

The year of 2013 also saw the publication of Dave Egger’s global bestseller “The Circle”, a novel lacking depth and which seems like an untalented attempt at rewriting George Orwell’s “1984”. This novel depicts a world in which the eponymous company “The Circle” collects data on everyone. The one who refuses to be “transparent“ and does not publicly share every minute of his daily activities online makes himself suspicious.

The year is 2018 and Dave Egger’s dystopia has nearly become reality. And Eleanor’s bicycle thoughts have found their way into the first scene of her performance Meyoucycle. If pronounced in a sloppy manner, “Meyoucycle” sounds like “Musical”. This deliberate, mildly entertaining pun would be tagged #dadjoke and would not be incredibly successful in accumulating likes. This is what Eleanor Bauer was attracted to – to be awarded funding despite a daft title. Quod erat demonstrandum. But why does it exactly have to be a musical? “There was a time when I really got angry at the performance scene and I thought – fuck it – I will go to Broadway and I will perform the same performance every night and, then, I will go home”, Eleanor Bauer tells me. However, this idea was scrapped, instead Eleanor Bauer began to envision her own musical genre together with musician Chris Peck.

In Meyoucycle, a group of people voluntarily chooses to go into analogue exile. They resent the internet, which is full of opinions and lacks information, which makes every user perform his perfected online-persona, which might potentially hide a company’s “generous support” behind every post and which only guarantees real freedom of speech if you shut up. To get away from this digital totalitarianism, an island serves as the desired location to which the “emotional hackers” and “poetic terrorists” retreat to. Beneath a clear blue sky, surrounded by “plastic” palm trees swaying in the wind and in front of a full moon, the escapists enjoy the comfort of being unheard, of only sharing their emotions and experiences among themselves and translating them into music and choreography.

At a time when all data is being tracked and monetarised, this absolute retreat to privacy also means the renunciation of capitalism per se. Social withdrawal as a type of protest is also an essential technique US-American philosopher and “lifestyle anarchist”[1] Hakim Bey propagates, and who is being referenced in Eleanour Bauer’s Meyoucycle. Bey also coined the term “poetic terrorism”[2] (a term only recently misused by fashion magazine Hypebeast[3] for a Balenciaga editorial). In his book, he introduces the idea of creating “temporary autonomous zones” in which all structures should be torn down to enable unrestrained creative output.

This unrestrained creative output Bey talked about can be felt during the initiation ceremony performed on stage of the “Theatre of Nowhere” by the “emotional hackers” and ‘poetic terrorists’ and their three-member band. There is the sound of tango and gospel music as well as references to musical hits like Chicago and Grease. But even this analogue constellation, which is trying to save the world, faces corruption: the anarchic island performance gradually turns into a publicity event. “Free your flesh from names. Keep your identity in your purse! Let us all be one!”, Eleanor Bauer proclaims just like a televangelist. These lines are appealing, especially, since Gaël Santisteva’s powerful performance of a kitsch ballad reminded us of how good it must feel to be entirely “powerless”. But two hours of digital detox, of phones turned to flight mode during the performance, might just be enough for most audience members. At least, for now.

 

Magdalena Hiller studied business and cultural law in Vienna, Graz and Tokyo. From 2011 to 2015, she wrote reviews about the Austrian theatre scene for her Blog Vierte Wand.

 

 

More texts in TQW MAGAZIN

 

 

[1] Murray Bookchin, Social

Anarchism or Lifestyle

Anarchism, Edinburgh 1995.

[2] www.youtube.com/

watch?v=35FzUW8WaYc

[3] hypebeast.com/2018/1/

balenciaga-2018-spring-summereditorial-

hypebeast-magazine

 

 
Loading

It’s so nice to be powerless

Magdalena Hiller über Meyoucycle von Bauer/Peck/ICTUS
 
© Anne van Aerschot
Magdalena Hiller über Meyoucycle von Bauer/Peck/ICTUS

Wir schreiben das Jahr 2013. Eleanor Bauer fährt mit dem Fahrrad und sie hat keine Zeit. Keine Zeit für ihre Facebook-Freunde, weil sie ja auf Instagram Likes sammeln sollte. Keine Zeit für Instagram, weil sie ja auf Twitter lustig sein sollte. Keine Zeit für Twitter, weil sie ja das Weltgeschehen verfolgen sollte. Oder doch endlich lesen, ins Theater gehen, kochen oder Freunde treffen?
Buddha würde sagen, sie sollte einfach Fahrrad fahren.
Die Performerin Eleanor Bauer aber setzt sich an den Computer und notiert den inneren Monolog.

In diesem 2013 hat Dave Eggers gerade seinen zukünftigen Weltbesteller „The Circle“ veröffentlicht, einen ziemlich flachen Roman, den George Orwell mit „1984“ schon einmal besser geschrieben hat und der eine Welt zeichnet, in der alles von der titelgebenden Firma „The Circle“ datenbekrakt wird. Wer sich nicht als „transparent“ deklariert und seinen Alltag minutiös der Öffentlichkeit im sozialen Netz präsentiert, gilt als schwer verdächtig.

Wir schreiben das Jahr 2018 und Dave Eggers´ Dystopie ist fast Realität geworden. Und Eleanor Bauers Fahrradgedanken haben es zur ersten Szene ihres Stücks Meyoucycle gebracht. „Meyoucycle“, das klingt schlampig ausgesprochen wie „Musical“ und dieser bewusst schwache Wortwitz würde im Neuland Internet mit dem Hashtag „#dadjoke“ versehen werden und eher nicht besonders viele Likes bekommen. Genau daran lag der Reiz für Eleanor Bauer – trotz bescheuertem Titel eine Förderung zu bekommen. Quod erat demonstrandum. Und wieso gerade ein Musical? „Es gab eine Zeit, in der ich eine große Wut auf die Performance-Szene hatte und ich mir dachte – fuck it – ich gehe an den Broadway, liefere jeden Abend das gleiche ab und gehe danach einfach wieder nach Hause.“, so Eleanor Bauer im Gespräch. Diese Idee wurde verworfen, stattdessen begann Eleanor Bauer gemeinsam mit dem Musiker Chris Peck ihre eigene Vorstellung des Genres zu verwirklichen.

In Meyoucycle geht eine Gruppe von Menschen ins digitale Exil. Sie verweigern sich jenem Internet, das voll mit Meinungen ist und mit Informationen geizt, in dem jeder Akteur permanent zum Performer seiner optimierten Online-Persona wird, wo jede Äußerung potentiell von einem Unternehmen „freundlich unterstützt“ sein könnte und die einzige Möglichkeit der wirklichen Meinungsfreiheit jene ist, die Klappe zu halten. Der Ort an dem sich die „Emotional Hackers“ und „Poetic Terrorists“ vorm digitalen Totalitarismus zurückziehen, ist eine Insel. Unter freiem Himmel, vor im Wind wippenden (Plastik-)Palmen und dem hellen Mond, leisten sich die Eskapisten den Luxus ungehört zu bleiben und ihre alltäglichen Emotionen und Erlebnisse nur für sich selbst musikalisch und choreografisch zu verarbeiten.

In einer Zeit in der jede hinterlassene Datenspur im Netz Geld bedeutet, ist dieser absolute Rückzug ins Private auch eine Abkehr vom Kapitalismus per se. Den Rückzug als Aufbegehren propagiert schon seit Mitte der 80er der US-amerikanische Philosoph und „Lifestyle Anarchist“ [1] Hakim Bey, auf dessen Werk sich Eleanor Bauer in „MeYouCycle“ immer wieder bezieht, und der auch den Begriff des „Poetic Terrorism“ (der kürzlich auch vom Modemagazin Hypebeast für ein Balenciaga-Editorial ausgeschlachtet wurde), geprägt hat. Bey schlägt in seinen Essays die Einrichtung von „Temporären Autonomen Zonen“ vor, in denen alle Strukturen zugunsten der Entfaltung unbändiger Kreativität zerschlagen werden sollen.

Dem Initiationsritus, welchen die „Emotional Hackers“ und „Poetic Terrorists“ und ihre dreiköpfige Live-Band auf die Bühne ihres „Theatre of Nowhere“ bringen, wohnt genau diese unbändige Kreativität inne, von der Bey wohl gesprochen hat. Hier haben Tango und Gospel genauso Platz wie Referenzen an Musical-Klassiker wie Chicago oder Grease. Doch auch die analogen Weltverbesserer sind von ihren eigenen Ideen korrumpierbar, und so gerät die Vorstellung auf der Anarcho-Insel zur Werbeveranstaltung. „Befreit euer Fleisch von seinem Namen. Und lasst euren Ausweis für immer in der Geldbörse! Lasst uns alle eines werden!“ ruft einem Eleanor Bauer im Stile evangelikaler TV-Prediger zu. Verlockend, weiß man doch noch von der vorherigen Schunkelballade, eindringlich vorgetragen von Gaël Santisteva, wie schön es sich anfühlen muss, gänzlich „powerless“ zu sein. Für Großteile des Publikums dürften jedoch die zwei Stunden, die das Handy während der Aufführung im Flugmodus verbracht hat, für den Digital Detox ausreichen. Zumindest vorerst.

 

[1] Bookchay, Murry; Social Anarchism or Lifestyle Anarchism (1995)

 

Magdalena Hiller hat Wirtschaftsrecht und Kulturrecht in Wien, Graz und Tokyo studiert. Von 2011 bis 2015 erkundete sie auf ihrem Blog „Vierte Wand“ die österreichische Theaterszene.

 

Alle Beiträge im TQW MAGAZIN

 
Loading