Melancholy and community

Claudia Slanar on Stranger Than Paradise by Liquid Loft
 
Claudia Slanar on Stranger Than Paradise by Liquid Loft

Taking the performance situation into account when contemplating the performative arts isn’t really an option these days. Premieres online instead of onstage, pieces on the screen, watching on the computer. After almost a year of “practice”, a democratisation among participants in online conversations can be achieved, provided the tools are configured accordingly. The psychological barrier to ask questions is easier to overcome; people tend to have fewer qualms about writing in a chat compared to shouting at the stage from an auditorium. And, apparently, it’s also easier to express praise and thanks that way. Of course, all of this is at the expense of actually being “present”: of seeing and hearing the dancers’ bodies, of feeling, smelling, hearing the other spectators’ bodies – none of this is possible.

Why this lengthy observation in the opening remarks? Stranger Than Paradise cannot begin without reporting on the conditions of its performance either. First, I see a stage, eight performers move about on it, warming up, rehearsing. The edge of the stage is visible, covered with clothes that will be changed during the piece and fabrics that will be used as part of the performance. This exterior is complemented by the recording equipment: camera, monitors, computer with editing software, sound and light mixing console. The beginning resembles an “establishing shot” in film: the scene is set, the context is established, mostly from a bird’s eye view, from above at an angle, too. After the cut, I’m genuinely closer to the action. And soon, guided by the camera and the director, I’m right in the middle of it. As I sit in front of my computer screen with good headphones – it’s dark outside – it actually feels like I’m watching a movie, all of a sudden. Which makes sense in the context of Liquid Loft’s practice of frequently conceptualising bodies as mediatised, and the act of performing as a practice defined by cinematic images, even a cinematic language. The music – the score – also adds to this effect. It establishes the atmosphere, among other things, it underlines the solos’ highlights. Through it and with it, the dancers drift into another (dream) world, are recovered again in the end and finally, after the music has stopped, they are left surprised, confused, perplexed and are released back into – well, where to exactly? Off-screen? Into reality?

The interim are 40 minutes’ worth of reflections on images of the body, images of people; on loneliness, and on the possibility and, at the same time, the impossibility of approaching one another in a community. Fluid beings rather than machines or robots manifest themselves, which is underlined by a stage set made up of medium-height concave mirrors. This house of mirrors that is a blend of Deleuzian actuality and virtuality – outside of which the individual can no longer conceive of itself (or so the theory goes) – contains infinitely deep sadness and melancholy. Because the exterior, the coming together of these individuals also has the capacity for rigidity, for stagnation. There is only a (very) vague hint of becoming. This “becoming” (animal, machine, post-human?) is also associated with exertion and suffering. An echo of ubiquitous neoliberal self-optimisation is palpable but isn’t the most pressing concern. This seems to be the constellations and possibilities of communication that don’t exist yet and have to be renegotiated. The pas de deux are performed side by side. The bodies as signs (of automatonism, animalism, humanity) replicate themselves by way of their gestures, repeatedly solidifying into an image, sometimes even into eerie shadows. The most touching moments are those that approximate a connection and, for a little while, achieve harmony.

After the end of the piece, with the credits still running, I can’t help but google the music and make some surprising discoveries: Penelope Trappes’ interpretation of Nick Cave and The Birthday Party is colder than ice; a slowed-down Annie Lennox suddenly sounds like 1970s soul and then again like David Bowie. Ultimately, this draws the attention back to the fluidification of a rigid concept of identity and the not yet exhausted possibilities of becoming. Despite the melancholy, the sadness about an uncertain future, there remains a feeling of happiness, a sense of being moved, that lingers.

 

Claudia Slanar is an art historian and the curator of Blickle Kino in Belvedere 21. She writes about film and visual arts, sometimes about performances, and with pleasure about site-specific art.

 

 
Loading

Melancholie und Gemeinschaft

Claudia Slanar über Stranger Than Paradise von Liquid Loft
 
© Chris Haring
Claudia Slanar über Stranger Than Paradise von Liquid Loft

Dieser Tage kann wohl kaum jemand umhin, in Betrachtungen über performative Künste die Aufführungssituation miteinzubeziehen. Premieren online statt auf der Bühne, Zuschauen vom Computer aus, Stücke auf dem Bildschirm. Bei Onlinegesprächen – nach beinahe einem Jahr „Praxis“ – kann es mittlerweile zu einer Demokratisierung der Sprecher*innen kommen, vorausgesetzt die Tools sind so gewählt. Die Hemmschwelle, Fragen zu stellen, ist wesentlich niedriger; es ist leichter, in den Chat zu schreiben, als aus einem Zuschauerraum Richtung Bühne zu rufen. Und scheinbar ist es ebenfalls leichter, Lob und Dank auszudrücken. Dies alles geht natürlich zu Lasten der „Anwesenheit“: Die Tänzer*innenkörper zu sehen und zu hören, die anderen Zuseher*innenkörper zu spüren, zu riechen, zu hören – all das ist nicht möglich.

Warum diese lange Betrachtung zur Einführung? Stranger Than Paradise kann ebenfalls nicht beginnen, ohne über seine Aufführungssituation zu berichten. Zu Beginn sehe ich eine Bühne, acht Performer*innen, die sich darauf bewegen, aufwärmen, proben. Der Bühnenrand ist sichtbar, mit Kleidung, die während des Stücks getauscht werden wird, und Stoffen, mit denen performt werden wird, bedeckt. Erweitert ist dieses Außen um die Aufnahmeapparatur: Kamera, Monitore, Computer mit Schnittprogramm, Ton- und Lichtmischpult. Dieser Beginn gleicht einem „establishing shot“ im Film: der Ort des Geschehens, der Kontext wird etabliert, meist aus der Vogelperspektive, auch hier von schräg oben. Nach dem Schnitt bin ich tatsächlich näher am Geschehen, und bald, von Kameraauge und Regie geführt, mittendrin. Wie ich so mit guten Kopfhörern vor meinem Computerbildschirm sitze, draußen ist es dunkel, fühlt es sich plötzlich tatsächlich wie ein Film an, den ich mir ansehe. Das macht im Zusammenhang mit Liquid Lofts Praxis Sinn, werden die Körper doch oft als bereits mediatisierte, das Performen als eine von Filmbildern, ja sogar einer filmischen Sprache definierte Praxis mitgedacht. Die Musik – der Score – trägt dazu bei. Er etabliert die Atmosphäre, unterstreicht etwa die Höhepunkte der Solos. Durch und mit ihm driften die Tänzer*innen ab in eine andere (Traum-)Welt und werden am Ende wieder aufgefangen und schließlich, nachdem die Musik verstummt ist, überrascht, konsterniert, ratlos zurückge- und in die – ja wohin eigentlich? In das filmische Off? In die Wirklichkeit? – entlassen.

Dazwischen liegen 40 Minuten Reflexion über Körperbilder, Menschenbilder; über Einsamkeit und die Möglichkeit und gleichzeitige Unmöglichkeit, in der Gemeinschaft zueinanderzufinden. Weniger Maschinen oder Roboter denn fluide Wesen zeigen sich, was durch das Setting mit halbhohen konkaven Spiegeln unterstrichen wird. In diesem Spiegelkabinett der Vermischung von Deleuze’scher Aktualität und Virtualität – außerhalb dessen sich das Individuum nicht mehr denken kann (so die These) – ist eine unendlich tiefe Trauer und Melancholie angelegt. Denn das Außen, das Aufeinandertreffen dieser Individuen birgt ebenfalls Erstarrung, ein Auf-der-Stelle-Treten. Es gibt nur eine (weit) entfernte Ahnung eines Werdens. Dieses „becoming“ (animal, machine, post-human?) ist ebenfalls mit Arbeit und Leid verbunden. Die allgegenwärtige neoliberale Selbstoptimierung schwingt hier mit, ist aber nicht das dringlichste Anliegen. Es sind eher die Konstellationen und die Möglichkeiten zu kommunizieren, die da nicht existieren und erst neu verhandelt werden müssen. Die Pas de deux laufen nebeneinander ab. Die Körper als Zeichen (der Automatenhaftigkeit, der Tierhaftigkeit, des Menschseins) wiederholen sich in ihren Gesten, erstarren dabei immer wieder zum Bild, manchmal auch zu unheimlichen Schatten. Am berührendsten sind jene Momente, in denen sich einer Verbindung angenähert wird, für eine kurze Zeit ein Gleichklang erreicht werden kann.

Nach dem Ende des Stücks, die Credits laufen noch, kann ich nicht umhin, die Musik zu googeln und auf so manche Überraschung zu stoßen: Penelope Trappes’ Interpretation von Nick Cave und The Birthday Party ist kälter als Eis; eine verlangsamte Annie Lennox klingt plötzlich wie Soul aus den 1970ern und dann wieder wie David Bowie. Das lenkt die Aufmerksamkeit zuletzt wieder auf das Verflüssigen eines starren Identitätskonzepts und auf die noch nicht ausgeschöpften Möglichkeiten des Werdens. Bei aller Melancholie, bei aller Trauer über eine so ungewisse Zukunft bleibt ein Glücksgefühl, eine Ergriffenheit, die nachwirkt.

 

Claudia Slanar ist Kunsthistorikerin und Kuratorin des Blickle Kinos im Belvedere 21. Sie schreibt über Film und bildende Kunst, manchmal über Performances, gerne auch site-specific.

 
Loading