My house is your house and your house is mine

Jette Büchsenschütz on Philipp Gehmacher’s It is a balancing act to live without your attention
Jette Büchsenschütz on Philipp Gehmacher’s It is a balancing act to live without your attention

Can you free yourself from the past, even if it is as disturbing and brutal as Eddy Bellegueule’s upbringing in rural northern France? Eddy Bellegueule does not exist anymore. He is now called Édouard Louis and he is the narrator of the autobiographical novel “The End of Eddy”. It tells the story of a bleak childhood and of the apparent impossibilty of being different. The role one has to take on has been clearly defined: women have babies and become cashiers, men work in the regional factory and get pissed on Pastis. They are all entrapped by a social class system. The power of the social background and its haunting memories constitute the prison from which you need to escape – Édouard Louis’ story is about trauma and emotional processing. But it also serves as a source of inspiration for Philipp Gehmacher’s, Jen Rosenblit’s and Gérald Kudian’s own biographical reflections.

Memories are fragile, delicate and unreliable. Memories need safeguarding, discretion and doubt, because they are easily manipulated. Which memories do I recall? Which do you? And how do they form? Are they composed of fragments and excerpts which I can freely choose from? Which I can layer and piece together according to my own liking, thus fabricating my own biography? But maybe a memory needs some sort of interpretation, some subconscious arrangement of the event material in order to be formed? Memories are as opaque and delicate as the tissue paper used for Astrid Wagner’s memory-paintings. The mind palace is dedicated to Philipp Gehmacher’s, Jen Rosenblit’s and Gérald Kurdian’s memories. Its doors are open to us. Pieces of a puzzle spread out in front of us, each piece connected to a memory, and every geometric form connected to even more memories. An archive from which I may randomly choose?

It stores: the fragrance of a Michael Kors perfume, a 100 ASA 35mm and 36-exposure film (perfect for hot summer days in France), a Mozartkugel (from Salzburg), a bag of popcorn (for being on the couch and in front of the TV), the reaction of Philipp Gehmacher’s parents after they had seen his first performance: “I was out of reach for them”, Gérald Kurdian’s recollection of his mother: “She performed the non-immigrant”.

Remembrance as a search process in which there are multi-layered, interlinked and intersecting story lines. The three biographies represent the multitude, but singular biographies eventually add up to one final story. Thus, the past appears to be ever changing. The present always constitutes the past. We use memories to affirm the present, to create something unheard of or reflect on our point of view. Remembrance is an act of self-assurance, it creates identity. But can we really overcome the past? To what extent am I entrapped by my own memory’s images, my own biographical shell?

“Who is your father, Darth Vader?”

How can I not be my parents’ child?

“I still have not figured out how to

be my mother’s daughter.”

With hesitant, tarrying and stuttering movements, Philipp Gehmacher finally takes off, even shakes off, the blanket he had wrapped around himself. We are watching a body trying to find its balance – perhaps even trying to find its identity? We need to ask ourselves: does the process of creating identity not represent a balancing act between interior and exterior, you and me, looking and being looked at?

For one part, you are on your own:

“There is no shame in reaching to yourself.”

“How to detangle?”

For the other part, you are part of a collective:

“Who are we to each other?”

Your story is always my story too.

 

Jette Büchsenschütz studied sinology in Hangzhou (China) and dance studies in Berlin. After staying for several months in China, she went on to work as assistant director at a number of theatres in Berlin. Her master thesis is concerned with speculative realism and the performative momentum of things in the field of dance and performance.

 

 

More texts in TQW MAGAZIN

 
Loading

My house is your house and your house is mine

Jette Büchsenschütz über It is a balancing act to live without your attention von Philipp Gehmacher
Jette Büchsenschütz über It is a balancing act to live without your attention von Philipp Gehmacher

Kann man sich von seiner Vergangenheit befreien, auch wenn sie so verstörend und brutal war, wie sie Eddy Bellegueule in der nordfranzösischen Provinz erlebt hat? Eddy Bellegueule gibt es nicht mehr. Er heißt jetzt Édouard Louis und ist der Erzähler seines autobiografischen Romans „Das Ende von Eddy“. Darin wird eine scheinbar ausweglose Kindheit beschrieben, in der es unmöglich scheint, anders zu sein als die anderen. Die Lebensläufe sind klar definiert: Frauen bekommen Kinder und werden Kassiererin, die Männer arbeiten in der dorfeigenen Fabrik und saufen Pastis. Sie sind Gefangene ihrer sozialen Herkunft. Heimat als Ursprungsmacht, Erinnerung als Gefängnis, aus dem es sich zu befreien gilt – Édouard Louis’ Geschichte ist ein Prozess des Eingedenkens und der Verarbeitung. Und Inspiration für Philipp Gehmachers, Jen Rosenblits und Gérald Kurdians Reflexionen über die eigene Biografie.

Erinnerungen sind fragil, empfindlich und unzuverlässig. Sie verlangen nach Schutz, Diskretion und Misstrauen, denn sie sind leicht manipulierbar. Was ist meine Erinnerung? Was deine? Und wie bilden sie sich? Aus Versatz- und Puzzlestücken, die ich beliebig auswählen kann? Die ich, je nach Bedürfnis, übereinanderlegen und kombinieren kann, um mir meine eigene Biografie zusammenzubasteln? Oder ist eine Erinnerung, um sich überhaupt zu bilden, nicht doch auf eine Art Interpretation angewiesen, auf ein unbewusstes Arrangieren des Erinnerungsmaterials? Erinnerungen sind so opak und zart wie das Seidenpapier, auf das Astrid Wagner Erinnerungsbilder gemalt hat. Der Gedächtnispalast, in den wir blicken, ist Philipp Gehmachers, Jen Rosenblits und Gérald Kurdians Erinnerungen gewidmet. Die Türen zu diesem Palast stehen uns offen. Es sind Puzzleteile, sichtbar vor uns ausgebreitet, jedes Teil an eine Erinnerung gekoppelt, die in geometrischer Form zu weiteren Erinnerungen geknüpft werden können. Ein Archivraum, aus dem ich beliebig auswählen kann?

In ihm abgespeichert sind: der Duft eines Michael-Kors-Parfüms, ein 100-ASA-Kleinbildfilm für 36 Aufnahmen (gut für heiße Sommertage in Frankreich), eine Mozartkugel (aus Salzburg), die Popcorntüte (für auf dem Sofa vor dem Fernseher), die Reaktion der Eltern, als sie Philipp Gehmachers erste Bühnenperformance sehen: „I was out of reach for them“, Gérald Kurdians Erinnerung an seine Mutter: „She performed the non-immigrant.“

Das Erinnern wird zu einem Suchvorgang, in dem sich Geschichten überlagern, überkreuzen und ineinander verweben. Die drei Biografien sind viele, aus einzelnen Biografien entsteht schließlich eine Geschichte. So ist die Vergangenheit immer auch etwas Neues. Sie ist immer eine Konstruktion der Gegenwart. Wir nutzen Erinnerungen zur Bestätigung der Gegenwart, zum Anstoß von Erneuerungen oder zur Reflexion des eigenen Standpunkts. Erinnerung dient der Selbstvergewisserung, sie stiftet Identität. Aber können wir uns wirklich von unserer Vergangenheit lösen? Wie sehr bin ich gefangen in den Bildern meiner Erinnerung, im Haus meiner Biografie?

„Who is your father, Darth

Vader?“

Wie nicht mehr Kind meiner

Eltern sein?

„I still have not figured out how

to be my mother’s daughter.“

Zögernd, zaudernd und stotternd sind die Bewegungen, mit denen Philipp Gehmacher schließlich die Decke, in die er sich gehüllt hat, von sich abstreift, gar abschüttelt. Wir sehen einen Körper, der seine Balance sucht – vielleicht auch seine Identität? Denn bedeutet Identität nicht, den Balanceakt zu bewältigen zwischen innen und außen, zwischen mir und dir, zwischen Sehen und Gesehenwerden?

Einerseits allein:

„There is no shame in reaching

to yourself.“

„How to detangle?“

Andererseits kollektiv:

„Who are we to each other?“

Deine Geschichte ist immer auch meine.

 

Jette Büchsenschütz studierte Sinologie in Hangzhou (VR China) und Tanzwissenschaft in Berlin. Auf längere Aufenthalte in China folgten Regiehospitanzen und -assistenzen an Berliner Stadttheatern. Jette Büchsenschütz beschäftigt sich in ihrer Masterarbeit mit spekulativem Realismus und der performativen Eigendynamik von Dingen im Tanz- und Performancebereich.

 

 

Alle Beiträge im TQW MAGAZIN

 
Loading