Online Premiere: The Art of Movement

A film by Boglárka Börcsök in collaboration with Andreas Bolm
The Art of Movement – Teaser 
A film by Boglárka Börcsök in collaboration with Andreas Bolm

The Art of Movement is a sensual and insightful film about three elderly dancers from Budapest. Éva E. Kovács, Irén Preisich and Ágnes Roboz – all between 90 and 100 years old – were once part of the early modern dance movement in Hungary. Taking the role of a dance student and dialogue partner, director Boglárka Börcsök retraces how each of the elderly dancers transformed their lives and movement practices in order to survive the major socio-political changes of the last century.

The film takes us into a personal and bodily encounter with three very different personalities and their relation to their past and present. Returning to the stage and performing in their private rooms, Irén, Éva and Ágnes reveal us an incredible richness of experience stored in their bodies. A choreography of memories.

The online premiere of  The Art of Movement is hosted by Tanzquartier Wien, PACT Zollverein, and Montag Modus. The film is available to watch from Monday, 25 May, 16.00 to Friday, 29 May, 24.00. Watch the film here.

You can meet the filmmakers Boglárka Börcsök and Andreas Bolm on Thursday, 28 May at 19.00 in a Live Zoom Q&A Talk organized with curators Katalin Erdődi and Léna Szirmay-Kalos. The talk will be in English. Join with your questions and comments on Zoom for a live moderated discussion.
Sign up at this e-mail: theartofmovement.film@gmail.com
We’ll mail you the meeting URL and the login one hour before the event starts.

 

Credits:

The Art of Movement
DE 2020, 58 min., Hungarian with English subtitles
A Tanzfonds Erbe project

Cast: Éva E. Kovács, Irén Preisich, Ágnes Roboz
Written and directed by Boglárka Börcsök
Artistic collaboration: Andreas Bolm
Editing: Andreas Bolm, Boglárka Börcsök
Cinematography: Lisa Rave
Produced by Whole Wall Films
Production manager: Elisa Calosi
Colour, sound: Andreas Bolm
Sound mixing: Jochen Jezzusek
English translation: David Robert Evans

Funded by Tanzfonds Erbe – an initiative by the German Federal Cultural Foundation, La Musée de la Danse/ Centre chorégraphique de Rennes et de Bretagne, Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa, Berlin. Supported by Akademie Schloss Solitude and József Attila Circle József Attila Circle as part of the Eastern European exchange programme, Hungarian National Film Fund – Film Archive, OSzMI – Hungarian Theatre Museum and Institute, PACT Zollverein Residency Programme, AQB – Art Quarter Budapest, Franz Liszt Academy of Music, Orkesztika Foundation, weltfilm.

© 2020 Whole Wall Films & Boglárka Börcsök

 
Loading

Online-Premiere: The Art of Movement

Ein Film von Boglárka Börcsök in Zusammenarbeit mit Andreas Bolm
The Art of Movement – Teaser 
Ein Film von Boglárka Börcsök in Zusammenarbeit mit Andreas Bolm

The Art of Movement ist ein sinnlicher und eindringlicher Film über drei ältere Tänzerinnen aus Budapest. Éva E. Kovács, Irén Preisich und Ágnes Roboz – zwischen 90 und 100 Jahre alt – waren einst Teil der modernen Tanzbewegung in Ungarn. Regisseurin Boglárka Börcsök schlüpft in die Rolle einer Tanzschülerin und Dialogpartnerin und zeichnet nach, wie jede der Tänzerinnen ihr Leben und ihre Bewegungspraxis verändert hat, um die großen gesellschaftspolitischen Umbrüche des letzten Jahrhunderts zu überstehen. Der Film ermöglicht eine persönliche und körperliche Begegnung mit drei sehr unterschiedlichen Persönlichkeiten und ihrer Beziehung zu ihrer Vergangenheit und Gegenwart.

Irén, Éva und Ágnes kehren auf die Bühne zurück und performen in ihren eigenen vier Wänden. Vor uns tut sich ein unglaublicher Erfahrungsschatz auf, der in ihren Körpern gespeichert ist. Eine Choreografie der Erinnerungen.

Die Online-Premiere von The Art of Movement wird von Tanzquartier Wien gemeinsam mit PACT Zollverein und Montag Modus gehostet. Der Film ist von Montag, 25. Mai, 16 Uhr bis Freitag, 29. Mai, 24 Uhr freigeschaltet. Hier geht es zum Film.

Am Donnerstag, dem 28. Mai um 19 Uhr laden die Filmemacher*innen Boglárka Börcsök und Andreas Bolm zum Live Zoom Q&A Talk ein, organisiert gemeinsam mit den Kuratorinnen Katalin Erdődi und Léna Szirmay-Kalos. In einer moderierten Diskussion haben Sie die Gelegenheit, Fragen und Gedanken zum Film zu teilen und mehr über den Entstehungsprozess und die Hintergründe zu erfahren.
Anmeldung unter: theartofmovement.film@gmail.com
Eine Stunde vor Beginn des Talks erhalten Sie die URL zum Zutritt per E-Mail.

 

Credits:

The Art of Movement
DE 2020, 58 Min., Ungarisch mit englischen Untertiteln
Ein Tanzfonds Erbe Projekt

Mit: Éva E. Kovács, Irén Preisich, Ágnes Roboz
Buch, Regie: Boglárka Börcsök
Künstlerische Zusammenarbeit: Andreas Bolm
Schnitt: Andreas Bolm, Boglárka Börcsök
Kamera: Lisa Rave
Produktion: Whole Wall Films
Produktionsleitung: Elisa Calosi
Farben, Sound: Andreas Bolm
Tonmischung: Jochen Jezzusek
Englische Übersetzung: David Robert Evans

Gefördert von Tanzfonds Erbe – eine Initiative der Kulturstiftung des Bundes, La Musée de la Danse / Centre chorégraphique de Rennes et de Bretagne, Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa, Berlin.

Unterstützt von Akademie Schloss Solitude und József Attila Circle im Rahmen des osteuropäischen Austauschprogramms, Ungarischer Nationaler Filmfonds – Filmarchiv, OSzMI – Ungarisches Theatermuseum und Institut, PACT Zollverein Residency-Programm, AQB – Art Quarter Budapest, Franz Liszt Musikakademie, Orkesztika Stiftung, weltfilm.

© 2020 Whole Wall Films & Boglárka Börcsök

 
Loading