Precedence, Dance and the Contemporary

Rolando Vázquez on The Jaguar and the Snake by Amanda Piña / nadaproductions
 
© Marc Domage
Rolando Vázquez on The Jaguar and the Snake by Amanda Piña / nadaproductions

“The deer is our teacher, our bible, our library.”[1]

Animal bodies are staring at us from within the infinite depth of the mirror, we witness bodies in the mode of listening; listening to the elders, the wise teachers, the animals. We are at the “School of the Jaguar” of Amanda Piña’s long-term project “Endangered Human Movements”. Here, the animal is embodied as the elder, the ancestor, not as the other of the person, nor solely as a companion species. This precedential[2] animality calls on us to re-member who we are. The dance of The Jaguar and the Snake offers us the possibility of exiting our subjectivity as spectators, it offers us the possibility of entering a memorial and plural self, to become testimonial subjects, borrowing the term from Rana Hamadeh[3], and to envisage the possibility of not being one. Are we capable of listening to the multiplication of the person that the epistemology and aesthesis of the Wixáritari teach us, can we listen to shamanism as “a practice in not being one”[4]? Can we listen to this knowledge and aesthesis not as a mythical belief but as holding the possibility of exiting our confinement in the amnesic superficiality of modern individuality? Can we unlearn our being spectators in the modern world of representation and its world artifice? Re-membering, religating our earth-bodies, our animal-bodies, our ancestral-bodies opens a path outside our amnesic condition as individuals, as consumers, as spectators. It opens a horizon beyond the superficiality of immanence. Listening[5], we begin to sense what has happened to us in our unbecoming plural, our unrooting, our dis-memory, our dis-membering, our turning into orphans of the Earth.

The animal movements re-emerge in their deep temporality from the other side of the colonial difference that was first guarded by the “pose of the conquistador” and continues to be upkept by the temporal normativity of contemporaneity. Studying the Spanish dance treatise by Juan de Esquivel Navarro from 1642, Nicole Haitzinger typifies the “pose of the conquistador” as the pose of the sovereign self. This pose functioned as the norm, as the base position of Western dance in the colonial period. Haitzinger shows how the sovereign position manifests itself in its stability and “propensity to violence”, in its “(target-)oriented gaze”, and its appearance as “empty of feeling”.[6] The “pose of the conquistador”, as the performance of the sovereign subject, can be understood as an “ideal type”, one that sets the ground for today’s modern consumer subject, that is, a subject that has to invest himself in performing the sovereignty of the self, of individuality. The model of the consumer is that of an individual performing a “unique” identity and exercising his power, his dreams, and his pleasures under conditions of indolence, that is, “empty of feeling” for the exploitation and destitution of others and the wasting away of the body of Earth. The consumer, the sovereign individual, is confined to live on the surface of contemporaneity, in the now of representation. For him the universe of the real, the field of experience is reduced to the superficiality of the now, the empty time of modernity.

In the The Jaguar and the Snake, the disposition of the body is not a choreography of poses that represent animals, in it movement appears as precedential verbality, dance as re-membrance, as a re-emergence with earth beings[7], our elders. The notion of movement as representation in space is superseded by the body as a verbality, by the embodiment of time, by a memorial body that flares into the deep present.

“Movement”, says Amanda Piña, “is emergent, and ‘it does’ the mover […]. [It] is not an object […] ‘movement does me’ the dancer is moved, executed by the movement […], modified by the movement in tone, sensation and perception.”[8]

Here, movement is a practicing of memory, is the re-emergence of the memorial. Beneath the psychologisms of our individualised memories lies the radical plurality of time where memory exceeds the confines of form and representation, of the Human and the self. The mnemonic movement of the animal, our elder, ourselves cannot be circumvented by the now of contemporaneity, nor reduced to the field of abstraction. It retains its opacity as a testimony of the radical diversity of the heritages of Earth that are always already in excess of the epistemic and aesthetic territory of modernity.

 

Rolando Vázquez is associate professor of sociology at University College Roosevelt and affiliated researcher at the Gender Studies Department and at the Research institute for Cultural Inquiry (ICON) at the Faculty of Humanities, University of Utrecht. He has co-organised the Middelburg Decolonial Summer School together with Walter Mignolo for the last nine years. He is engaged with the movement of Decolonial Aesthesis.

 

[1] Mara’akame Juan Jose Ramirez, The Jaguar Talks, Tanzquartier Wien 2019.
[2] To learn more about “precedence” see Rolando Vázquez, Precedence, Earth and the Anthropocene: Decolonizing Design. Design Philosophy Papers, DOI: 10.1080/14487136.2017.1303130 (2017).
[3] Rolando Vázquez and Rana Hamadeh, Conversation, in Lafayette Anticipations, Le centre ne peut tenir, Lafayette Anticipations, Paris 2019.
[4] Johannes Neurath, Being more than one: Complex identities in indigenous modernity, in Amanda Piña, Angela Vadori, Christina Gillinger-Correa Vivar (eds.), Endangered Human Movements Vol. 3 – The School of the Jaguar, Vienna 2019, p. 118.
[5] Rolando Vázquez, Decolonial Listening (interview by Zoë Dankert), Soapbox 1.1 2019.
[6] Nicole Haitzinger, Mirroring the Conquistador’s Pose: Being Centaur and Becoming Jaguar, in Piña, Vadori, Gillinger-Correa Vivar (eds.) 2019, pp. 191.
[7] To learn more about the Andean notion of Earth beings see Marisol de la Cadena, Earth beings: Ecologies of practice across Andean worlds, Durham, NC 2015.
[8] Amanda Piña, Ideas for a practice of “Compossession” in Piña, Vadori, Gillinger-Correa Vivar (eds.) 2019, pp. 283.

 

 

More texts in TQW MAGAZIN

Give feedback to magazin@tqw.at

 

 
Loading

Präzedenz, Tanz und das Kontemporäre

Rolando Vázquez über The Jaguar and the Snake von Amanda Piña / nadaproductions
 
© Marc Domage
Rolando Vázquez über The Jaguar and the Snake von Amanda Piña / nadaproductions

“The deer is our teacher, our bible, our library.”[1]

 

Tierkörper starren uns aus der unendlichen Tiefe des Spiegels an, wir erleben Körper im Modus des Zuhörens; den Ältesten, den weisen Lehrer*innen, den Tieren lauschend. Wir befinden uns in der School of the Jaguar von Amanda Piñas Langzeitprojekt „Endangered Human Movements“ (gefährdete menschliche Bewegungen). Hier verkörpert das Tier die Ältesten, die Ahnen, nicht den*die*das Fremde*n im Vergleich zu einer Person, oder bloß einen Gefährten. Diese präzendenziale Animalität[2] fordert uns dazu auf, uns daran zu erinnern, wer wir sind. Der Tanz in The Jaguar and the Snake bietet uns die Möglichkeit, aus unserer Subjektivität als Zuschauer*innen herauszutreten. Er bietet uns die Möglichkeit, in ein plurales Selbst des Gedenkens einzutauchen, zu Zeugnis ablegenden Subjekten (testimonial subjects) zu werden, um mit den Worten von Rana Hamadeh[3] zu sprechen, und die Möglichkeit in Betracht zu ziehen, nicht eins zu sein. Sind wir in der Lage, der Multiplikation der Einzelperson zu lauschen, die uns die Epistemologie und Aisthesis der Wixáritari lehren? Können wir dem Schamanismus als einer „Übung im nicht eins sein“[4] Gehör schenken? Können wir diesem Wissen und dieser Aisthesis nicht als einem mythischen Glauben zuhören, sondern als etwas, das die Möglichkeit in sich birgt, aus unserem Gefangensein in der amnesischen Oberflächlichkeit der modernen Individualität herauszutreten? Können wir unser Zuschauer*innen(da)sein in der modernen Welt der Repräsentation und Weltkünstlichkeit (world-artifice) verlernen? Das Erinnern, das Wiederverbinden mit unseren Erdenkörpern, unseren Tierkörpern, unseren Ahnenkörpern, eröffnet uns einen Weg außerhalb unseres amnesischen Zustands als Individuen, als Konsument*innen, als Zuschauer*innen. Es eröffnet uns einen Horizont jenseits der Oberflächlichkeit der Immanenz. Wenn wir zuhören[5], beginnen wir zu spüren, was mit uns passiert ist aufgrund der Tatsache, dass wir nicht mehr viele sind, angesichts unserer Entwurzelung, unserer Ent-innerung, unserer Zer-stückelung, unserer Verwandlung in Waisen der Erde.

Die tierischen Bewegungen tauchen in ihrer tiefen Zeitlichkeit von der anderen Seite der kolonialen Differenz aus wieder auf, welche zuerst von der „Pose des Konquistadors“ bewacht wurde und noch immer vom temporalen Normativ des Kontemporären aufrechterhalten wird. In ihrer Auseinandersetzung mit der spanischen Abhandlung über den Tanz von Juan de Esquivel Navarro aus dem Jahr 1642 versinnbildlicht Nicole Haitzinger die „Pose des Konquistadors“ als Pose des souveränen Ichs. Diese Pose fungierte als Norm, als Grundposition im westlichen Tanz der Kolonialzeit. Haitzinger zeigt auf, wie sich die souveräne Position in ihrer Stabilität und „Gewaltbereitschaft“, in ihrem „(ziel-)gerichteten Blick“ und in ihrem Erscheinungsbild als „gefühlsentleert“ manifestiert.[6] Die „Pose des Konquistadors“ als Darstellung des souveränen Subjekts kann als Prototyp verstanden werden, der den Grundstein für das moderne Konsument*innen-Subjekt der heutigen Zeit gelegt hat, also ein Subjekt, welches sich selbst für die Darstellung der Souveränität des Selbst, der Individualität einsetzen muss. Das Model des*der Konsument*in ist das eines Individuums, das eine „einzigartige“ Identität darstellt und deren Macht, Träume und Genüsse unter Bedingungen der Trägheit ausübt, das heißt, „gefühlsentleert“ in Bezug auf die Ausbeutung und das Elend anderer und des Verkümmerns des Erdkörpers. Der*die Konsument*in, das souveräne Individuum, ist darauf beschränkt, auf der Oberfläche des Kontemporären, im Jetzt der Repräsentation zu leben. Für sie ist das Universum des Realen, der Bereich des Erfahrbaren, auf die Oberflächlichkeit des Jetzt, auf die leere Zeit der Moderne reduziert.

In The Jaguar and the Snake ist die Disposition der Körper keine Choreografie von Posen, die Tiere repräsentieren. Vielmehr erscheint die Bewegung als präzendenziale Verbalität – Tanz als Wiedererinnerung, als erneutes Auftauchen der Erdwesen[7], unserer Ahnen. Die Vorstellung von Bewegung als Repräsentation im Raum wird ersetzt durch eine vom Körper als Verbalität, von der Verkörperung von Zeit, von einem gedenkenden Körper, der in die tiefe Gegenwart hineinleuchtet.

„Bewegung“, so Amanda Piña, „ist auftauchend und ‚sie macht‘ den Bewegenden. [Sie ist] kein Objekt […]. [Die] ‚Bewegung macht mich‘, [d.h.] der*die Tänzer*in wird bewegt, ausgeführt von der Bewegung, […] verändert durch die Bewegung in Tonus, Empfindung und Wahrnehmung.“[8]

Bewegung ist hier die Praxis des Erinnerns, des Wiederauftauchens des Gedenkens. Unter den Psychologismen unserer individualisierten Erinnerungen liegt die radikale Pluralität der Zeit, wo Erinnerung über die Grenzen von Form und Repräsentation, des Menschlichen und des Selbst hinausgeht. Die mnemonische Bewegung der Tiere, unserer Ahnen, unseres Selbst kann durch das Jetzt des Kontemporären weder umgangen, noch auf den Bereich der Abstraktion reduziert werden. Sie bewahrt ihre Undurchsichtigkeit als Zeugnis der radikalen Vielfalt der Vermächtnisse der Erde, die seit jeher über das epistemologische und aisthetische Territorium der Moderne hinausreichen.

 

Rolando Vázquez

ist Dozent für Soziologie am University College Roosevelt und freier Forscher am Institut für Gender Studies und Cultural Inquiry (ICON) der Fakultät für Geisteswissenschaften Universität Utrecht. Die letzten zehn Jahre hat er gemeinsam mit Walter Mignolo die Decolonial Summer School am UCR koordiniert. Mit seiner Arbeit will er Praktiken des Denkens und Lernens entwickeln, die die vorherrschenden Rahmenbedingungen von Zeitgenossenschaft, Heteronormativität und Kolonialität hinter sich lassen.

 

[1]  Juan Jose Ramirez, The Jaguar Talks, Tanzquartier Wien (2019).
[2] Zur Frage der „Präzedenz“ s. Rolando Vázquez, Precedence, Earth and the Anthropocene: Decolonizing Design. Design Philosophy Papers, DOI: 10.1080/14487136.2017.1303130 (2017).
[3] Rolando Vázquez and Rana Hamadeh, Conversation, in Lafayette Anticipations, Le centre ne peut tenir, Lafayette Anticipations, Paris (2019).
[4] Johannes Neurath, Mehr als eins sein: Komplexe Identitäten in der indigenen Moderne, in Amanda Piña, Angela Vadori, Christina Gillinger-Correa Vivar (Hg.), Endangered Human Movements Vol. 3 – The School of the Jaguar, Vienna (2019), S. 121.
[5] Rolando Vázquez, Decolonial Listening (Interview von Zoë Dankert), Soapbox 1.1 (2019).
[6] Nicole Haitzinger, Im Spiegel der Pose des Konquistadors: Kentaur sein und Jaguar werden, in Piña, Vadori, Gillinger-Correa Vivar (Hg.) (2019), S. 191ff.
[7] Zum andischen Konzept der Erdwesen s. Marisol de la Cadena, Earth beings: Ecologies of practice across Andean worlds, Durham, NC: Duke University Press (2015).
[8] Amanda Piña, Gedanken zu einer Praxis der „Kompossession“ in Piña, Vadori, Gillinger-Correa Vivar (Hg.) (2019), S. 283ff.

 

Übersetzung aus dem Englischen: Caroline Wellner
Überarbeitung der deutschen Übersetzung: Dustin Gordan.

 

Alle Beiträge im TQW Magazin

Feedback unter magazin@tqw.at

 
Loading