Remember!

Thematic Focus
Deborah Hay: Animals on the Beach © Camille Blake 
Thematic Focus

According to British historian, sociologist and philosopher Theodore Zeldin, the supremely difficult question of the meaning of life is very easy to answer. The important thing is to explore the world. This cannot be achieved if we are only concerned with ourselves. On the contrary, what matters is communicating and, above all, listening. What is more, communication must not be limited to the present, instead, we need to go further back in time. One of Zeldin’s criticisms is that we pay too little attention to what others had to say to us in the past and have to say to us in the present.

Because, according to Zeldin: “You cannot have ideas about the future unless you have rich memories. The extent of your memories determines how much you can imagine about the future. If you lose your memory, you cannot think about the future.”

Dance is considered a “fleeting” medium. As such, it suffers from a chronic lack of commemoration work – and the associated impact on the present and the future. This is why the theme in the first two months of 2020 is Remember!, exemplarily looking into what dance is, was and can be. The presented works remember very different things and remember them in very different ways.

Of the pieces mentioned in this programme, Doris Uhlich’s stuck, Elizabeth Ward’s Dancing’s Demons, Barbara Kraus’ Wer will kann gehen and Deborah Hay’s double performance Animals on the Beach & my choreographed body … revisited in late February are presented in the scope of the thematic focus. Lectures by philosopher Guillaume Paoli and dramaturge Goran Sergej Pristaš revolve around the connections between looking back and looking towards the future, between utopia and poetic imagination.

Doris Uhlich’s most recent choreography features Gabriele Oßwald and Wolfgang Sautermeister. What happens when a politically engaged couple of producers with their life experience, viewing practice and associated memories develop a piece together? Elizabeth Ward, on the other hand, explores the history of 1920s’ expressive dance and its political entanglements, using Mary Wigman as an example. What can we take away from this for the art of today which is repeatedly called upon to be political? What does it mean when art takes a political stance but takes a “wrong turn”, as it were? Barbara Kraus is an entirely different story. In her work, which commemorates a double anniversary, Kraus celebrates her artistic career of 25 years. Simultaneously, her partner in crime, JohnPlayerSpezial, celebrates his 20th birthday.

We are also very pleased to present Deborah Hay’s new group piece and a solo danced by the influential choreographer herself in late February. An icon of postmodern dance, Deborah Hay approaches her 80th birthday and continues to be active as an artist.

In short, the thematic focus Remember! is dedicated to important commemoration work in connection with dance, which is relevant for today and tomorrow.

 
Loading

Remember!

Schwerpunkt
Deborah Hay: Animals on the Beach © Camille Blake 
Schwerpunkt

Laut dem britischen Historiker, Soziologen und Philosophen Theodore Zeldin lässt sich die höchst schwierige Frage nach dem Sinn des Lebens sehr einfach beantworten. Es gilt, die Welt zu erforschen. Dieses Unterfangen lässt sich nicht erfolgreich bestreiten, wenn wir uns nur mit uns selbst beschäftigen. Im Gegenteil: Es geht darum, zu kommunizieren und vor allem zuzuhören. Und wir müssen diese Kommunikation nicht nur in der Gegenwart führen, sondern auch weiter in der Zeit zurückgehen. Zeldin kritisiert, dass wir uns viel zu wenig damit beschäftigen, was uns früher und heute andere zu sagen haben.

Denn, so Zeldin: „You cannot have ideas about the future unless you have rich memories. The extent of your memories determines how much you can imagine about the future. If you lose your memory you cannot think about the future.“

Der Tanz als bekanntermaßen „flüchtiges“ Medium leidet chronisch an mangelnder Erinnerungsarbeit – und den damit verbundenen Folgen für die Gegenwart und die Zukunft. In den ersten beiden Monaten 2020 begleitet uns deshalb ein Themenschwerpunkt mit dem Titel Remember!, der sich exemplarisch damit beschäftigt, was Tanz ist, war und sein kann. In den damit verbundenen Arbeiten wird zum einen ganz Unterschiedliches erinnert und auf ganz unterschiedliche Art und Weise erinnert.

Von den in diesem Programmheft angekündigten Arbeiten reiht sich neben Doris Uhlichs stuck, Elizabeth Wards Dancing’s Demons, Barbara Kraus’ Wer will kann gehen auch der Doppelabend Animals on the Beach & my choreographed body … revisited von Deborah Hay Ende Februar in das Thema ein. Vorträge des Philosophen Guillaume Paoli und des Dramaturgen Goran Sergej Pristaš umkreisen die Zusammenhänge zwischen Rückschau und dem Blick in die Zukunft, zwischen Utopie und poetischer Imagination.

In Doris Uhlichs jüngster Choreografie stehen Gabriele Oßwald und Wolfgang Sautermeister auf der Bühne. Was passiert, wenn ein politisch engagiertes Veranstalter*innenpaar mit all seiner Lebens- und Seherfahrung und den damit verbundenen Erinnerungen ein Stück erarbeitet? Elizabeth Ward hingegen geht der Geschichte des Ausdruckstanzes der 1920er-Jahre und dessen politischen Verstrickungen am Beispiel von Mary Wigman nach. Was können wir daraus für die Kunst von heute ableiten, die immer wieder aufgefordert wird, politisch zu ein? Was bedeutet es, wenn Kunst sich politisch positioniert, dabei aber die sozusagen „falsche“ Richtung einschlägt? Ein ganz anderer Fall ist Barbara Kraus. In ihrer Arbeit, die eines doppelten Jubiläums gedenkt, feiert Kraus ihr 25-jähriges künstlerisches Schaffen. Ihr Komplize JohnPlayerSpezial begeht gleichzeitig seinen zwanzigsten Geburtstag.

Wir freuen uns zudem sehr, Ende Februar Deborah Hays neues Gruppenstück und ein Solo, von der einflussreichen Choreografin höchstpersönlich getanzt, präsentieren zu dürfen! Deborah Hay, eine der Ikonen des postmodernen Tanzes, nähert sich ihrem achtzigsten Lebensjahr und ist nach wie vor künstlerisch aktiv.

Kurz zusammengefasst, der Themenschwerpunkt Remember! widmet sich wichtiger Erinnerungsarbeit rund um den Tanz, die für das Heute und das Morgen von Bedeutung ist.

 
Loading