Pain and fun

Karin Cerny on Apollon by Florentina Holzinger
© Radovan Dranga 
Karin Cerny on Apollon by Florentina Holzinger

Florentina Holzinger’s Apollon is a weird freak show, a feminist reinterpretation of a ballet classic and guaranteed to be one of the wildest dance evenings currently on show.

Ouch, that hurts, doesn’t it? In her latest piece, Apollon, Florentina Holzinger stands naked at the front end of the stage and hammers an eight-centimetre-long nail into her nose. Her colleague, Evelyn Frantti, also naked, inserts a disturbingly long balloon into her throat, which seems to wander through her body. She pulls the empty shell from her vagina. Hang on a minute – that’s not possible, is it?

There is always a hidden layer to Viennese artist Florentina Holzinger’s performances. The relationship between pain and fun is a close one. Now, was that totally outrageous or just comical? Usually both. Holzinger (b. 1986) loves theatrical tricks. She frequently takes these directly from the world of the circus and freak shows, which is usually frowned upon in the performance context. In her earlier works she performed daring acrobatic feats on ropes. This type of sport is called aerial silk and currently features in Helene Fischer’s concert tour. But the extreme performer, who studied in the Netherlands, has never much cared for genre borders: heavy weights are lifted once again in Apollon, flight scenes for superheroes as taught in stunt schools are rehearsed, a mechanical bull is ridden and dismantled using professional welding machines. And at the end there’s an anal polonaise with dildos that looks irritatingly innocent. With other artists you don’t get to see in five shows what Holzinger delivers in one evening. It’s impressive how she manages to bring all of this together: cruelty and beauty, challenge and entertainment, tradition and contemporary reinterpretation.

Even her first piece, “Kein Applaus für Scheiße” (2011) – co-created with Dutch artist Vincent Riebeek – was marked by pop-cultural nonchalance (songs by Rihanna) in juxtaposition with an ironic reinterpretation of classic body art from the 1960s. What had been shocking back then displayed a new casualness all of a sudden. When Holzinger slid through a puddle of urine made by her colleague like a playful child, this seemed infectiously naïve in an absurd way. When Riebeek puked blue liquid, it looked strangely beautiful. Provocation had rarely ever been more fun. Incidentally, real body excretions are used in Apollon as well.

Starting off as a vicious feminist freak show, in the course of the evening the piece develops into a reinterpretation of the ballet classic “Apollon musagète”, which premièred in 1928. In the original piece by George Balanchine, the ancient Greek god of the arts appeared to music by Igor Stravinsky, leading three female muses up Mount Parnassus. Holzinger has a kind of love-hate relationship with the ballet: the choreography is “crazy beautiful”, she said in an interview, but the gender roles annoy her. In her feminist reinterpretation there is no male god to choose a favourite muse, the women’s roles are fluid, they are goddesses and muses, well-muscled fighters and fearless superheroes. None of them are classically trained dancers, which lends a certain sexy-rough and at the same time fragile quality to the pas-de-deux scenes. Besides Holzinger, members of the naked women’s team include Renée Copraij, a long-time collaborator with Jan Fabre, and Evelyn Frantti, who is really a sideshow performer. In one of the phattest scenes she shoves a tube through her nose and mouth which acts as a drinking straw: a member of the audience can then drink a freshly mixed gin and tonic through her face. Not something you get to see every day in a theatre!

 

Karin Cerny born 1968 in Waldviertel, Lower Austria, studied German Studies as well as Theatre Studies in Vienna and Berlin. She regularly writes about theatre in the news magazine profil and in the magazine Theater heute, about fashion in the magazines Rondo and Diva.

 

 

More texts in TQW MAGAZIN

 

 
Loading

Schmerz und Scherz

Karin Cerny über Apollon von Florentina Holzinger
Florentina Holzinger Apollon
© Radovan Dranga 
Karin Cerny über Apollon von Florentina Holzinger

Florentina Holzingers Apollon ist eine schräge Freakshow, die feministische Neuinterpretation eines Ballettklassikers und garantiert einer der wildesten Tanzabende, den man zurzeit sehen kann.

Aua, das tut doch weh! Florentina Holzinger steht in ihrer jüngsten Arbeit Apollon nackt an der Rampe und haut sich mit dem Hammer einen acht Zentimeter langen Nagel in die Nase. Ihre Kollegin Evelyn Frantti, ebenfalls nackt, schiebt sich einen beunruhigend langen Luftballon in den Schlund, der durch den Körper zu wandern scheint. Sie zieht die leere Hülle aus ihrer Vagina. Halt, das geht doch gar nicht, oder?

Die Performances der Wiener Künstlerin Florentina Holzinger, Jahrgang 1986, haben stets einen doppelten Boden. Schmerz und Scherz liegen nahe beisammen. Ist das jetzt total arg oder einfach nur lustig? Meist beides. Holzinger liebt Theatertricks, die oft direkt aus der in der Performance eigentlich verpönten Welt des Zirkus und der Freakshow kommen. Sie hat in frühen Arbeiten halsbrecherisch-akrobatisch an Seilen geturnt. Aerial Silk nennt man diesen Sport, den gerade auch Helene Fischer in ihrer Konzerttour einsetzt. Aber um Genregrenzen hat sich die Extremperformerin, die in Holland studiert hat, ohnehin noch nie gekümmert: Auch in Apollon werden schwere Gewichte gestemmt, Superheldinnen- Flugszenen geprobt, wie man sie in Stunt-Schulen lernt, ein mechanischer Bulle wird geritten und mit echten Schweißmaschinen abmontiert. Und am Ende gibt es eine Anal-Polonaise mit Dildos, die irritierend unschuldig aussieht. Was Holzinger an einem Abend liefert, bekommt man bei anderen in fünf Shows nicht zu sehen. Beeindruckend, wie sie das alles zusammenbringt: Grausamkeit und Schönheit, Herausforderung und Unterhaltung, Tradition und zeitgemäße Neuinterpretation.

Bereits mit ihrer ersten Arbeit, „Kein Applaus für Scheiße“ (2011) – in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Niederländer Vincent Riebeek entstanden –, traf popkulturelle Lässigkeit (Songs von Rihanna) auf eine ironische Neuinterpretation klassischer Body-Art aus den 1960er-Jahren. Was damals schockierte, überraschte plötzlich durch eine neue Lockerheit. Wenn Holzinger wie ein verspieltes Kind durch eine Urinpfütze ihres Kollegen rutschte, wirkte das absurderweise ansteckend naiv, wenn Riebeek blaue Flüssigkeit auskotzte, sah das seltsam schön aus. Selten machte Provokation mehr Spaß. Auch in Apollon kommen übrigens echte Körperausscheidungen zum Einsatz.

Was als böse feministische Freakshow beginnt, entwickelt sich im Laufe des Abends immer mehr zu einer Neuinterpretation des Ballettklassikers „Apollon musagète“, uraufgeführt 1928. Zur Musik von Igor Strawinsky tritt im Original bei George Balanchine der altgriechische Gott der Künste auf und führt drei weibliche Musen auf den Parnass. Holzinger hat eine Art Hassliebe zum Ballett: Sie finde die Choreografie „krass schön“, meinte sie in einem Interview, aber die Rollenbilder würden sie nerven. In ihrer feministischen Neuinterpretation gibt es keinen männlichen Gott mehr, der eine Lieblingsmuse erwählt, die Rollen der Frauen sind fluid, sie sind Göttinnen und Musen, muskulöse Kämpferinnen und furchtlose Superheldinnen. Keine von ihnen ist ausgebildete klassische Tänzerin, was den Pas-de-deux-Szenen etwas Sexy-Roughes und zugleich Fragiles gibt. Dabei im nackten Frauenteam sind neben Holzinger etwa auch Renée Copraij, die lange bei Jan Fabre mitgewirkt hat, oder Evelyn Frantti, die eigentlich Sideshow-Performerin ist. In einer der abgefahrensten Szenen schiebt sich diese einen Schlauch durch Nase und Mund, der als Strohhalm fungiert: Jemand aus dem Publikum darf dann einen frisch gemixten Gin Tonic durch ihr Gesicht hindurch trinken. So was erlebt man im Theater nicht alle Tage!

 

Karin Cerny 1968 im Waldviertel geboren, hat in Wien und Berlin Germanistik und Theaterwissenschaft studiert. Sie schreibt regelmäßig über Theater im profil und in Theater heute, über Mode im Rondo und in der Diva.

 

 

Alle Beiträge im TQW MAGAZIN

 

 

 
Loading