word

Thematic Focus
Andrea Maurer: Unspelling © Andrea Maurer 
Thematic Focus

“Film can never do that” is what Belgian dance critic Pieter T’Jock said about Hannah De Meyer’s production new skin (which was received to great critical acclaim in May in the context of Tanzquartier Wien’s festival for emerging artists Rakete). In a precise and nuanced way, De Meyer constructs this performance as a conflation of text, performative gestures and movements. What is it that drives all these contemporary choreographers and performers to utilise text and language, to develop stage essays and to think about choreography in terms of poetry (or vice versa)?

In November, Tanzquartier Wien’s thematic focus word will present a range of artists who really have something to SAY. First up will be Hannah De Meyer with a preview of her latest solo hi baubo, while Christine Gaigg will premiere her stage essay Affair – Gaigg developed this concept based on her sensuous and intellectual methods of creating a political-artistic approach that will exceed limitations of content and form. In I’m Gonna Need Another One, New Yorker Jen Rosenblit (together with Gérald Kurdian) will lure us to follow her to complex climes: A diverse collection of figures with unstable identities will emerge from an elaborate monologue – an artful narrative which will illustrate the possibilities of belonging and being together. Next up, the poetic text performance Unspelling by Andrea Maurer will see the artist plaster the space with text constructions, arrange words and objects and “upset the meaning of words”, while the words themselves will do all they can to irritate the performer as well. One moment in Maurer’s performance will make us listen to a quote by poet Franz Mon in which he speaks about “a reality impregnated with linguistic stereotypes”. Whatever the aesthetic or methodical difference, it is the joint effort of all artists presenting in the context of the thematic focus word to break with and contradict such a reality and to reclaim the complexity and freedom of language.

Finally, the roundtable Words Don’t Come Easy will give ample opportunity for discussion. The introductory lecture on Contemporary Dance Between Body and Language will be held by the Slovenian theatre critic Alja Lobnik. Together with the artists, TQW theory curators Thomas Edlinger, Janez Janša, and Janine Jembere will discuss the reasons for and the ways in which the making use of language currently permeates the genre.

 
Loading

word

Schwerpunkt
Andrea Maurer: Unspelling © Andrea Maurer 
Schwerpunkt

„Film can never do that“, sagt der belgische Tanzkritiker Pieter T’Jonck über Hannah De Meyers Stück new skin (im Tanzquartier Wien letzten Mai beim Nachwuchsfestival Rakete mit Jubel aufgenommen). Präzise und nuanciert verschränkt die Künstlerin darin Text und performative Gesten und Bewegungen. Was ist es, das so viele Choreograf*innen und Performanceschaffende dazu motiviert, vermehrt zu Text und Sprache zu greifen, Performanceessays zu entwickeln oder Poesie als Choreografie (und vice versa) neu zu denken?

Im November bietet das Tanzquartier mit word einen Schwerpunkt mit Künstler*innen, die in unterschiedlicher Weise etwas zu SAGEN haben. Hannah De Meyer tut dies als Erste mit einer Preview ihres neuen Solos hi baubo. Darauf folgt die Erstaufführung von Christine Gaiggs neuem Performanceessay Affair – einem Format, das die Choreografin entwickelte, um eine politisch-künstlerische Auseinandersetzung mit sowohl sinnlichen als auch intellektuellen Mitteln zu betreiben und formal und inhaltlich Grenzen auszuhebeln. In I’m Gonna Need Another One lockt die New Yorkerin Jen Rosenblit (gemeinsam mit Gérald Kurdian) die Zuschauer*innen in komplexe Gefilde. In einem fein gesponnenen Monolog tauchen verschiedene Figuren ohne stabile Identitäten auf – eine raffinierte Narration, die Möglichkeiten des Zusammenseins und des Beheimatetseins thematisiert. In ihrer poetischen Textperformance Unspelling wird Andrea Maurer den Raum mit Textgebilden präparieren, Wörter und Gegenstände arrangieren, sie wird „Wörter verunsichern“ und sich wohl auch von ihnen verunsichern lassen. In einem Text zitiert Maurer den Dichter Franz Mon, der von einer „von Sprachstereotypen wetterfest imprägnierten Wirklichkeit“ spricht. Diese aufzubrechen und zu konterkarieren und der Sprache die Komplexität und Freiheit ein Stück weit zurückzuerobern, das ist den im Kontext von word auftretenden Künstler*innen gemeinsam, so unterschiedlich ihre Ästhetiken und Vorgangsweisen auch sind.

Unter dem Titel Words Don’t Come Easy lädt das Tanzquartier abschließend zu einer vertiefenden Diskussion ein. Den Einführungsvortrag zum Thema Contemporary Dance Between Body and Language hält die slowenische Theaterkritikerin Alja Lobnik. Im Anschluss werden die Choreografinnen gemeinsam mit Gästen und den TQW Theoriekurator*innen Thomas Edlinger, Janez Janša und Janine Jembere darüber diskutieren, was (im Moment) in unserem Genre mit welchen Mitteln zur Sprache drängt und warum.

 
Loading