SENSE-MAKING UNFOLDED

Christina Regorosa on Shown and Told by Meg Stuart & Tim Etchells
 
Meg Stuart & Tim Etchells, Shown and Told © Tine Declerck
Christina Regorosa on Shown and Told by Meg Stuart & Tim Etchells

An empty space. A space of infinite potentialities waiting to be realised. Meg Stuart and Tim Etchells as passages of latencies.

3rd-person perspective: “It’s like…”

It is not being explicitly asked, but the answers suggest that the question of “how”, of the qualia of movement in space, is being addressed.

In his attempt to interpret movements, to read Meg Stuart’s “dance of suggestions”[1], Tim Etchells is also continuously moving. The answers he keeps proposing are just as ephemeral as Meg Stuart’s dancing. At a rapid pace, the two artists thus design and discard micro- and macrouniverses of possible meanings, images and associations. Zooming in, zooming out. Here and now, here and elsewhere. They let us take part in the continuous, never-ending process of sense-making. They demonstrate the aspects of creation and the failure, which are both equally inherent in this process. The certainty of designation doesn’t even get a chance to establish itself. They let us participate in the impossibility of capturing dance; in the playful effort of finding words intended to generate meaning. It’s an indication, an explanation, an interpretation, a re-interpretation, a de-interpretation, an association, a dissociation, because: “It’s like words in front of your eyes.”

This creates a space of ambiguity, in which the various readings not only stand side by side but overlap, shift towards the absurd, spring up while already fading again. If the characteristic feature of dance is transition, the torrent of words illustrates precisely this: the transition from one possible interpretation to the next. A space where nothing is clear-cut: “It’s like straight lines that are more like circles or more like dots.”

Then there’s a preliminary answer that seems like a full-stop at the end of a sentence. “It is like this.” The search for suitable words comes to a standstill. Language fails in a gesture that indicates the dancing body. Tim Etchells on the floor mimicks Meg Stuart’s movement and indicates a spot on that floor with his finger. Language is subdued. In the end, this is exactly what language is: a finger that indicates something. The primacy of language is coming to an end. The loss of language. A change of perspective.

1st-person perspective: “I dance because…”

Meg Stuart offers possible answers to the question of “why”. Is this going some way to explaining the phenomenon of dance to us? Can questions relating to causality lead to meaningful explanations? A narrative that is plausible because the human species is trying to understand the world by way of stories? Doesn’t a story, in fact, indicate the meaning we attach to it? Or do we long for understanding? Are we grasping at concepts in order to ultimately be able to understand the meaning, the experience without having to die from it? What does it mean to dance, to experience oneself as a sense-making being? Looking to explore the full range of possible sensory experiences, to not be content with a metaphor that refers to something but to deliberately expose onself to the intensity of potential states of being. To seek out the space of potential meanings without defining them?

“I dance because it leaves no traces.”

Co-sense-making: “Building cities”

Tim Etchells resumes his attempt and points to well-known illusions in our perception, which raise the underlying question: are we perceiving or projecting beings? His torrent of words is no longer purely associative but becomes increasingly narrative in structure while still rejecting to be unambiguous.

“It’s like cities that are built on memory and run on forgetting. Or it’s like cities that are built on forgetting and run on memory.”

What is the fabric that our coexistence is made of? Is it rainbows, words, plastic bags, music, insects, perfume, sighs or stories? Or nothing? Is our material and immaterial reality nothing but a constructed illusion? What physical effort is needed to get rid of these contingent bundles of meaning?

Negotiation: “I am here. Are you there?”

Two narrative strands that are not connected with each other. Two people who tell their stories and in doing so identify themselves as individuals who occupy different positions and can take a stand by way of the self-image generated through the narrative. An increasingly static counterpoint to the flow in the beginning, culminating in a powerful image: holding an uncomfortable position on the floor, Tim Etchells embodies a rigid proposition that yearns for some room to manoeuvre.

After letting the audience take a peek into their individual universes of meaning, Meg Stuart and Tim Etchells release the audience into the vast scope of meaning they have opened, with a hint, with a potential jump into the…

[1] Meg Stuart in the artist talk, 23 November 2018, TQW Hall G

 

Christina Regorosa is a cognitive scientist, a dancer and a shiatsu practitioner. She works in the field of digital humanities at the University of Vienna. Her research interests include the philosophy of dance, narrative cultural theories and neuroaesthetics.

 

More texts in TQW MAGAZIN

 
Loading

SENSE-MAKING UNFOLDED

Christina Regorosa über Shown and Told von Meg Stuart & Tim Etchells
 
Christina Regorosa über Shown and Told von Meg Stuart & Tim Etchells

Ein leerer Raum. Ein Raum unendlicher Potenzialitäten, die darauf warten, realisiert zu werden. Meg Stuart und Tim Etchells als Passagen von Latenzen.

3rd person perspective: „It’s like …“

Sie wird nicht explizit gestellt, aber die Antworten lassen darauf schließen, dass die Frage nach dem „Wie“, nach den Qualia von Bewegung im Raum steht.

In seinem Versuch, Bewegungen zu deuten, Meg Stuarts „dance of suggestions“ [1] zu lesen, bleibt auch Tim Etchells ständig in Bewegung. Die Antworten, die er am laufenden Band anbietet, sind ebenso ephemer wie der Tanz von Meg Stuart. In rasantem Tempo entwerfen und verwerfen die beiden auf diese Weise Mikro- und Makrouniversen von möglichen Bedeutungen, Bildern und Assoziationen. Einzoomen, auszoomen. Hier und jetzt, hier und woanders. Sie lassen uns teilhaben an dem kontinuierlichen, niemals enden wollenden Prozess des sense-making. Sie demonstrieren das Erschaffen und das Scheitern, das diesem Prozess gleichermaßen innewohnt. Die Sicherheit des Benennens hat keine Chance, sich einzunisten. Sie lassen uns an der Unmöglichkeit, Tanz festzuhalten, teilhaben; an der spielerischen Anstrengung, Worte zu finden, die Bedeutung generieren sollen. Es ist ein Andeuten, Umdeuten, Entdeuten, Beideuten, Verdeuten, Zerdeuten, Ausdeuten, denn: „It’s like words fading in front of your eyes.“

So entsteht ein Raum von Mehrdeutigkeit, in dem die verschiedenen Lesarten nicht nur nebeneinanderstehen, sondern sich überlappen, ins Absurde kippen, entstehen, während sie schon wieder vergehen. Wenn das Charakteristikum des Tanzes der Übergang ist, so bildet der Wortschwall genau das ab – das Übergehen von einer möglichen Deutung zur nächsten. Ein Raum, in dem nichts eindeutig ist: „It’s like straight lines that are more like circles or more like dots.“

Dann – eine vorläufige Antwort, die wie ein Punkt am Ende eines Satzes wirkt. „It is like this.“ Das Suchen nach geeigneten Worten kommt zum Stillstand. Die Sprache versiegt in einer Geste, die auf den tanzenden Körper weist. Tim Etchells am Boden imitiert die Bewegung von Meg Stuart und bezeichnet auf diesem einen Punkt mit seinem Finger. Die Sprache kommt zum Erliegen. Letztendlich ist sie genau das: ein Finger, der auf etwas verweist. Das Primat der Sprache geht zugrunde. Sprachlosigkeit. Perspektivenwechsel.

1st person perspective: „I dance because …“

Meg Stuart bietet mögliche Antworten auf die Frage nach dem „Warum“. Kommen wir so dem Phänomen des Tanzes näher? Bietet das Fragen nach der Kausalität eine sinnvolle Erklärung? Ein Narrativ, das nachvollziehbar ist, weil die menschliche Spezies über Erzählungen die Welt zu begreifen versucht? Zeigt eine Erzählung nicht eher die Bedeutung auf, die wir ihr beimessen? Oder sehnen wir uns nach dem Begreifen? Greifen wir zu Begriffen, um letztendlich den Sinn, die Erfahrung erfassen zu können, ohne daran sterben zu müssen? Was heißt es, zu tanzen, sich in seiner Sinnhaftigkeit zu erfahren? Die volle Bandbreite von möglichen Sinneserfahrungen zu suchen, sich nicht zu begnügen mit einer Metapher, die auf etwas verweist, sondern sich der Intensität von potenziellen Seinszuständen bewusst auszusetzen. Den Raum von potenziellen Sinnhaftigkeiten aufzusuchen, ohne diese festzulegen?

„I dance because it leaves no traces.“

Co-sense-making: „Building cities“

Tim Etchells nimmt erneut seinen Versuch auf und verweist auf bekannte Illusionen in unserer Perzeption, in denen die Frage mitschwingt: Sind wir wahrnehmende oder projizierende Wesen? Sein Wortschwall ist nicht mehr rein assoziativ, sondern weist immer mehr narrative Strukturen auf, die sich trotzdem einer Eindeutigkeit entziehen.

„It’s like cities that are built on memory and run on forgetting. Or it’s like cities that are built on forgetting and run on memory.“

Aus welchem Stoff ist unser Zusammenleben gewebt? Aus Regenbögen, Worten, Plastiktüten, Musik, Insekten, Parfüm, Seufzern oder Geschichten? Aus nichts? Ist unsere materielle und immaterielle Realität nichts weiter als eine konstruierte Illusion? Welcher physischen Anstrengung bedarf es, um sich dieser kontingenten Bedeutungsbündel wieder zu entledigen?

Negotiation: „I am here. Are you there?“

Zwei Erzählstränge, die nicht zusammenhängen. Zwei Menschen, die ihre Geschichten erzählen und sich dadurch als Individuen auszeichnen, die unterschiedliche Standpunkte einnehmen und durch das narrativ erzeugte Selbstverständnis Position beziehen können. Ein zunehmend statischer Kontrapunkt zum Flow des Anfangs, der in einem starken Bild kulminiert: Tim Etchells – in einer unbequemen Position am Boden verharrend – verkörpert eine starre Proposition, die sich nach Bewegungsspielraum sehnt.

Nach einem kurzen spielerischen Eintauchen in ihre individuellen Bedeutungsuniversen entlassen Meg Stuart und Tim Etchells das Publikum in die Weite des Bedeutungsspielraums, den sie eröffnet haben, mit einer Andeutung, mit einem potenziellen Sprung ins …

 

[1] Meg Stuart im Artist-Talk, 23. Nov. 2018, TQW Halle G

 

Christina Regorosa ist Kognitionswissenschaftlerin, Tänzerin und Shiatsu-Praktikerin. Sie arbeitet im Bereich Digital Humanities an der Universität Wien. Ihre Forschungsinteressen umfassen die Philosophie des Tanzes, narrative Kulturtheorien und Neuroästhetik.

 

Alle Beiträge im TQW Magazin

 
Loading