Shouldn’t language go on strike too?

Olia Sosnovskaya on Study on Fool’s Paradise and urgent, in bodies (acab)
 
Olia Sosnovskaya on Study on Fool’s Paradise and urgent, in bodies (acab)

Olia Sosnovskaya on Study on Fool’s Paradise by Eliza Trefas & Katarzyna Paluch and urgent, in bodies (acab) by Dorian Kaufeisen and accomplices Alina Bertha, Amina Claudine, Jolyane Langlois and Julia Müllner

 

Throughout this year, marked by the most unanticipated events and bleak prospects, the ‘year’, which is just a figure of speech that allows you to hold on, to start from somewhere; I was leaning on the bodies of my friends, with whom I used to move together and from whom I was separated, and on the texts by others, whom I cannot reach.

I keep coming back to a quote by Hannah Arendt, cited by Andre Lepecki, which says: “[…] we have arrived in a situation where we do not know – at least not yet – how to move politically.”[1] Later in the text, we learn that moving politically means moving freely, and that this movement is a demanding, continuous, perhaps even exhausting, repetitive commitment. Is a practice.

The two performances, Study on Fool’s Paradise by Eliza Trefas & Katarzyna Paluch and urgent, in bodies (acab) by Dorian Kaufeisen in collaboration with Alina Bertha, Amina Claudine, Jolyane Langlois and Julia Müllner at first appear to be not only very different from each other, but even opposed. Study on Fool’s Paradise seems like an accumulation of contradictions, of intercepting impulses, distractions, stutters, interruptions. While urgent, in bodies (acab) invites you to experience the flow of the collective dynamic movement. But in the end, both pieces address the issue of how to move together in space, and how to appropriate that space.

Another quote – or rather the essence of several quotes – that stayed with me is a more recent one by Ana Vujanovic writing on performance and politics. She postulates that “public space is not the main site of politics” and that “live gathering of people in public is irrelevant [for Western democracies]”. This quote is quite painful, especially given the moment at which we are reading it. Revolting against it, I wonder, what if there are places where gatherings still make sense; what if there are other constellations or gestures that are still relevant? In other words, what if this issue is just choreographic and spatial?

On the large white surface that forms back wall of the stage space against the backdrop of a collective movement, the performers of urgent, in bodies (acab) take turns to complete a sentence: ‘STOP HOPING – START ACTING’, adding other notes, slogans and demands (‘no pasaran’ etc.) as well. ‘acab’ is a demand too; it is an exclamation, a command, a language’s affect; in some places it is an act.

This year, every text I write is about Belarus.

And it is easy to believe that writing is useless. What kinds of texts make sense in the revolution? Banners and chants, open letters, letters to prisoners, graffiti, messages to friends or reports. But at the same time, when everything has been said, said multiple times, pronounced in every language, inscribed on any available surface – what else do you chant? Shouldn’t language go on strike too? A friend told me that her lungs didn’t have any air left for the chants, that, after the start of the protests she had grown tired quite soon and didn’t have any energy left to shout. Revolutionary time is the temporality of exhaustion.

The electronic soundtrack of urgent, in bodies (acab) adds to the intensity and pleasure of collective motion. Unusually, however, the tracks do not blend into each other, and in the silence of the gaps in between, the sounds of the bodies reach us: the breathing, their weight. Also, they only seem to move in synchronicity – the alterations, the divergences, adjustments, individual characteristics and speed of repeated movements are apparent.

In Study on Fool’s Paradise, the dancers seem completely detached at first, even as they repeat gestures and dance together, there is a sense of remoteness, estrangement and distraction. The dancers look around, responding to obvious and hidden triggers – reacting and overreacting. Though highly intense, the movements are constantly interrupted; they appear to be a set of postures and positions in constant and rapid change, in continuous alteration.

After everything has been said and repeated multiple times, the songs are clearly not just a vocalisation of the demands – they hold a sense of togetherness and power; after everything has been said – the shouts, the noises, the heavy breathing state our presence. Not only political movement but stuttering too is an evolving commitment that “must be learned, rehearsed […] practiced, and experienced”.[2] Our strategy is to stumble.

The choreography of Study on Fool’s Paradise is literally a study, a radical rehearsal, a set of try-outs. One might wonder what initiates the movement: a random sound of a camera shutter, a strange body accidentally coming into sight, a dropped stick, a friend’s touch, the previous movement, a word, a sentence? One might wonder: what does ‘acting’ and ‘to start’ actually mean?

Towards the end, watching Eliza Trefas & Katarzyna Paluch first caressing, then throwing themselves and smashing what seem to be random objects – a paper bag, a chair, a piece of fabric – on the floor, one might wonder how intense a gesture should be to be effective, to reach out, to finally be noticed?

This year, we all have seen – and done – many stunning and powerful gestures: hands raised in a fist; hands raised in a V sign – which sometimes stands for victory, and sometimes for mourning; hands raised in surrender; hands throwing something, or hands interlocked, in human chains. Gestures to support words, and gestures to support each other. The most basic gesture of protest is a step.

It is hard to resist the temptation of enumerating, categorising, analysing and repeating these gestures. As if this could prolong the moment of agency, grasp its essence and transmit its power and affect beyond its context. Apart from the problematic nature of such an exercise, this study of a gesture, its repetition and its rehearsal makes it less spectacular, less dramatic, more of a routine.

When in Minsk, it is impossible to not be part of the protest. The very act of walking, the very presence of your body in the city – be it the city centre, the square, the main avenue, or your courtyard in the suburbs, or a bus stop – is saturated with politics. Your daily life is.
Every evening, on the way home we check local telegram chats and the news to see if there is any protest action or any police raid in the neighbourhood. Even if you don’t participate, in the end, it’s not up to you to decide. You could accidentally get in the way (of the police). It is quite strange that your very mundane walk home suddenly becomes an act of resistance. When you are in the city, this means that you are automatically incorporated into this diffuse protest.
It is interesting to think what could constitute (political) agency here? And to imagine the protest as some kind of alien spirit that possesses your body at a certain point in time regardless of your intention or volition.
(I wrote this paragraph on 17 October 2020.)

A political gesture extends beyond the dynamics of continuous movement, beyond collective manifestations, trespassing into the mundane, with its fragility and irregular rhythms, through experiences that cannot be unlearned.

 

Olia Sosnovskaya (Vienna/Minsk) is an artist, researcher and writer. She works with text, performance and visual art, intertwining notions of festivity and the political within post-socialist contexts and beyond. Currently a PhD candidate at the PhD-in-Practice programme at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. Сo-founder of the WORK HARD! PLAY HARD! collective platform (workhardplay.pw) and member of the artistic research group Problem Collective.

oliasosnovskaya.com

 

[1] André Lepecki, ‘Choreopolice and Choreopolitics or, the task of the dancer’, The Drama Review no. 57 (4), 2013, p. 13.
[2] Ana Vujanovic, Livia Piazza, ‘Introduction: People are Missing’ In Ana Vujanovic, Livia Piazza (eds.), A Live Gathering: Performance and politics in contemporary Europe. Berlin, b_books, 2019, p. 15.

 
Loading

Sollte nicht auch Sprache in den Streik treten?

Olia Sosnovskaya über Study on Fool’s Paradise und urgent, in bodies (acab)
 
Olia Sosnovskaya über Study on Fool’s Paradise und urgent, in bodies (acab)

Olia Sosnovskaya über „Study on Fool’s Paradise“ von Eliza Trefas & Katarzyna Paluch und „urgent, in bodies (acab)“ von Dorian Kaufeisen in Kompliz*innenschaft mit Alina Bertha, Amina Claudine, Jolyane Langlois und Julia Müllner

Das ganze Jahr hindurch – dieses von völlig unerwarteten Ereignissen und äußerst düsteren Aussichten geprägte „Jahr“, das ja nur ein Begriff ist, der es möglich macht, sich an etwas festzuhalten, irgendwo anzusetzen – habe ich Halt an den Körpern meiner Freund*innen gesucht, mit denen ich mich früher gemeinsam bewegt hatte und von denen ich nun getrennt war, und in den Texten anderer vertrauter Menschen, die ich nicht erreichen kann.

Ich muss immer wieder an ein Zitat von Hannah Arendt denken, auf das André Lepecki in einem Artikel Bezug nimmt und in dem es heißt: „[Wir sind] in eine Situation geraten […], in der wir uns gerade politisch nicht oder noch nicht zu bewegen verstehen.“ Später im Text erfahren wir, dass politisches Bewegen bedeutet, sich frei zu bewegen, und dass dieses Bewegen eine fordernde, andauernde, vielleicht sogar strapaziöse, sich wiederholende Verpflichtung ist.[1] Eine Praktik.

Die beiden Performances Study on Fool’s Paradise von Eliza Trefas und Katarzyna Paluch und urgent, in bodies (acab) von Dorian Kaufeisen in Zusammenarbeit mit Alina Bertha, Amina Claudine, Jolyane Langlois und Julia Müllner wirken auf den ersten Blick nicht nur sehr unterschiedlich, sondern sogar gegensätzlich. Study on Fool’s Paradise erscheint wie eine Ansammlung von Widersprüchen, blockierenden Impulsen, Ablenkungen, stotternden Bewegungen, Unterbrechungen. Im Gegensatz dazu ist urgent, in bodies (acab) eine Einladung, den Fluss der kollektiven dynamischen Bewegung mitzuerleben. Letztlich geht es aber in beiden Stücken um die Frage, wie man* sich im Raum gemeinsam bewegen und sich diesen Raum aneignen kann.

Ein weiteres Zitat – oder besser gesagt die Kernaussage aus mehreren Zitaten –das mir in Erinnerung geblieben ist, ist ein aktuelleres von Ana Vujanović, das sich auf das Verhältnis von Performance und Politik bezieht. Vujanović postuliert, dass „der öffentliche Raum nicht der primäre Schauplatz der Politik ist“ und dass „das Versammeln von physisch anwesenden Menschen in der Öffentlichkeit [für westliche Demokratien] irrelevant ist“.[2] Es tut weh, dieses Zitat zu lesen, noch dazu im aktuellen zeitlichen Kontext. Mit innerer Ablehnung dagegen frage ich mich: Was, wenn es Orte gibt, an denen Versammlungen noch sinnvoll sind? Was, wenn es andere Konstellationen oder Gesten gibt, die noch relevant sind? Mit anderen Worten: Was, wenn das Problem nur auf choreografischer und räumlicher Ebene besteht?

Auf der großen weißen Fläche, die vor dem Hintergrund einer kollektiven Bewegung die Rückwand des Bühnenraums bildet, vervollständigen die Performer*innen von urgent, in bodies (acab) nach und nach einen Satz: „STOP HOPING – START ACTING“, und fügen noch weitere Notizen, Parolen und Forderungen („no pasarán“ etc.) hinzu. „acab“ ist auch eine Forderung; es ist ein Ausruf, eine Anweisung, eine sprachliche Erregung; an manchen Orten ist es eine Handlung.

Dieses Jahr geht es in jedem Text, den ich schreibe, um Belarus.

Und man* könnte meinen, dass Schreiben sinnlos ist. Welche Textsorten sind in der Revolution zweckmäßig? Transparente und Sprechchöre, offene Briefe, Briefe an Gefangene, Graffiti, Nachrichten an Freund*innen oder Berichte. Aber andererseits, wenn alles bereits gesagt, mehrfach gesagt, in allen Sprachen gesprochen, auf jede verfügbare Fläche geschrieben wurde – was gibt es dann noch im Sprechchor zu rufen? Sollte nicht auch Sprache in den Streik treten? Eine Freundin hat mir erzählt, dass in ihren Lungen keine Luft mehr übrig war für die Sprechchöre, dass sie nach Beginn der Proteste recht schnell müde geworden war und keine Energie mehr zum Schreien hatte. Die Zeit der Revolution ist eine Zeit der Erschöpfung.

Der elektronische Soundtrack von urgent, in bodies (acab) erhöht in wohlbekannter Manier die Intensität und die Freude an der kollektiven Bewegung. Ungewöhnlicherweise gehen die Tracks aber nicht direkt ineinander über, und durch die Stille dazwischen dringen die Geräusche der Körper an unsere Ohren: der Atem, ihr Gewicht. Außerdem bewegen sich die Performer*innen nur scheinbar synchron – die Abwandlungen, Abweichungen, Anpassungen, individuellen Eigenheiten und unterschiedlichen Geschwindigkeiten der sich wiederholenden Bewegungen sind eindeutig zu erkennen.

In Study on Fool’s Paradise wirken die Tänzerinnen zunächst völlig distanziert, selbst wenn sie Gesten wiederholen und gemeinsam tanzen, gibt es ein Gefühl von Unnahbarkeit, Entfremdung und Zerstreutheit. Die Tänzerinnen schauen sich um, reagieren auf offensichtliche und unmerkliche Reize – reagieren und überreagieren. Ungeachtet der hohen Intensität der Bewegungen werden sie ständig unterbrochen; sie erscheinen wie eine Aneinanderreihung von Posen und Positionen in ständigem und schnellem Wandel, in ununterbrochener Veränderung.

Nachdem alles gesagt und mehrmals wiederholt wurde, wird klar, dass die Sprechchöre nicht nur geäußerte Forderungen sind – ihnen wohnt auch ein Gefühl von Zusammengehörigkeit und Kraft inne. Nachdem alles gesagt ist, bezeugen die Rufe, die Geräusche, das schwere Atmen unsere Anwesenheit. Nicht nur die politische Bewegung, sondern auch das langsame Vorankommen ist ein sich entwickelndes Engagement, das „erlernt, einstudiert […] geübt und erlebt werden muss“[3]. Unsere Strategie ist es, ins Stocken zu geraten.

Die Choreografie von Study on Fool’s Paradise ist buchstäblich eine Studie, eine radikale Einstudierung, eine Versuchs-Reihe. Es stellt sich die Frage, was eine Bewegung auslöst: das willkürliche Geräusch eines Kameraverschlusses, ein fremder Körper, der zufällig auftaucht, ein fallen gelassener Stock, die Berührung einer Freundin, die vorherige Bewegung, ein Wort, ein Satz? Und: Was bedeutet eigentlich „anfangen“ und „handeln“?

Wenn man* gegen Ende Eliza Trefas & Katarzyna Paluch dabei zusieht, wie sie scheinbar zufällige herangezogene Gegenstände – einen Papiersack, einen Stuhl, ein Stück Stoff – zuerst mit Sorgfalt behandeln, sich dann selbst gegen sie werfen und mit ihnen auf den Boden (ein-)schlagen, stellt sich die Frage, welche Intensität eine Geste haben muss, um ihre Wirkung zu erzielen, um andere damit zu erreichen, um endlich zur Kenntnis genommen zu werden.

Dieses Jahr haben wir alle viele beeindruckende und ausdrucksstarke Gesten gesehen – und gemacht: zur Faust erhobene Hände; zu einem V erhobene Hände – was sowohl für Sieg als auch für Trauer stehen kann; hochgehaltene Hände, um sich zu ergeben; Hände, die etwas werfen, oder Hände, die in Menschenketten ineinander verschränkt sind. Gesten zur Unterstützung von Worten und Gesten zur gegenseitigen Unterstützung. Die grundlegendste Geste des Protests ist ein Schritt.

Es ist schwer, der Versuchung zu widerstehen, diese Gesten aufzuzählen, zu kategorisieren, zu analysieren und zu wiederholen. Als könnte das den Moment der Handlungsmacht ausdehnen, seinen inneren Kern erfassen und seine Kraft und Wirkung über seinen Kontext hinaus vermitteln. Abgesehen von der Problematik eines solchen Unterfangens macht eine derartige Studie einer Geste, ihrer Wiederholung und ihrer Einstudierung sie weniger spektakulär, weniger dramatisch, mehr zu einer Routine.

In Minsk ist es derzeit unmöglich, nicht Teil der Protestbewegung zu sein.
Einfach nur herumzugehen, körperlich in der Stadt präsent zu sein – egal ob im Stadtzentrum, auf einem Platz, auf der Hauptstraße, im Gemeinschaftsgarten in den Vororten oder an einer Bushaltestelle – ist politisch aufgeladen. Überhaupt der ganze Alltag.
Jeden Abend auf dem Heimweg checken wir lokale Telegram-Chats und die Nachrichten, um zu sehen, ob es in der Nachbarschaft Protestaktionen oder Polizeirazzien gibt. Auch wenn man* nicht aktiv teilnimmt, liegt die Entscheidung am Ende nicht bei einem*einer selbst. Man* könnte versehentlich hineingeraten bzw. der Polizei in die Quere kommen. Es ist schon seltsam, dass der ganz alltägliche Heimweg plötzlich zu einem Akt des Widerstands wird.
Wer sich in der Stadt aufhält, wird automatisch in diesen diffusen Protest hineingezogen.
Es ist interessant, zu überlegen, was hier als (politische) Handlungsmacht zu verstehen ist. Und sich den Protest als eine Art fremden Geist vorzustellen, der zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt vom eigenen Körper Besitz ergreift, unabhängig von der eigenen Absicht oder dem eigenen Willen.
(Diesen Absatz habe ich am 17. Oktober 2020 geschrieben.)

Eine politische Geste geht über die Dynamik kontinuierlicher Bewegung, über deren kollektive Manifestationen hinaus. Sie dringt mit all ihrer Zerbrechlichkeit und ihren unregelmäßigen Rhythmen durch die Erfahrungen, die nicht wieder verlernt werden können, ins Alltägliche ein.

 

Olia Sosnovskaya (Wien/Minsk) ist Künstlerin, Wissenschaftlerin und Autorin. Sie arbeitet mit Text, Performance und bildender Kunst, wobei sie Vorstellungen von Festlichkeit und vom Politischen in postsozialistischen Kontexten und darüber hinaus miteinander verknüpft. Derzeit schreibt sie an ihrer Dissertation im Rahmen des PhD-in-Practice-Programms an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien. Mitbegründerin der kollektiven Plattform WORK HARD! PLAY HARD! (workhardplay.pw) und Mitglied der künstlerischen Forschungsgruppe Problem Collective.
oliasosnovskaya.com

 

[1] André Lepecki, „Choreopolice and Choreopolitics or, the task of the dancer“, in The Drama Review, 57. Jg, Heft 4, 2013, S. 13.
[2] Ana Vujanović, „History Never Repeats Itself“, in pARTisankA, A magazine for contemporary Belarusian culture, 35 „Your past — our future?“, 2021. anavujanovic.net/2021/04/history-never-repeats-itself-an-interview/.
[3] André Lepecki, „Choreopolice and Choreopolitics or, the task of the dancer“, in The Drama Review, 57. Jg, Heft 4, 2013, S. 15.

 
Loading