The dance of life

Rainer Fuchs on Collective Exhibition for a Single Body – The Private Score – Vienna 2019
 
© Oliver Ottenschläger 
1/3
© Oliver Ottenschläger 
2/3
© Oliver Ottenschläger 
3/3
© Oliver Ottenschläger 
1/3
Rainer Fuchs on Collective Exhibition for a Single Body – The Private Score – Vienna 2019

Commissioned by the Kontakt art collection and in cooperation with Tanzquartier Wien, French curator Pierre Bal-Blanc has co-developed several performances with Romanian artist and choreographer Manuel Pelmuş, which are shown in a branch of the Lidl supermarket chain on Wiedner Hauptstraße. This is a continuation, or rather a new Viennese version of a series of performances originally devised and curated by Pierre Bal-Blanc for the Piraeus Museum in the scope of documenta 14 in Athens. In Athens, the scores for the dancers’ interventions in the space dominated by ancient sculptures and their corporeality were provided by artists also represented at documenta 14 with their works. In Vienna, on the other hand, it’s the history of performative art in the countries of central, eastern and south-eastern Europe that is brought to mind and to life. Back in the 1960s and ’70s, the aim was to undermine traditional genres of art and subvert conventional forms and venues of presentation. Art became mobile in the literal sense and sought out public spaces and social situations beyond the beaten track. The artists represented in the Kontakt art collection, which specialises in central, eastern and south-eastern European art, provided the template for the “activated gestures”. This means that they are not only historical reference points but also present-day providers of ideas (they were all personally contacted and included in the “activation”), and their works owned by the collection are exhibited concurrently at Wittgenstein House.

The exhibition context is thereby extended and “commented on” by a performative dimension; past and present, art space and urban space are linked in multiple ways. However, the exhibition titled Collective Exhibition for a Single Body is itself an extended form of presentation that deviates from the usual, as the works of art are integrated in a furnished setting that calls the original function of Wittgenstein House as a residential building to mind. Artist Jakob Lena Knebl was commissioned with the furnishing. She drew primarily on furniture and prop design of the 1970s, whose main features were technoid and industrial materials such as chrome or Plexiglas, and which developed the shapes of Bauhaus aesthetics further. This creates a homely and personal atmosphere in the exhibition rooms, whereas the sterile atmosphere in the supermarket is disrupted by the performativity of corporeality.

While the danced interventions at documenta 14 still took place in a museum environment, they are now presented in a setting where one would traditionally not suspect to encounter art, in a place that, at first glance, is diametrically opposed to artistic activity. Supermarkets are spaces determined by marketing strategies; they are not so much places of intellectual persuasion but rather of surprise and inducement tactics. Here, consumerism celebrates itself and gives the illusion of a colourful, healthy and beautiful world while, in truth, brutal, capitalist cut-throat competition reigns. However, the place is itself a converted art space, as it used to house the exhibition space of the Generali Foundation. And that wasn’t just any art space but one that presented the most advanced art of modernism, neo-modernism and the present, i.e. various different kinds of art, which shared a very high level of reflection in relation to sociopolitical issues and developments. And it also showed art which in itself was already interdisciplinary and, at times, performative. The precision architects Jabornegg & Pálffy endowed this space with for the presentation of art can still be felt. Not even the gaudy world of goods shelves and their over-bright “Buy me!” message can cancel it out. And for those who saw groundbreaking exhibitions here, the reappropriation is still disturbing, to say the least. No less disturbing than the performers now acting in this space are for some supermarket customers. The loss of an important location for art is mitigated, at least for a short period of time.

Even though, on the outside, the performers look just like supermarket customers in their everyday clothes, their behaviour deviates from the usual shopping routine. They stand out with their repetitive movements and gestures, are perceived as strange or alien actors. A distinction must be made between two kinds of spectators, however: there are those who go there on purpose, who are informed and know what’s going on. The vast majority, however, encounter art unmediated where they don’t expect it. Salespeople sometimes explain the situation to astonished customers, to reassure them that this is art. A somewhat comical reversal, as the salespeople thereby take on the role of those in the know, having to explain art to, in some cases, surely art-savvy customers. The fact that art can still actually be exciting and, for some, even shocking, can be witnessed here as well. But there is also a dynamic that emerges between the visitors: those in the know observe those who are ignorant, and inevitably interpret their behaviour. They not only watch the performers, they also see them as being observed and interpreted by others. “Reversal of roles” is really the name of the game here: the supermarket itself is now a permuted space, not only in relation to the current performances but also in comparison to its original function. Its customers spontaneously change roles by becoming spectators. Internalised modes of perception and function are thus called into question. The gestures, which seem absurd at first glance, cause a rupture in the absent-minded act of shopping. The purpose of this place is to find certain wares that provide nourishment, not to think about life and the workings of merchandise management. Customers rush through, want to pay and leave again quickly to use the purchased items as intended. The performer lying down on the floor in front of the cash register, who remains motionless there for a while, represents a blatant antithesis to the hectic shopping procedure, even though or because he appears not to do anything. This raises the question of whether it isn’t actually the supermarket logic and our associated automated behaviour that is strange and absurd. And the artistically performed gestures of repetitive movements could possibly make us realise that shopping is ultimately a repetitive act in itself, an existential Sisyphus drama that we constantly mistake for a unique experience – not least because marketing strategists keep telling us so unremittingly. These performative acts thus have the potential to enlighten – precisely because they don’t fit in with the usual routine. But they also bridge the gap to the past, when artists conquered the public space and “inappropriately” interfered in places where otherwise only everyday life was happening. Many things have changed since then, others haven’t. In the end, meaningful art still performs the dance of life for us.

 

Rainer Fuchs is deputy director and chief curator at mumok.
Exhibitions include: Istanbul Biennial – Austrian contribution, 1992; Exhibition, 1994; Self Construction, 1996; Felix Gonzalez-Torres, 1998; Lois Weinberger, 1999; John Baldessari, 2005; Ryan Gander, 2006; Keren Cytter, 2007; Painting: Process and Expansion, 2010; Dan Flavin, 2012; Poetry of Reduction, 2012; Marge Monko, 2013; Space and Reality, 2014; Pakui Hardware, 2016; Natural Histories, 2017; Painting with Method, 2018; Christian Kosmas Mayer, 2019; Nikita Kadan, 2019. Publications on modern and contemporary art.

 

More texts in TQW MAGAZIN

Give feedback to magazin@tqw.at

 
Loading

Tanz des Lebens

Rainer Fuchs über Collective Exhibition for a Single Body – The Private Score – Vienna 2019
 
© Oliver Ottenschläger 
1/3
© Oliver Ottenschläger 
2/3
© Oliver Ottenschläger 
3/3
© Oliver Ottenschläger 
1/3
Rainer Fuchs über Collective Exhibition for a Single Body – The Private Score – Vienna 2019

Im Auftrag der Kontakt Sammlung und in Kooperation mit dem Tanzquartier Wien hat der französische Kurator Pierre Bal-Blanc gemeinsam mit dem rumänischen Künstler und Choreografen Manuel Pelmuş Performances entwickelt, die in der Lidl-Supermarktfiliale auf der Wiedner Hauptstraße gezeigt werden. Damit findet eine für die documenta 14 in Athen im Piraeus Museum von Pierre Bal-Blanc entworfene und kuratierte Reihe von Performances nun in Wien eine Fortsetzung bzw. Neufassung. Kamen in Athen die Scores für die Interventionen der Tänzer in dem von antiken Skulpturen und ihrer Körperlichkeit dominierten Raum von Künstler*innen, die mit ihren Arbeiten ebenso in der documenta 14 vertreten waren, so ist es in Wien die Geschichte performativer Kunst in den Ländern Mittel-, Ost- und Südosteuropas, die einer Vergegenwärtigung und Verlebendigung unterzogen wird. Damals – also in den 1960/70er-Jahren – ging es darum, traditionelle Kunstgattungen zu unterlaufen und konventionelle Präsentationsformen und -orte zu unterwandern. Die Kunst wurde buchstäblich beweglich und suchte öffentliche Räume und gesellschaftliche Situationen jenseits ausgetretener Kunstpfade auf. Die mit ihren Werken in der auf zentral-, ost- und südosteuropäische Kunst spezialisierten Kontakt Sammlung vertretenen Künstler*innen haben die Vorlage für die „aktivierten Gesten“ geliefert. Sie sind damit nicht nur historische Bezugsfiguren, sondern ebenso aktuelle Ideengeber (sie wurden alle persönlich aufgesucht und in die „Aktivierung“ miteinbezogen), die zudem auch selbst mit ihren Sammlungsarbeiten zeitgleich in einer Ausstellung im Haus Wittgenstein vertreten sind.

Der Ausstellungskontext wird damit durch eine performative Schiene erweitert und „kommentiert“, Vergangenheit und Gegenwart, Kunst- und Stadtraum auf mehrfache Weise miteinander verknüpft. Allerdings ist diese Ausstellung mit dem Titel Collective Exhibition for a Single Body selbst schon eine erweiterte Form der Präsentation, die vom Gewohnten abweicht, da die Kunstwerke in ein mobiliares Setting eingebunden sind, das die ursprüngliche Funktion des Hauses Wittgenstein als Wohngebäude in Erinnerung ruft. Die Künstlerin Jakob Lena Knebl zeichnet für diese Remobiliarisierung verantwortlich. Sie greift vorwiegend auf Möbel- und Requisitendesign der 1970er-Jahre zurück, das von technoiden und industriellen Materialien wie Chrom oder Plexiglas bestimmt ist und Formen der Bauhaus-Ästhetik weiterentwickelt. So herrscht in den Ausstellungsräumen eine wohnliche und private Atmosphäre, während auch im Supermarkt die sterile Atmosphäre von einer Performativität des Körperlichen gebrochen wird.

Fanden bei der documenta 14 die tänzerischen Interventionen noch in einem musealen Umraum statt, so sehen wir sie nun an einem für Kunst gewöhnlich unverdächtigen bzw. an einem jeglicher künstlerischen Aktivität auf den ersten Blick diametral entgegengesetzten Ort. Supermärkte sind von Marketingstrategien bestimmte Räume, in denen es weniger um intellektuelle Überzeugungsarbeit als vielmehr um Überrumpelungs- und Überredungstaktiken geht. Es sind Orte, an denen sich der Konsumismus selbst feiert und eine bunte, heile und schöne Welt vorgaukelt, wo in Wahrheit knallharter kapitalistischer Verdrängungswettbewerb herrscht. Allerdings ist dieser Ort selbst ein zweckentfremdeter Kunstraum, nämlich der ehemalige Ausstellungsraum der Generali Foundation. Und das war nicht irgendein Kunstraum, sondern einer, an dem avancierteste Kunst der Moderne, der Neomoderne und der Gegenwart gezeigt wurde, also unterschiedliche Formen von Kunst, denen jedoch ein sehr hohes Reflexionsniveau in Bezug auf gesellschaftspolitische Fragestellungen und Entwicklungen gemeinsam ist. Aber auch Kunst, die selbst schon interdisziplinär und mitunter performativ war. Die Präzision, die diesem Raum von seinen Architekten Jabornegg & Pálffy für die Präsentation der Kunst gegeben wurde, ist noch immer zu spüren. Sie ist nicht einmal von der knalligen Welt der Warenregale und ihrem schrillen „Kauf mich!“-Ton totzukriegen. Und für diejenigen, die hier bahnbrechende Ausstellungen gesehen haben, ist diese Umfunktionierung noch immer – gelinde gesagt – verstörend. Mindestens so verstörend wie für manche*n Supermarktkund*in die nun hier agierenden Performer*innen. Der Verlust eines bedeutenden Kunststandorts wird nun zumindest für einen kurzen Zeitraum relativiert.

Die Performer*innen gleichen zwar rein äußerlich mit ihrer Alltagskleidung den Supermarktkund*innen, weichen aber in ihrem Verhalten vom üblichen Einkaufsgehabe ab. Sie fallen mit ihren sich wiederholenden Bewegungen und Gesten auf, werden als seltsame oder fremdartige Akteur*innen wahrgenommen. Man hat allerdings bei den Betrachter_innen zu unterscheiden: Es gibt solche, die eigens hingehen, die informiert sind und wissen, was hier abläuft. Die überwiegende Zahl stößt jedoch unvermittelt auf Kunst, wo sie nicht erwartet wird. Mitunter erläutern die Verkäufer*innen den erstaunten Kund*innen, um sie zu beruhigen, dass es sich hierbei um Kunst handelt. Eine nicht unwitzige Umkehrung, geraten doch so die Verkäufer*innen in die Rolle der Kundigen, die den mitunter sicherlich kunstbewanderten Kund*innen erklären müssen, was Kunst ist. Dass Kunst nach wie vor eine tatsächlich aufregende und für manche auch schockierende Sache sein kann, bekommt man hier ebenfalls mit. Es entsteht aber auch zwischen den Besucher*innen eine Dynamik: Die Kundigen beobachten die Unkundigen und interpretieren unausweichlich deren Verhalten. Sie sehen nicht nur die Performer*innen, sondern sie sehen diese zugleich als von anderen Beobachtete und Interpretierte. Man gerät hier in ein Spiel von vertauschten Rollen: Bereits der Supermarkt ist ein nun vertauschter Raum, er ist dies aber nicht nur in Bezug auf die aktuellen Performances, sondern auch im Vergleich zu seiner ursprünglichen Funktion. Seine Kund*innen tauschen unwillkürlich ihre Rollen, indem sie zu Betrachter*innen werden. Verinnerlichte Wahrnehmungs- und Funktionsweisen werden damit fragwürdig. Die auf den ersten Blick absurden Gesten schlagen eine Bresche in das selbstvergessene Einkaufen. Man trachtet hier danach, bestimmte Dinge für die Lebensversorgung zu finden und nicht unbedingt über das Leben und die Art der Warenorganisation nachzudenken. Man eilt durch und möchte zahlen, dann auch schnell wieder raus, um das Eingekaufte zu verwerten. Der sich vor der Kassa auf den Boden legende und dort eine Zeit lang bewegungslos verharrende Performer stellt ein krasses Gegenbild zu dieser Einkaufshektik dar, obwohl oder weil er scheinbar nichts tut. So stellt sich die Frage, ob nicht eher die Supermarktlogik und unser darin einprogrammiertes Verhalten das eigentlich Absurde und Befremdliche ist. Auch dass die künstlerisch vorgeführten Gesten sich wiederholender Bewegungen uns möglicherweise dazu bringen könnten, darüber nachzudenken, dass das Einkaufen letztlich selbst ein sich ständig wiederholender Akt ist, ein existenzielles Sisyphus-Drama, das wir aber immerzu als einzigartiges Erlebnis verkennen – nicht zuletzt deshalb, weil uns das Marketingstrateg*innen unaufhörlich einreden. So haben diese performativen Akte aufklärerisches Potenzial – gerade weil sie sich nicht in die üblichen Abläufe einfügen. Sie schlagen damit aber auch die Brücke zur Vergangenheit, als sich die Künstler*innen den öffentlichen Raum eroberten und sich „ungehörig“ an Orten einmischten, wo sonst nur das alltägliche Leben ablief. Vieles hat sich seit damals geändert, manches aber nicht. Letztlich bekommen wir von sinnhafter Kunst immer noch den Tanz des Lebens vorgeführt.

 

Rainer Fuchs ist stellvertretender Direktor und Chefkurator am mumok.
Ausstellungen u.a.: Istanbul Biennale – österr. Beitrag 1992; Exhibition 1994; Self Construction 1996; Felix Gonzalez-Torres 1998; Lois Weinberger 1999; John Baldessari 2005; Ryan Gander 2006; Keren Cytter 2007; Malerei: Prozess und Expansion 2010; Dan Flavin 2012; Poesie der Reduktion 2012; Marge Monko 2013; Raum und Wirklichkeit 2014; Pakui Hardware 2016; Naturgeschichten 2017; Malerei mit Kalkül 2018; Christian Kosmas Mayer 2019; Nikita Kadan 2019. Publikationen zur Moderne und Gegenwartskunst.

 

Alle Beiträge im TQW Magazin

Feedback unter magazin@tqw.at

 
Loading