On the seductive creation of seductive images

Theresa Luise Gindlstrasser on Private Song by Alexandra Bachzetsis
 
© Mathias Völzke
Theresa Luise Gindlstrasser on Private Song by Alexandra Bachzetsis

The pulp fiction is stuck. In other words: the Rembetiko song “Misirlou”, the ultimate Tarantino “Pulp Fiction” melody, repeats itself, struggles, pushes – so slowly, all the more insistently – into the audience’s ears. And Alexandra Bachzetsis presents herself to this piece of music. The close-fitting, black, floor-length latex dress hugs her body. Latex and dominatrix – two words ending in “x”. Does she present herself? A body in an exposing costume in exposing positions. An ass, a seduction – and what is that look? Look, a word without an “x”, constitutes the challenging arrogance that makes one think of dominatri“x”. Right through to the absent-mindedly swaying lower leg of the woman lying on her stomach – each movement is a little too intended, too executed to be a mere repetition and reproduction of the traditional “woman presenting herself as a sexualised body”. Nonetheless: a seduction.

This paradoxical structure – an image repeating outdated images and yet repeating them in a different way, extracting something from the repetition; and it works along the same lines as the outdated images and yet doesn’t work, somehow works differently – is characteristic of Private Song. Created for documenta 14 in 2017, the sixty-minute performance revolves around the “Rembetiko” genre. So! I consulted (the German) Wikipedia: “[…] is a Greek style of music that emerged from a combination of Greek folk music and the Ottoman musical tradition in the early 20th century in the cities of Athens, Piraeus and Thessaloniki.” And then Thibault Lac and Sotiris Vasiliou appear from behind the audience. The “boys ex nihilo”. And Lac arranges a small white towel on the kitchen-tile-PVC-stage-rectangle. Carefully brushes the associated beach sand from his feet. Is sprawling. Pauses. Tucks the T-shirt back over the belly that has become exposed.

And starts to sing. A song called “Crazy Gypsy”. This term, this combination of words is no less outdated than “woman as an object”. And no less discriminatory. But that’s not what the scene is about. It confines itself to an irritating framing. Lac assumes one pose after another, a little wobbly throughout, pauses again and looks at the audience – until he continues to sing a few more lines. For the next song, the three of them appear as cowboys. They snap, clap their boots and impetuously throw their legs up in the air. The proper “Greek” way. And so very not the proper way. Nor Greek either. A shifted image, an image that doesn’t make you think: “Greek folk dance, right!”, instead, you ask yourself: “Oh! What do I think when I think ‘Greek’?” With the self-indulgent negligence of the last dancers in a bar late at night, Bachzetsis, Lac and Vasiliou move through duos and bewildering love-triangular trios.

For a medley – the back of the stage is now without a curtain and therefore huge – Vasiliou displays himself as a pop star. With one hand on his trouser pocket and the other imitating the sweeping gestures of kitsch ballad singers, he acts out “enthusiastic fans” and “I sing this song just for you”. “Pulp fiction” par excellence, as it were. And, with reference to Private Song, the aspect of “fiction” is so critical because, in everyday language, “fiction”, as something made, something shaped, is confronted with an unmade, shapeless, somehow bare “reality”. And because Private Song displays the made-ness, shaped-ness – in the performance’s own jargon: the framing – of images as such.

Could something more be said about the performance by juxtaposing “fiction” with “fucking”? I wondered. Perhaps. This form of image production, pointing in the direction of the fictionality of all image production yet still showing the images, is, after all, seriously seductive. It simply works. Works its way into the process of private experiencing. Almost at the end, behind Bachzetsis, who sits and sings, Lac and Vasiliou lift the PVC. That’s the way to create images. Just like that.

 

Theresa Luise Gindlstrasser studied philosophy, art studies and scenic writing. She works as a journalist, blogger, author.

 

More texts in TQW MAGAZIN

Give feedback to magazin@tqw.at

 
Loading

Über die verführerische Verfertigung von verführerischen Bildern

Theresa Luise Gindlstrasser über Private Song von Alexandra Bachzetsis
 
© Mathias Völzke
Theresa Luise Gindlstrasser über Private Song von Alexandra Bachzetsis

Die pulp fiction hängt. Das heißt: Das Rembetiko-Lied „Misirlou“, diese ultimative Tarantino-„Pulp Fiction“-Melodie, wiederholt sich, müht sich, drängt sich – so langsam, umso aufdringlicher – ins Gehör hinein. Und Alexandra Bachzetsis zeigt sich selbst dazu her. Das schwarze bodenlange Latexkleid umfasst hauteng. Latex und Dominatrix – zwei Wörter auf „x“. Zeigt sich selbst dazu her? Zeigt einen Körper in exponierendem Kostüm in exponierenden Positionen. Ein Arsch, eine Verführung – und was ist das für ein Blick? Blick, dieses Wort ohne „x“, konstituiert die herausfordernde Überheblichkeit, die an Dominatri„x“ denken macht. Bis hin zum gedankenlos schwankenden Schenkel der auf dem Bauch liegenden Frau – es ist jede Bewegung einen Tick zu sehr gedacht, zu sehr gemacht, als dass sie bloße Wiederholung und Wiedergabe des tradierten „Frau zeigt sich als sexualisierter Körper“ wäre. Nichtsdestoweniger: eine Verführung.

Diese paradoxe Struktur – ein Bild wiederholt überkommene Bilder und wiederholt sie doch anders, holt etwas anderes aus der Wiederholung heraus und funktioniert wie die überkommenen Bilder und funktioniert doch nicht, funktioniert irgendwie anders – ist kennzeichnend für Private Song. 2017 für die documenta 14 entstanden, kümmert sich die sechzigminütige Performance ums Genre „Rembetiko“. Also! Ich habe Wikipedia gelesen: „[…] ist ein griechischer Musikstil, der aus der Verbindung der Volksmusik Griechenlands und der osmanischen Musiktradition in den sich zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts in den Städten Athen, Piräus und Thessaloniki bildenden Subkulturen hervorgegangen ist.“ Und dann tauchen Thibault Lac und Sotiris Vasiliou von hinter dem Publikum auf. Die „boys ex nihilo“. Und Lac richtet auf dem Küchenfliesen-PVC-Bühnen-Rechteck ein kleines weißes Handtuch ein. Streicht sorgfältig die Füße vom dazu assoziierten Strandsand frei. Räkelt sich. Hält inne. Nestelt das T-Shirt wieder über den nackt gewordenen Bauch.

Und beginnt zu singen. Ein Lied namens „Verrückter Zigeuner“. Dieses Wort, diese Wortkombination ist nicht weniger überkommen als „die Frau als Objekt“. Und nicht weniger diskriminierend. Darauf geht die Szene aber nicht ein. Beschränkt sich auf eine irritierende Rahmung. Lac wetzt von Pose zu Pose, immer ein bisschen verwackelt, hält wieder inne und schaut ins Publikum, bis er weitere Zeilen singt. Fürs nächste Lied erscheinen die drei als Cowboys. Es wird geschnipst, gegen Stiefel geklatscht und impulsiv die Beine nach oben geworfen. So richtig „griechisch“. Und so gar nicht richtig. Oder griechisch. Ein verschobenes Bild, ein Bild, das nicht „Ach so! Griechischer Volkstanz“ denken lässt, sondern „Aha! Was denke ich, wenn ich ‚griechisch‘ denke?“ fragen macht. Mit der selbstverliebten Nachlässigkeit der letzten Tanzenden in einer Bar um viel zu spät Uhr morgens bewegen sich Bachzetsis, Lac und Vasiliou durch Duos und verwirrend lovetrianglische Trios.

Für ein Medley – mittlerweile ist die Bühne hinten ohne Vorhang und also riesengroß – stellt sich Vasiliou als Popstar aus. Mit einer Hand an der Hosentasche und der anderen die weit ausholenden Gesten der Kitsch-Balladen-Sänger imitierend spielt er „begeisterte Fans“ und „Nur für dich singe ich dieses Lied“. Quasi „pulp fiction“ par excellence. Schund-Dichtung, ungefähr, auf Deutsch. Und das mit der „Fiktion“ ist in Anbetracht von Private Song deshalb so virulent, weil alltagssprachlich „die Fiktion“ als etwas Gemachtes, Geformtes einer ungemachten, unförmigen, irgendwie nackigen „die Realität“ gegenübersteht. Und Private Song gerade die Gemachtheit, Geformtheit – im performanceeigenen Jargon: Rahmung – von Bildern per se ausstellt.

Ob sich über die Juxtaposition von „Fiktion“ und „ficken“ noch mal was über die Performance sagen ließe? Habe ich mich gefragt. Möglich. Diese Art von Bildproduktion, in die Richtung Fiktionalität aller Bildproduktion verweisend und die Bilder trotzdem zeigend, ist schon schwerwiegend verführerisch. Funktioniert eben. Ins private Erleben hinein. Fast am Ende heben Lac und Vasiliou hinter der sitzend singenden Bachzetsis den PVC in die Höhe. So werden Bilder gemacht. So!

 

 

Theresa Luise Gindlstrasser hat Philosophie, Kunstwissenschaft und Szenisches Schreiben studiert. Sie arbeitet als Journalistin, Bloggerin, Autorin.

 

 

Alle Beiträge im TQW Magazin

Feedback unter magazin@tqw.at

 
Loading