On sneakers as such and on the sneakers of the performer

Lilo Nein on No Title by Mette Edvardsen
 
Forest clearing in sun
Lilo Nein on No Title by Mette Edvardsen

No Title by Mette Edvardsen is not a piece without a title. The performance is entitled with a negation that is artistic strategy and programme in one.

In art history, titles which offer a first introduction as well as hints at meaning that give access to artistic works are anchored in the relation of language (title) and image (painting). On the part of the artist, they also provide a playground for investigations of the functions of language. For instance, Marcel Duchamp called the title ‘invisible colour’. The Croatian concept artist Vlado Martek called his first retrospective at mmsu in Rijeka in 2019 “Exhibition with Many Titles”. This title suggests that there are several ways, modes of access, interpretations, and reading possibilities of the exhibition and the works assembled therein. However, this demand regarding the reception aesthetics only gains its depth of significance through an epistemological focussing of the question how meaning between image and language circulates in certain historical dispositives of imagery and representation. No Title takes up this question.

Mette Edvardsen lets her piece start with a negation. No title. The piece begins. I find myself in that indetermined space when the performer enters the stage and in a factual tone proclaims: “The beginning is gone. The space is empty and gone.” A kind of vertigo arises in my body. Which universe are we in?

In “Performer/Audience/Mirror” from 1975, one of the early documented works of performance art, Dan Graham uses words to describe his own physical presence, movements, and spatial whereabouts as performer, as well as the audience present, and thus addresses the joint experience of space-time of this art form in its relational character. Edvardsen, who performs her text herself, also names things connected with the conventions of theatre. However, her words are formulated in advance and refer to the German word ‘Vorstellung’ in a double meaning – the ‘Theatervorstellung’ (theatre performance) and the concepts (‘Vorstellungen’) of the words in our imagination, which due to the programmatic “no” at the moment of their appearance immediately shatter again: “The fire extinguisher, people sitting in the dark and the sound of rain gone. Pen, lipstick, chewing gum, keys, wallet and mobile phone switched off, a minute earlier, one year later […] gone.”

By invoking all these concepts and the conventions connected with them, Edvardsen visualises the “the sticky problem of humanity’s own captivity within language”[1], one could say with Karen Barad’s critical words on representation. Language is exhibited in its inefficient detour over the conception of things in our mind. Graham’s mirror, whose purpose is the reflection of the performing subject, is gone in Edvardsen’ work, I think. Cool! As early as 1917, Walter Benjamin in his essay “The programme of the coming philosophy”[2] envisioned an epistemology that leaves behind the differentiation between object and subject, although because of its reference to Kantian philosophy it remains in abstract remoteness. In the meantime, feminist-posthumanist philosophers of science such as Donna Haraway and Karen Barad have offered much more concrete methods of approach, which try to establish themselves in the world performatively.

The performer on the stage says: “Me is not gone.” She will stay a while yet.
I like her neutral tone.

“Well, the ‘I’ is not just its conceptions”, I think while the performer begins systematically to rob us of all the things that lend us physical orientation: fore- and background gone, the ceiling, the corners of the room, distance, central perspective, points, lines, lines connecting points, the clockwise direction gone. Also, the categories with which we navigate (through) our thinking through space and time, like references, distinctions, logic, questions, numbers and counting, inside and outside, are affected by the paradoxical play of being present because of being absent and are gone.

What remains for the moment – apart from the obvious questions of how we actually discern between thinking and being, acting and judging, perception and its conditionings – is the performer’s voice. Not as language in its representational function, but in its connecting quality of being uttered, it shows how material bodies and spaces, abstract conceptions and concrete matters are connected with each other in the here and now. This addresses her, our, and Graham’s objective – because subjectively situated – perception as foundation of any experience and expression.

The sneakers standing on the side of the otherwise black stage remind me that for Walter Benjamin, the human language is not the only one. In “On Language as Such and on the Language of Man”, he talks about a language of things.[3] “Things that do not speak, ‘no longer present’”, the performer in this moment comments my thoughts. Following Benjamin’s metaphysical-magical understanding of language, one is bound to deviate from theatre-semiotic associations. This is not about what the sneakers speak of, but about the language-sneakers in their immediacy. The complex language theoretic deliberations configure a pre-paradisiac language thinking in correspondence with the pure perception of the name. The creative act of naming the things that serves humans to elevate themselves over nature, plants, things, is rejected by Edvardsen’s calling her work No Title. This gesture puts her own language next to the language of the sneakers.

Both are standing on the stage. We are in the theatre. The floor that got lost because of vertigo appears again. The piece is over. “Illusion is gone.” The performance stays in mind.

 

 

[1] Karen Barad, “Agential Realism: How Material-Discursive Practices Matter”, in Meeting the Universe Halfway: Quantum Physics and the Entanglement of Matter and Meaning, London 2007. p. 137
[2] Walter Benjamin, “The Programme of the Coming Philosophy”, in Howard Caygill. Walter Benjamin. The colour of Experience. London 1997.
[3] Walter Benjamin, “On Language as Such and on the Language of Man, in Marcus Bullock, Michael W. Jennings (Eds.) Walter Benjamin. Selected Writings Volume 1 1913-1926. London 1997.

 

Lilo Nein is a practising language and performance artist. She studied visual art at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna and artistic research at kabk – Koninklijke Academie van Beeldende Kunsten, Den Haag / University of Leiden. Currently Lilo Nein is Senior Scientist at the VALIE EXPORT Center Linz_Research Center for Media and Performance Art.

 

 
Loading

Über Turnschuhe überhaupt und über die Turnschuhe der Performerin

Lilo Nein über No Title von Mette Edvardsen
 
Waldlichtung in Sonne
Lilo Nein über No Title von Mette Edvardsen

No Title von Mette Edvardsen ist kein unbetiteltes Stück. Die Performance ist mit einer Negation betitelt, welche zugleich künstlerische Strategie und Programm ist.

Titel, die sowohl einen ersten Einstieg als auch Bedeutungshinweise zur Erschließung von künstlerischen Werken bieten, sind kunsthistorisch im Verhältnis von Sprache (Titel) und Bild (Gemälde) verankert. Sie bieten auch von künstlerischer Seite eine Spielwiese für Auseinandersetzungen mit den Funktionen von Sprache an. Marcel Duchamp bezeichnete den Titel beispielsweise als unsichtbare Farbe. Der kroatische Konzeptkünstler Vlado Martek nennt seine erste Retrospektive im mmsu in Rijeka 2019 „Exhibition with Many Titles“. Dieser Titel suggeriert, dass es mehrere Wege, Einstiege, Interpretationen und Lesemöglichkeiten der Ausstellung und der darin versammelten Arbeiten gibt. Diese rezeptionsästhetische Forderung erhält die Tiefe ihrer Brisanz aber erst durch eine erkenntnistheoretische Fokussierung der Frage, wie Bedeutung zwischen Bild und Sprache in gewissen historischen Dispositiven des Abbildens und Darstellens zirkuliert. No Title stellt sich dieser Frage.

Mette Edvardsen lässt ihr Stück mit einer Negation beginnen. Kein Titel. Das Stück beginnt. Ich befinde mich in diesem nicht definierten Raum, als die Performerin die Bühne betritt und in sachlicher Tonlage verlautbart: „The beginning is gone. The space is empty, and gone.“ Es gibt keinen Anfang, keinen Raum. Eine Art von Schwindel entsteht in meinem Körper. In welchem Universum befinden wir uns?

Dan Graham beschreibt 1975 in „Performer/Audience/Mirror“, einer der frühen dokumentierten Arbeiten der Performancekunst, die eigene körperliche Präsenz, Bewegungen und räumliche Verortung als Performer sowie das anwesende Publikum mit seinen Worten und thematisiert damit den gemeinsam erlebten Zeit-Raum dieser Kunstform in ihrem relationalen Charakter. Auch Edvardsen, die ihren Text selbst performt, benennt Dinge, die mit Konventionen des Theaters zu tun haben. Jedoch sind die Worte vorformuliert und beziehen sich auf die Vorstellung im doppelten Sinn – die Theatervorstellung und die Vorstellung der Worte, die durch das programmatische „No“ im Augenblick des Auftauchens gleich wieder zerschellen: „Der Feuerlöscher, Leute, die im Dunkeln sitzen, und das Geräusch von Regen, ‚gegangen‘. Kugelschreiber, Lippenstift, Kaugummi, Schlüssel, Geldbörsel und Handy, abgedreht eine Minute vorher, ein Jahr nachher […], ‚vergangen‘.“

Mit dem Anrufen all dieser Vorstellungen und damit verbundenen Konventionen macht Edvardsen das „zähe Problem der menschlichen Gefangenschaft in der Sprache“[1] sichtbar, könnte man mit Karen Barads repräsentationskritischen Worten sagen. Die Sprache wird in ihrem ineffizienten Umweg über die Vorstellung der Dinge in unserem Verstand vorgeführt. Der Graham’sche Spiegel, welcher die Reflexion des performenden Subjekts zum Gegenstand hatte, ist in Edvardsens Arbeit „verschwunden“, denke ich. Cool! Walter Benjamin schwebt bereits 1917 in seinem Aufsatz „Über das Programm der kommenden Philosophie“[2] eine Erkenntnistheorie vor, welche die Objekt-Subjekt-Unterscheidung hinter sich lässt. Diese bleibt allerdings durch den Bezug auf die Philosophie Kants in abstrakter Ferne. Gekommen sind in der Zwischenzeit mit feministisch-posthumanistischen Wissenschaftstheoretiker*innen wie Donna Haraway oder Karen Barad viel konkretere Betrachtungsweisen, die sich performativ in der Welt zu situieren suchen.

Die Performerin auf der Bühne sagt: „Me is not gone.“ Sie bleibt noch etwas.

Ich mag die neutrale Tonlage.

„Das ‚Ich‘ ist eben nicht nur seine Vorstellungen“, denke ich, während die Performerin beginnt, uns systematisch all jener Dinge, die uns physische Orientierung schenken, zu berauben: Vorder- und Hintergrund „gegangen“, die Decke, die Ecken des Raums, Linien im Raum, Distanz, Zentralperspektive, Punkte, Linien, Linien, die Punkte verbinden, der Uhrzeigersinn „vergangen“. Auch die Kategorien, mit denen wir (durch) unser Denken durch Raum und Zeit navigieren, wie Referenzen, Unterscheidungen, Logik, Fragen, Zahlen und Zählen, innen und außen, sind vom paradoxen Spiel des Anwesend-, weil Abwesendseins betroffen und sind „verschwunden“.

Was neben den offensichtlichen Fragen, wie wir eigentlich zwischen Denken und Sein, Handeln und Urteilen, Wahrnehmung und ihren Konditionierungen unterscheiden, bleibt, für den Moment, ist die Stimme der Performerin. Nicht die Sprache in ihrer repräsentationalen Funktion, sondern in ihrer verbindenden Eigenschaft des Ausgesprochenwerdens zeigt sie, wie materielle Körper und Räume, abstrakte Vorstellungen und konkrete Dinge im Moment des Hier und Jetzt miteinander verbunden sind. Ihre, unsere und Grahams objektive, weil subjektiv-situierte Wahrnehmung als Basis jeder Erfahrung und Äußerung ist angesprochen.

Die Turnschuhe, die am Rande der ansonsten leeren schwarzen Bühne stehen, erinnern mich daran, dass bei Walter Benjamin die Sprache des Menschen nicht die einzige Sprache ist. In „Über Sprache überhaupt und über die Sprache des Menschen“ spricht er von einer Sprache der Dinge.[3] „Dinge, die nicht sprechen, ‚nicht mehr vorhanden‘“, kommentiert die Performerin in diesem Moment meine Gedanken. Benjamins metaphysisch-magischem Sprachverständnis folgend kommt man von theatersemiotischen Assoziationen ab. Nicht wovon die Schuhe sprechen, sondern die Sprach-Schuhe in ihrer Unmittelbarkeit sind gemeint. Die komplexen sprachtheoretischen Überlegungen konfigurieren ein vorparadiesisches Sprach-Denken, welches der reinen Erkenntnis des Namens entspricht. Den schöpferischen Akt, die Dinge zu benennen, mit welchem sich der Mensch über die Natur, Pflanzen, Dinge stellt, verweigert Edvardsen, indem sie ihre Arbeit No Title nennt. Diese Geste stellt ihre Sprache neben die Sprache der Turnschuhe.

Beide stehen auf der Bühne. Wir befinden uns im Theater. Der durch den Schwindel verloren gegangene Boden erscheint wieder. Das Stück ist zu Ende. „Die Illusion gegangen.“ Die Performance bleibt in Erinnerung.

 

[1] Karen Barad, Agentieller Realismus. Über die Bedeutung materiell-diskursiver Praktiken, Berlin 2012.
[2] Walter Benjamin, „Über das Programm der kommenden Philosophie“, in: Walter Benjamin. Zur Kritik der Gewalt und andere Aufsätze, Frankfurt am Main 1965.
[3] Walter Benjamin, Über Sprache überhaupt und über die Sprache des Menschen, Ditzingen 2019.

 

Lilo Nein hat eine Praxis als Sprach- und Performancekünstlerin. Sie studierte bildende Kunst an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien und künstlerische Forschung an der kabk – Koninklijke Academie van Beeldende Kunsten, Den Haag / Universität Leiden. Derzeit ist Lilo Nein Senior Scientist am VALIE EXPORT Center Linz_Forschungszentrum für Medien- und Performancekunst.

 

 
Loading