From blood-red to pitch-black

Martin Pieper on Dark Field Analysis by Jefta van Dinther
 
Jefta van Dinther Dark Field Analysis
© Ben Mergelsberg
Martin Pieper on Dark Field Analysis by Jefta van Dinther

blood-red to pitch-black: Jefta van Dinther keeps his dancers in the dark.

Two PJ Harvey songs generate the musical pulse of Jefta van Dinther’s dance performance Dark Field Analysis. The British musician never hesitates to turn existential bodily experiences into songs; in this sense, the singer and the choreographer might be kindred spirits. Experiencing the eponymous “Dark Field Analysis”, a method used for microscopic blood examination, was the starting point for Jefta van Dinther’s curious pas de deux for two nude male bodies. Or they might possibly also be microscopically enlarged blood cells, which we – the audience – are able to trace from all four sides of the stage setting, just as the choreographer, according to his own words, was fascinated to watch his own blood’s microscopic image: the way it lives, moves and decomposes. The movement vocabulary of the two dancers seems just as strange as watching one’s own blood cells. The stage gets transformed into a cell-culture dish. The longer and more carefully we watch them, the less we grasp and are able to comprehend. At the beginning, the lighting consists of bright red and blue colours, a colour combination reminding of old 3D glasses. Over the course of the entire performance, the colours subtly soften and fade into complete darkness. Thereby, the spectators enter a quasi-private space in which there only exists the self and the two performers, who move on the margins of perception. It feels like the microscopic image slowly gets out of focus.

We dream about horses.

“Horses in my Dream” and “The Slow Drug” are the titles of the two PJ Harvey songs which were arranged for Dark Field Analysis by sound designer David Kiers. Dreams, drugs and slowness can also be associated with what is happening on this playing field. Most of the time, the two dancers and performers, Juan Pablo Cámara and Roger Sala Reyner, move close to the ground like they are being dragged down by gravity. They rest on the ground like dolls without clothes, their limbs do not really appear to be part of their own bodies. This arm behaves as it pleases. The two dancers look at themselves and at each other in amazement. There are hesitant attempts at gesturing, but these gestures halt or stagnate completely. Technologically equipped with microphones and transmitters, these nude bodies resemble something like cyborgs. “Do androids dream about sheep?”, science fiction author Philip K. Dick asked at some point. Right here, they might be dreaming about horses, but possibly also about each other’s b(lo)od(y). “Did you ever enter the body of someone else?” is just one line from the fragmentary dialogue between the two dancers. There are no answers. But right at the beginning, you can already feel that this plain coexistence will not go on much longer. The two bodies will get in the way, the desire to be the other, to possess the other. The darker it gets, the more there is of pulling at each other, edging, charging. The darkness transforms slow motion into fast forward, turns the act of cautiously reaching out for something into a racing locomotor system outrunning itself. The dream becomes a nightmare. There is this moment of image editing in (Japanese) horror movies when a monster suddenly accelerates from virtual standstill to maximum activity, when latent danger turns into actual danger. In Jefta van Dinther’s live performance, this moment is created by the space-time-experience of the twilit stage. However, there comes an awakening from this pitchblack, blood-red dream. To rub one’s eyes in the white neon light of the aftermath. Wasn’t there something else?

To have one’s head in black clouds

Did we watch dreamers dream or did we observe their dreams? When the darkness has ended, the two performers stalk in the artificial light. It feels like after hours. They take their first few shaky-legged steps in an upright manner. And at the very end of the performance, Jefta van Dinther presents us with the image of a utopian prospect: One dancer stands on top of the other. His head gets lost in the black artificial stage firmament. Being headless, we are directed toward future obscurities. Maybe this represents the attempt to escape the claustrophobic cabin the stage is, to escape the everlasting condition of being watched. The blood cell becomes the body. Facing an uncertain future.

 

Martin Pieper has been editor in-chief of radio FM4 since 2000. Amongst other topics, he also deals with subjects related to dance, theatre and performance. He is host of FM4 Zimmerservice, which is broadcast every other Sunday. As DJ, he was part of the FMqueer event team and still plays his favourite records to favourite people.

 

 

More texts in TQW MAGAZIN

 
Loading

Von Blutrot zu Dunkelschwarz

Martin Pieper über Dark Field Analysis von Jefta van Dinther
 
Jefta van Dinther Dark Field Analysis
© Ben Mergelsberg
Martin Pieper über Dark Field Analysis von Jefta van Dinther

Von Blutrot zu Dunkelschwarz: Jefta von Dinther lässt seine Tänzer im Dunkeln.

Zwei Songs von PJ Harvey liefern den musikalischen Puls für Jefta von Dinthers Tanzperformance Dark Field Analysis. Die britische Musikerin war nie darum verlegen, existenzielle Körpererfahrungen in Songs zu verwandeln, darin vielleicht eine Seelenverwandte des Choreografen. Eine solche Erfahrung, die titelgebende „Dark Field Analysis“, eine Methode der mikroskopischen Blutuntersuchung, war für van Dinther der Anstoß für diesen seltsamen Pas de deux zweier nackter Männerkörper. Vielleicht sind es aber auch mikroskopisch vergrößerte Blutkörperchen, denen wir – das Publikum – von allen vier Seiten des Spielraums aus zusehen können, genauso wie der Choreograf nach Eigenauskunft fasziniert seinem eigenen Blut unter dem Mikroskop dabei zugesehen hat, wie es lebt, sich bewegt und sich zersetzt. Das Bewegungsrepertoire der beiden Tänzer bleibt ähnlich fremd. Wie der Blick auf das eigene Blut. Die Bühne wird zur Petrischale. Je länger und genauer wir sie beobachten, umso mehr entgleitet uns allerdings die Fähigkeit zu verstehen. Die Lichtstimmung startet mit scharfem Rot und Blau, die Kombination erinnert an die Farben alter 3D-Brillen. Im Lauf der Performance verschattet sie sich unmerklich und führt schließlich in komplette Finsternis und damit den/die Betrachter_in in einen quasi privaten Raum, in dem es nur noch einen selbst und die zwei Performer gibt, die sich am Rande der Wahrnehmungsmöglichkeiten bewegen. Es ist, als würde man das Mikroskop von scharf auf unscharf stellen.

Wir träumen von Pferden

„Horses in my Dreams“ und „The Slow Drug“ heißen die beiden Songs von PJ Harvey, die vom Sounddesigner David Kiers für Dark Field Analysis bearbeitet wurden. Träume, Drogen und Langsamkeit sind auch Assoziationen zum Geschehen auf dem Spielfeld. Die beiden Tänzer und Performer Juan Pablo Cámara und Roger Sala Reyner bewegen sich fast die gesamte Spielzeit über ganz nah am Boden, erdenschwer. Sie sitzen da wie Puppen ohne Kleider, ihre Gliedmaßen scheinen nicht ganz zu ihnen zu gehören. Der Arm macht, was er will. Die beiden Tänzer betrachten das mit Staunen an sich selbst und manchmal auch am Gegenüber. Bewegungen werden zögernd geprobt, bleiben stecken oder versanden im Stillstand. Dass die nackten Körper sichtbar mit Technik, Mikrofon und Sender, markiert werden, rückt sie in die Nähe von Maschinenmenschen. „Träumen Androiden von Schafen?“, hat der Science-Fiction-Autor Philip K. Dick gefragt. Hier träumen sie vielleicht von Pferden, vielleicht aber auch vom (Blut-) Körper des anderen. „Did you ever enter the body of someone else?“, lautet eine Zeile aus dem bruchstückhaften Dialog, den die beiden Tänzer führen. Antworten werden keine gegeben. Aber man spürt schon zu Beginn, dass dieser Zustand des Nebeneinanders nicht so bleiben wird. Dem kommen die Körper in die Quere, das Begehren, der andere zu sein, den anderen zu haben. Und je dunkler dieser Abend wird, desto mehr wird aneinander gezogen, geschliffen, geübt. Im Dunkel wird aus der Zeitlupe ein Zeitraffer, aus dem vorsichtigen Tasten ein sich selbst überholender rasender Bewegungsapparat. Der Traum wird zum Albtraum. Die Szene ist mit einem Bildeffekt des (japanischen) Horrorkinos verwandt, wenn das Monster ganz plötzlich mittels Schnitt vom Stillstand zur Höchstgeschwindigkeit, von der latenten Bedrohung zur unmittelbaren Gefahr wird. Bei Jefta von Dinther wird es im Halbdunkel des Bühnenraums in der Raum-Zeit-Erfahrung einer Liveperformance umgesetzt. Aber es gibt ein Erwachen aus diesem pechschwarzen, blutroten Traum. Im weißen Neonlicht des Danach reiben wir uns die Augen. War da was?

Den Kopf in schwarzen Wolken

Haben wir Träumenden zugesehen, wie sie träumen, oder haben wir ihre Träume gesehen? Nach dem Ende der Verdunkelung staksen die beiden Darsteller durch das künstliche Licht. Es fühlt sich nach Afterhour an. Ihre ersten aufrechten Schritte sind unsicher. Und ganz am Ende gönnt uns Jefta van Dinther sogar noch das Bild eines utopischen Ausblicks. Ein Tänzer steht auf den Schultern des anderen. Sein Kopf verliert sich im Schwarz des künstlichen Bühnenhimmels. Kopflos geht es in zukünftige Dunkelheiten. Vielleicht ist es auch der Versuch eines Ausbruchs aus dieser strengen Bühnenkammer, eine Fluchtbewegung aus dem Zustand des ständigen Beobachtetwerdens. Das Blutkörperchen wird Körper. Mit ungewissem Ausgang.

 

Martin Pieper ist seit 2000 Chefredakteur von Radio FM4, dem ORF-Jugendkultursender. In seiner redaktionellen Tätigkeit setzt er sich auch immer wieder mit Tanz/Theater/Performance auseinander. Als Moderator ist er vor allem in der Wunschsendung FM4 Zimmerservice jeden zweiten Sonntagabend zu hören. Als DJ war er Teil des FMqueer-Veranstalter_ innenteams und legt auch jetzt noch gerne Lieblingsplatten für Lieblingsmenschen auf.

 

 

Alle Beiträge im TQW MAGAZIN

 
Loading