What we need and who provides it to us

Anna Katharina Laggner on The Quiet by Jefta van Dinther
 
Anna Katharina Laggner on The Quiet by Jefta van Dinther

Writing and dancing are related. While the latter can do without words entirely, both need the body, a medium that breathes and lives, that feels and communicates, and that, in order to create vibrations in another person, stimulate their spirit, touch them emotionally (a trite yet reasonable expectation from art), should possess a precise quality.[1]

The precise is banal (while the complicated is only complicated), banal not in the sense of empty of meaning or unimaginative but as a sequence of the ordinary, that is, of what constitutes life. Nobody moves the world, it does so all by itself. We move in the space that is specific to us, in the language that is unique to us, in the body that is unique to us.

In her novel “Unquiet”[2], writer Linn Ullmann recounts the slow fading-away of her father, world-famous director Ingmar Bergman, who, as the reader learns, cherished structure above all else. His everyday life was strictly arranged into hours of writing, hours of walking, hours of eating, hours of films, which he showed for himself, his children and any guests in the private cinema at his home on the Swedish island of Fårö. Even though Bergman was married five times and had nine children, he still lived his life without making any compromises (according to the novel, at any rate). On the contrary, he always did as he saw fit – now that I come to think about it, this could be a reason why he was married five times and had nine children. But that’s just an aside.

Towards the end of his life he became demented, lost his language but not his structure. His daughter Linn, the writer, wants to make a record of what is still left and tries to find ways, within the scope of the Bergman structure on Fårö, to ask the father questions and put the conversations on tape. All of this goes hopelessly wrong in her eyes and extremely unsettles her, so that she won’t even listen to the recordings for many years. She dismisses the tapes until she begins to tap into the conversations of which she expects great things but which turn out to provide that which constitutes basal life, namely small, inconspicuous tasks and essentials. At one point, the father, the great Ingmar Bergman, speaks of the “thing with walls”, meaning a room. This is what inspired Jefta van Dinther to create The Quiet. Which won’t notice if you don’t know, and don’t need to know. Jefta van Dinther picks up where Ingmar Bergman – via Linn Ullmann – left off. Van Dinther has set the “thing with walls” into vibration, he lets it pass through himself and makes a new suggestion. If viewed as a medium that breathes, art is always a suggestion (not a position).

There are five dull figures (things with a skin) on stage, hardly any light, a metal frame structuring the space and variable squares structuring the floor. The beige-clad women wear smocks, short trousers and down vests – a piece of clothing that, like few others, protects, strengthens and structures the body. It would be possible for them to be knights, but they will never find each other as a group and, as individuals, remain seekers. Silent, solitary and isolated, they look around furtively, watch how the others are doing it. Even in the few moments of moving forward, they always have to look behind and to the side. Even when they do something together, there is always an outsider (a figure that may serve to define a group). What they’re looking for? Probably the light, the supernatural, the cure. What they find? A glittering surface underneath the floor puzzle which gives them hope that life, after all, isn’t just a banal variation of unchanging sameness before it’s over.

Movements, words, sounds and light communicate with each other, react to each other, you can say hello to darkness (my old friend), you can see loneliness in silence but also the spirits of disembodied souls that continue to vibrate.[3] They have something to impart to us, the living ones: clues, from generation to generation. We can make decisions, can go beyond the limits of normality, into madness, into frenzy, but there’s one thing we cannot do: live without structure.

Without structure we lose ourselves, the structure is the heartbeat of everyday life. Every signal has an effect. When there’s a whisper, the wind blows, when there’s a roar, it’s a hurricane, when we hear gulls, we think of the sea, and when cutlery falls to the floor, we know that something’s happened. Everything is that simple, but if we hadn’t learned it, if nobody had taught us, we would be lost.

We have to keep going, sit down in between times, (for some ridiculous reason) we have to defend our space using our fists and, when it gets crowded in the protective tent, we have to form alliances.

But where is the love that pervades life? And why does rain trickling down windowpanes have a soothing effect on us?

 

 

Anna Katharina Laggner is a radio broadcaster, author, presenter, artist. She writes regularly about film for Austrian public radio station FM4, is an editor for the “Diagonal” broadcast on Austrian public radio station Ö1, has presented audio plays and installations at steirischer herbst, at the Festival of Regions, at nGbK Berlin and at Parcours d’art contemporain in the Lot Valley. She lives in Vienna with three children and filmmaker Siegfried A. Fruhauf.

 

 

[1] Cp. the essay “Tanzstunden für Schreibende” (original English title: “Dance lessons for writers”) by Zadie Smith, published in Freiheiten, Cologne 2019.
[2] Linn Ullmann, Die Unruhigen, Munich 2018.
[3] Thinking about The Quiet, Liebes-Lied by Rainer Maria Rilke sprang to mind, which opens with the beautiful sentence: “Wie soll ich meine Seele halten, dass sie nicht an deine rührt?” (“How can I keep my soul in me, so that it doesn’t touch your soul?”) and continues and ends just as beautifully.

 

More texts in TQW MAGAZIN

Give feedback to magazin@tqw.at

 
Loading

Was wir brauchen und wer es uns gibt

Anna Katharina Laggner über The Quiet von Jefta van Dinther
 
The Quiet © Ben Mergelsberg
Anna Katharina Laggner über The Quiet von Jefta van Dinther

Das Schreiben und der Tanz sind Verwandte. Zwar kann zweiterer ganz ohne Worte auskommen, aber beide brauchen den Körper, ein Medium, das atmet und lebt, das fühlt und vermittelt und das, um beim Gegenüber Schwingungen zu erzeugen, den Geist eines Gegenübers zu stimulieren, das Gegenüber emotional zu berühren (was eine genauso abgedroschene wie gültige Erwartung an die Kunst ist), eine präzise Kraft haben sollte.1

Das Präzise ist banal (während das Komplizierte nur kompliziert ist), banal nicht im Sinne von inhaltsleer oder einfallslos, sondern als Aneinanderreihung des Gewöhnlichen, dessen also, was das Leben ausmacht. Niemand bewegt die Welt, das tut sie schon selbst. Wir bewegen uns in dem uns spezifischen Raum, in der uns einzigartigen Sprache, in dem uns einzigartigen Körper.

Die Schriftstellerin Linn Ullmann erzählt in ihrem Roman „Die Unruhigen“2 vom langsamen Verschwinden ihres Vaters, des weltberühmten Regisseurs Ingmar Bergman, der, wie man erfährt, nichts so sehr schätzte wie die Struktur. Sein Alltag war strikt eingeteilt in Stunden des Schreibens, Stunden des Gehens, Stunden des Essens, Stunden der Filme, die er für sich, seine Kinder und etwaige Gäste im Privatkino in seinem Domizil auf der schwedischen Insel Fårö zeigte. Bergman war zwar fünfmal verheiratet und hatte neun Kinder, führte aber dennoch ein Leben, in dem er (so vermittelt es zumindest der Roman) keine Kompromisse einging, sondern immer für sich selbst bestimmte, was – jetzt, da ich darüber nachdenke – ein Grund dafür gewesen sein mag, dass er fünfmal verheiratet war und neun Kinder hatte. Aber das nur nebenbei.

Gegen Ende seines Lebens wurde er dement, verlor seine Sprache, nicht aber seine Struktur. Seine Tochter Linn, die Schriftstellerin, möchte festhalten, was noch da ist, und versucht, in der Bergman’schen Struktur auf Fårö Möglichkeiten zu finden, dem Vater Fragen zu stellen und die Gespräche aufzuzeichnen. All das geht in ihren Augen heillos schief und verunsichert sie enorm, sodass sie sich jahrelang diese Aufnahmen nicht einmal anhören wird. Sie verdrängt die Kassetten, bis sie beginnt, hineinzutapsen in diese Gespräche, von denen sie sich Großes erwartet, aber das bekommt, was das basale Leben ausmacht, nämlich die kleinen, unscheinbaren Verrichtungen und Notwendigkeiten. An einer Stelle spricht der Vater, der große Ingmar Bergman, vom „Ding mit Mauern“ und meint damit den Raum. Das hat Jefta van Dinther zu The Quiet inspiriert. Was man, wenn man es nicht weiß, nicht bemerkt und auch nicht wissen muss. Jefta van Dinther nimmt den Ball auf, den Ingmar Bergman via Linn Ullmann angerollt hat, das „Ding mit Mauern“ hat van Dinther in Schwingung versetzt, er lässt es durch sich durch und macht einen neuen Vorschlag. Kunst ist im Verständnis eines Mediums, das atmet, immer ein Vorschlag (und keine Position).

Auf einer Bühne fünf matte Gestalten (Dinger mit Haut), kaum Licht, ein Metallgestänge, das den Raum und variable Quadrate, die den Boden strukturieren. Die beige gekleideten Frauen tragen Kittel, kurze Hosen und Daunengilets, ein Kleidungsstück, das, wie wenige andere, den Körper schützt, stärkt und strukturiert. Sie hätten die Möglichkeit, Ritterinnen zu sein, aber sie werden sich als Gruppe nie finden und als Individuen Suchende bleiben. Still, einsam und allein, schauen sie verstohlen, beobachten, wie’s die andere macht. Selbst in den wenigen Momenten des Voranschreitens müssen sie immer Rück- und Nebenschau halten. Auch wenn sie etwas gemeinsam tun, gibt es immer eine Außenseiterin (auch eine solche Figur kann eine Gruppe definieren). Was sie suchen? Wahrscheinlich das Licht, das Übernatürliche, die Heilung. Was sie finden? Unter dem Bodenpuzzle einen glitzernden Untergrund, der sie hoffen lässt, dass das Leben doch nicht nur eine banale Variation des Immergleichen ist und dann vorbei.

Bewegungen, Worte, Geräusche und Licht kommunizieren miteinander, reagieren aufeinander, man kann die Dunkelheit begrüßen (my old friend), man kann in der Stille die Einsamkeit sehen, aber auch die Geister der körperlosen Seelen, die weiterschwingen.3 Sie haben uns Lebenden etwas zu vermitteln: Hinweise, von Generation zu Generation. Wir können entscheiden, können die Grenzen der Normalität überschreiten, in den Wahnsinn, in die Raserei, aber eines können wir nicht: ohne Struktur leben.

Ohne Struktur gehen wir uns selbst verloren, die Struktur ist der Herzschlag des Alltags. Jedes Signal hat eine Wirkung. Wenn es säuselt, dann weht der Wind, wenn es wummert, ist’s ein Orkan, wenn wir Möwen hören, denken wir ans Meer, und wenn Besteck runterfällt, dann wissen wir, jetzt ist was passiert. So einfach ist alles, aber hätten wir es nicht gelernt, hätte niemand es uns beigebracht, wir wären verloren.

Wir müssen gehen und gehen und gehen, dazwischen uns setzen, wir müssen (aus irgendeinem lächerlich wirkenden Grund) unseren Raum mit Fäusten verteidigen und, wenn’s eng wird im schützenden Zelt, Allianzen eingehen.

Aber wo verbirgt sich die Liebe, die das Leben erfüllt? Und warum beruhigt uns Regen, der auf Fensterscheiben tropft?

 

 

Anna Katharina Laggner ist Radiomacherin, Autorin, Moderatorin, Künstlerin, schreibt für FM4 regelmäßig über Film, ist Redakteurin bei Ö1/Diagonal, war mit Hörstücken und Installationen beim steirischen herbst, beim Festival der Regionen, in der NGBK Berlin oder beim Parcours d’art contemporain im Vallée du Lot vertreten. Sie lebt mit drei Kindern und dem Filmemacher Siegfried A. Fruhauf in Wien.

 

 

Vgl. dazu den Essay „Tanzstunden für Schreibende“ von Zadie Smith, erschienen in Freiheiten, Köln 2019.
Linn Ullmann, Die Unruhigen, München 2018.
3 Beim Nachdenken über The Quiet ist mir das Liebes-Lied von Rainer Maria Rilke wieder eingefallen, das mit dem schönen Satz „Wie soll ich meine Seele halten, dass sie nicht an deine rührt?“ beginnt und ebenso schön weitergeht und endet.

 

Alle Beiträge im TQW Magazin

Feedback unter magazin@tqw.at

 
Loading