Knowing bodies

Catrin Seefranz on Anthropophagic Trilogy: Act 2 – To Resist by Tamara Cubas
 
© Nacho Correa
Catrin Seefranz on Anthropophagic Trilogy: Act 2 – To Resist by Tamara Cubas

An animal is the first actor in Anthropophagic Trilogy: Act 2 – To Resist. It starts off by sniffing and marking the performance’s territory as well as its coordinates: ferocity, civilisation, violence, resistance. The way Tamara Cubas avails herself of the dog calls to mind the legendary Cimarrónes, descendants of dogs owned by European conquerors (incidentally also used by them to hunt the allegedly savage indigenous peoples, millions of whom did not survive the conquista and its excesses of violence in the name of civilisation), which withdrew into the forests over time, thereby escaping domestication and colonisation. Protected by the animal, the dancing “pack” follows the same path: going feral is the motto, “Let’s de-occidentalise ourselves!”[1]

As far as the “savages” are concerned, they have taken the preferred form of cannibals, the ultimate symbol of otherness in reference to civilisation, in Western minds for centuries. Eerily beautiful images such as the splatter-esque engravings by Theodor de Bry imagine gruesome orgies of man-eating monsters, lustfully speculating: “Did they really?”[2] The trilogy is devoid of this colonialist cannibal kitsch that continues to haunt the collective subconscious. Like the 1920s avant-garde movement of anthropophagy to which Cubas refers, the series of pieces is only interested in the actual radical moment of cannibalism: the willingness to give oneself completely, to a substantial change of the self. Eating up means taking in and giving in. One becomes what one eats as well.

According to Cubas, the issue at hand is therefore nothing more and nothing less than radical transformation. And it must act where colonialism (which must always be conceptualised in alliance with capitalism) attacks most existentially: the body. When she examines “forms of decolonisation”[3] in her work, she doesn’t do so in a romantic recollection of precolonial conditions but “by looking for a body dispossessed by rational thought that knows other forms of action, of relationship, of knowledge, which are considered primitive”, as the choreographer puts it.[4] Unlike the allegedly infectious but actually solely exploitative spectacles of the exotic, she does not go in search of the gifted body but enquires into the “knowing body” instead, a concept coined by the influential Brazilian theoretician and psychoanalyst Suely Rolnik, who inspired Cubas.[5]

It is a body that has woken from the alienation and stupor created by the prevalent conditions. A body capable of absorbing the “presence of the other” and of being moved by “the world and the living beings” in more than one sense. According to Cubas, it must learn “to connect to aspects dismissed by colonialism, to the ritual, the mystical, the barbaric, the organic, the guttural”.[6] The point is always the mutual relationship, the sounding out of a desire for being (one) with another, which is notoriously shattered in the capitalist relationship business. This process of learning is not an easy task, as it requires enduring concentrated exhaustion that generates moments, if not of liberation, then at least of mobilisation or even just resonance.

 

Catrin Seefranz is a cultural worker, a scholar of cultural studies and Latin American studies. She is the director of kültüř gemma!, a project promoting migrant positions in art and culture, and co-founder of the oca: initiative which brings together art, non-formal education, activism and research. She is the author of Tupi Talking Cure, a book on Freud and psychoanalysis in Brazilian anthropophagic modernism.

 

 

More texts in TQW MAGAZIN

 

[1] The term was used by Tamara Cubas in an interview with the Portuguese journal Publico, www.publico.pt/2014/09/05/culturaipsilon/noticia/a-procura-do-corpoprimitivo-1668348.

[2] Die central question in the anthropological classic The Man-Eating Myth by William Arens, Oxford 1979.

[3] www.publico.pt/2014/09/05/

culturaipsilon/noticia/a-procurado-corpo-primitivo-1668348.

[4] Ibid.

[5] Ibid.

[6] Ibid.

 

 

 
Loading

Wissende Körper

Catrin Seefranz über Anthropophagische Trilogie: Act 2 – To Resist von Tamara Cubas
 
To Resist von Tamara Cubas
Tamara Cubas: Act 2 - To Resist © Nacho Correa
Catrin Seefranz über Anthropophagische Trilogie: Act 2 – To Resist von Tamara Cubas

Ein Tier ist der erste Akteur der Anthropophagischen Trilogie: Act 2 – To Resist und markiert zu Beginn schnuppernd das Terrain der Performance und dessen Koordinaten: Wildheit, Zivilisation, Gewalt, Widerstand. Erinnert Tamara Cubas mit dem Hund doch an die legendären Cimarrónes, Abkömmlinge von Hunden europäischer Eroberer (verwendet übrigens auch, um Jagd auf die vermeintlichen Wilden zu machen, Millionen Indigene überlebten die Conquista und deren Gewaltexzesse im Namen der Zivilisation nicht), die sich nach und nach wieder in die Wälder zurückzogen, sich der Zähmung, der Kolonialisierung entzogen. Das tänzerische „Rudel“, das von dem Tier beschützt wird, vollzieht genau diese Bewegung: Verwildern ist die Devise, „deokzidentalisieren wir uns!“[1].

Geht es um die „Wilden“, dann tanzen seit Jahrhunderten vor den Augen des Westens die Kannibalen, als ultimative Chiffre des Anderen zur Zivilisation. In schaurig-schönen Bildern wie den splatterartigen Kupferstichen von Theodor de Bry wurden monströse Orgien menschenfressender Ungeheuer imaginiert und lüstern spekuliert: „Did they really?“[2] Von diesem kolonialistischen Kannibalenkitsch, der weiter durch das gesellschaftliche Unbewusste spukt, ist in der Trilogie nichts zu sehen. Sie ist, wie schon die Avantgardebewegung der Antropofagia der 1920er-Jahre, auf die sich Cubas auch bezieht, nur interessiert an dem eigentlich radikalen Moment des Kannibalischen: an der Bereitschaft zur absoluten Hingabe, zur substanziellen Veränderung des Selbst. Auffressen bedeutet aufnehmen und aufgeben. Man wird auch, was man isst.

Es geht, so Cubas, also um nichts anderes und nichts weniger als radikale Transformation. Und diese muss dort ansetzen, wo der Kolonialismus (der immer in Allianz mit Kapitalismus zu denken ist) am existenziellsten angreift: am Körper. Wenn sie in ihrer Arbeit „Formen der Dekolonialisierung“[3] untersucht, dann nicht in romantischer Rückwendung auf präkoloniale Verhältnisse, sondern „durch die Suche nach einem vom rationalen Denken geraubten Körper, der andere Formen der Handlung, der Beziehung, des Wissens kennt, die als primitiv gelten“, wie die Choreografin formuliert.[4] Sie macht sich dabei auf die Suche nicht nach dem begnadeten Körper wie die angeblich ansteckenden, tatsächlich nur ausbeuterischen Spektakel des Exotischen, sondern nach dem „wissenden Körper“, eine Idee der einflussreichen brasilianischen Theoretikerin und Psychoanalytikerin Suely Rolnik, die Cubas inspirierte.[5]

Es ist ein Körper, der aus der Entfremdung und der Betäubung, die die herrschenden Verhältnisse erzeugen, erwacht ist. Ein Körper, der die „Präsenz des Anderen“ aufnehmen kann und sich von „der Welt und den lebendigen Wesen“ in mehrfachem Sinn bewegen lässt. Er muss laut Cubas dazulernen, „sich zu verbinden mit vom Kolonialismus verworfenen Aspekten, mit dem Ritual, dem Mystischen, dem Barbarischen, dem Organischen, dem Gutturalen“.[6] Dabei geht es immer um das Verhältnis zueinander, um das Ausloten eines Begehrens nach einem In- und Miteinander, das im kapitalistischen Beziehungsgeschäft notorisch zerstört wird. Dieses Lernen ist keine leichte Übung, gilt es doch, eine konzentrierte Verausgabung durchzuhalten, in der Momente, wenn auch nicht der Befreiung, dann doch der Mobilisierung oder vielleicht auch nur der Schwingung entstehen.

 

Catrin Seefranz ist Kulturarbeiterin, Kulturwissenschafterin und Lateinamerikanistin. Sie ist Leiterin von kültüř gemma!, einem Projekt zur Förderung migrantischer Positionen in Kunst und Kultur, und Mitbegründerin der Initiative oca:, die Kunst, Vermittlung, Aktivis- mus und Recherche verbindet. Zudem ist sie Autorin des Buchs Tupi Talking Cure zu Freud und zur Psychoanalyse im brasilianischen anthropophagischen Modernismus.

 

 

Alle Beiträge im TQW Magazin

 

[1] So die Formulierung von Tamara Cubas in einem Interview mit dem portugiesischen Journal Publico, www.publico.pt/2014/09/05/culturaipsilon/noticia/a-procura-do-corpo-primitivo-1668348

[2] Die Leitfrage des anthropologischen Klassikers The Man-Eating Myth von William Arens, Oxford 1979.

[3] Wie Anm. 1.

[4] Ebd.

[5] Ebd.

[6] Ebd.

 

 

 
Loading